We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bavaro Hostel

Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bavaro Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bavaro Hostel
Bavaro Hostel
Bavaro Hostel
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    18
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
12
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
paknampran
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

If you intend to go to Punta Cana on a Budget I definitely would recommend that hostel as it is in walking distance to the beach, bars etc. The sleeping quality is not that poor as mentioned below and there is a nice kitchen to use. You are going to meet a lot of young people to hang around and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gill T, Owner at Bavaro Hostel, responded to this review

We're happy you enjoyed your stay :). There are a lot of people looking to sell anything to tourists, but there are also great souvenir shops (haggling is key!), excursions and local beach/bars/restaurants where you can meet local people who are just plain friendly! More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015 via mobile

We spend three nights in a room for that looked like it was rarely cleaned, not very nice! The hostel itself is rather worn out but the location is good, close to the beach and close to a small supermarket. It is rather expensive for what you get so if you are a couple or don't mind to share a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gill T, Owner at Bavaro Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Jeppe! Thank you for staying with us, sorry if there was any trouble with your room, we have daily cleaning staff and any of us at reception is here to help with your needs! January is peak high season in this area, the room you stayed in is our Suite, the costliest, we have options available for all budgets,... More 

Finland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I usually look for a hostel that offers me a good night sleep, that's all I need since I spend so little time in a room. Unfortunately Bavaro Hostel couldn't deliver that. PROS +Good location. Close to a beach, restaurants, stores, pharmacy and a lovely bakery. +Kitchen for everyone to use CONS -Terribly poor sleeping quality and no privacy. Balcony,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gill T, Owner at Bavaro Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Handersson! We're happy you chose to stay with us, December-April are the busiest times of year in Bavaro, so there are more people and events going on... You were here for Christmas week which is definitely busiest, not only in the hostel but in all the bars/restaurants in the area, usually with the exception of some weekends it is... More 

Mansfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

This is an awesome place. It has options for friends, couples, solo travelers, everything. Reasonably priced, super close to the beach, and the people who own/run this place could not be more accommodating. I have never been to a place that had such a community feel, and it happened so quickly. These people are wonderful, and this place is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gill T, Owner at Bavaro Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Preston! Thanks for staying with us, we hope you're able to come again soon! :):) More 

Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

There aren't many hostels to chose from in the land of all-inclusive resorts in Bavaro, but this is a good one! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and it's a good value for the price. It's a couple minute walk to the beach and lots of restaurants. It's kept clean, and the bed in the private room was comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

This is my second time coming here and I still impressed in all aspects! Great customer service, multi- ligual staff, excellent prices, numerous touring info., clean facility and located in the perfect location. I would chose this place over some all exclusive package deal any time. There guest are the young, adventurous type that are enjoyable to meet and socialize... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

First vacation as a couple. We stayed in the apartment style room. We had one room and other people circulated through the other room. We shared a bathroom, kitchen and living room. Price was very reasonable. Under $200 for a week. Less than 2 blocks from the beach. Plenty of restaurants near by. Scooter rental was only $25 a day.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

For £11 a night, I suppose I shouldn't be too fussy... One of the receptionists was INCREDIBLY helpful, recommending several nearby places for food, explaining local dishes and the best place to get each. Location was very good - the hostel is close to the beach (5 minute walk) and several good restaurants and bars (Which I think you'd struggle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I am a worldwide traveler, but now I am hooked on wanting to come back here more often! First of all, everyone is correct by saying that you can not beat the location and this is the best in all aspects! (location, safety,s personal assistance, tour offers, clean facility, and a friendly staff...) It is amazing how everything is all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
los angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed here for one night with four of my friends on March 12th. The hostel is amazing, clean, fun, lively and close to EVERYTHING. Seriously, there are shops and bars right outside the door. And the beach is less than a five minute walk! Gill is an amazing host and made sure we were well taken care of. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bavaro Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavaro Hostel

Address: Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bavaro Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay