We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barcelo Capella Beach Resort

3.0 of 5 Villas del Mar, Juan Dolio 4750, Dominican Republic
Hotel website
Special Offer
Up to 15% discount
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barcelo Capella Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Barcelo Capella Beach Resort
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    368
    292
    199
    236
See reviews for
271
434
60
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1280)
  • Mar-May only
    (383)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (299)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (246)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (352)
All months
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

rooms are clean and the grounds are beautiful food is average... Nothing that the hotel can do about the rocks or coral in the sea.. but WHY are there not enough beach chairs? Do they figure that the folks will just go to the pool? anyway.. it was fine for the money... But understand that you get what you pay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bcapella, General Manager at Barcelo Capella Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thanks for choosing Barceló Capella Beach for your last vacation, we appreciate that you took some time to share your comments about your recent stay in the hotel. Regarding your comments, let me inform you that we are going to take notes to all your comments in order to improve the service. Best Regards, Patricio Vigouroux General Manager... More 

Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel a lot! Im a Pilot, this is the worst hotel I ever been! Horrible Rooms, everything is very old and dirty, I dont understand why Barcelo has this kind of hotel, I really dont recommend it. And you have to pay in advance, no way to change hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When i arrived to the hotel everything looked beautiful. The lobby, the grounds and the modern bathrooms was so pretty. So i went to check in thats when the problem started. The Receptionist was very rude. We ask her if we can change our room she said no because all the rooms are assigned. I thought that was odd. So... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bcapella, General Manager at Barcelo Capella Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thanks for choosing Barceló Capella Beach for your last vacation and we are really sorry that we didn’t fill your expectations. We apology for any inconvenient that you may had during your stay. Regarding your comment let me inform you that we are going to take notes to all your comments in order to improve the service. Sincerely,... More 

NH
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 8 days. Had an upgraded "ocean view" room. The room was filthy (there is layers of dirt around the windows). The balcony was unusable due to a bee infestation. The bees also somehow regularly entered the bathroom. Complained 3 times about no hot water at all in the bathroom and even requested a room change if it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bcapella, General Manager at Barcelo Capella Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thanks for choosing Barceló Capella Beach for your last vacation and we appreciate that you took some time to share your comments about your recent stay in the hotel. We are really sorry that we didn’t fill your expectations. We appreciate that you took some time to share your comments about your recent stay in the hotel. Regarding... More 

Saint John, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I first have to say how surprised I am at all the negative reviews on this resort. my wife and I stayed there almost a year ago and had a great time. the only problem we had was that our door lock broke twice the first time it was promptly fixed the second time it was quickly replaced. The buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bcapella, General Manager at Barcelo Capella Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thanks for choosing Barceló Capella Beach for your last vacation, we appreciate that you took some time to share your comments about your recent stay in the hotel. We are very happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay in our property. Best Regards, Patricio Vigouroux General Manager Barceló Capella Beach More 

Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Overall, we had several frustrations, but still enjoyed our stay. Pros: 1. The grounds are beautiful 2. The pools are nice and well-kept 3. The beach 4. The bars -- and bartenders 5. The food was decent, and dining areas comfortable with nice scenery 6. Our room was nice and clean, spacious, although the bathroom was a little outdated 7.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bcapella, General Manager at Barcelo Capella Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Melanie, Thanks for choosing Barceló Capella Beach for your last vacation and we appreciate that you took some time to share your comments about your recent stay in the hotel. Regarding your comments, let me inform you that we are going to take notes to all your comments in order to improve the service. Sincerely, Patricio Vigouroux General... More 

Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

First, I didn't have much choice about staying at this hotel because I was part of a large group on a medical mission to the DR. I also travel a lot for my job so I've seen all kinds of hotels from the highest end globally to close to the bottom as well. I think this hotel is about as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Bcapella, General Manager at Barcelo Capella Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thanks for choosing Barceló Capella Beach for your last vacation and we are really sorry that we didn’t fill your expectations. We apology for any inconvenient that you may had during your stay. Regarding your comment let me inform you that we are going to take notes to all your comments in order to improve the service. Sincerely,... More 

Mascota, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

I hate all inclusive hotels, because I enjoy food. However, I stayed at this one for five nights during my fourteen-day visit to Dominican Republic. The pros: Nice grounds, nice beach, clean rooms, modern in-room safe, good on sight family activities, and friendly staff. Cons: the buffet food and water in the shower was not very hot. There were mostly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bcapella, General Manager at Barcelo Capella Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thanks for choosing Barceló Capella Beach for your last vacation, we appreciate that you took some time to share your comments about your recent stay in the hotel. Regarding your comments, let me inform you that we are going to take notes to all your comments in order to improve the service. Best Regards, Patricio Vigouroux General Manager... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

the hotel and rooms are prety old needs substantial renovation. hotel has management problem. they sell internet access 10 dollars per day per gedget! in order to buy that you need to complate formaliyies that takes may be half an hour!! if u come to dominicano go somewhere else probably has higher standards.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bcapella, General Manager at Barcelo Capella Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thanks for choosing Barceló Capella Beach for your last vacation and we appreciate that you took some time to share your comments about your recent stay in the hotel. Regarding your comments, let me inform you that we are going to take notes to all your comments in order to improve the service. Sincerely, Patricio Vigouroux General Manager... More 

Framingham, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

I just want to say... I am a bit of a spoiled brat with Hotels... but this hotel is not even ok. This hotel needs to close down and start all over again. the smell, the toilets, the beds, the sheets, the food is not even close to a one star rating. The front desk staff and concierge needs full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Bcapella, General Manager at Barcelo Capella Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Janette, Thanks for choosing Barceló Capella Beach for your last vacation and we are really sorry that we didn’t fill your expectations. Regarding your comment let me inform you that we are going to take notes to all your comments in order to improve the service. Sincerely, Patricio Vigouroux General Manager Barceló Capella Beach More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Barcelo Capella Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Capella Beach Resort

Address: Villas del Mar, Juan Dolio 4750, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > Juan Dolio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Capella Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 497
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Capella Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Capella Beach Hotel
Barcelo Santo Domingo
Barcelo Cappella Beach Resort
Capella Beach Resort
Barcello Capella
Cappella Beach Resort
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Juan Dolio
#3 Spa Hotel in Juan Dolio
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Juan Dolio

1,524 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1093)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (204)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (291)
Viewed
Bathroom (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (111)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
View from room (47)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Other (312)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (413)
Viewed
Amenities (78)
Viewed
Beach (36)
Viewed
Double Room (76)
Viewed
Kid Pool (7)
Viewed
Outdoor Beach Pool (25)
Viewed
Outdoor Quiet Pool (14)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (62)
Viewed
The Hotel (115)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay