We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aston Pontianak Hotel & Convention Center

Jl. Gajah Mada, Gajah Mada 21, Pontianak 78121, Indonesia
Hotel amenities
Aston Pontianak Hotel & Convention Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Pontianak
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
6974love
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    46
    22
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
4
3
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (91)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a one night stop over stay for me. Very helpful front desk/night duty manager. The room was clean, fresh and good size with nice comfortable furnishing. A small family could be accommodated happily in one room. Everything I need were there, only short of a hair dryer. Great shower and comfortably bed. Big enough flat screen TV. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aston_Pontianak, General Manager at Aston Pontianak Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear 6974love, we would like to thank you for sharing a great experience during your stay with us. Giving an excellent services and serving the best products are become our objective. Regarding to the hair dryer, it’s available upon request. You may request it once making the room reservation and we will be very delighted to provide it for you.... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel is truly unprepared for any buss travellers. The internet is absolutely terrible plus the staff is so mediocre. They let me wait for hours with no help about the IT stuffs. Clearly their management guidelines are from the stone-age. Really do not deserve to have the name Aston as a well known brand for reliable hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aston_Pontianak, General Manager at Aston Pontianak Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Pakasa, thank you very much for giving us this valuable input regarding to the internet connection and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience happened. After we made a coordination with our team, we had a fully network profile for the internet access. Our team already assisted to connect your internet access. We do apologize for the... More 

Sarawak, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We were well received at the airport by Ms Juanita and her staff. We were briefed about the places of interest while in Pontianak before reaching Aston Hotel. We were amazed when we reach the lobby greeted with very genuine and excellent service. Generally we enjoyed our stay, the food was great especially the BBQ and breakfast. The Chinese restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aston_Pontianak, General Manager at Aston Pontianak Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Syafiq, first of all we would like to say thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation during your stay in Pontianak. "Combination both in products and services will be able to deliver a guest satisfaction" that is our goals. We're very happy that you had an excellent experience while staying with us. Should you need any... More 

Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

located right downtown in Pontianak and near the mall (free shuttle 3x daily), this hotel features four floors (labeled, 1,2,3,5), one being dedicated to non smokers and it has two restaurants (Chinese/dim sum buffet and a la carte + the Majesty dining restaurant offering more variety on the menu. I met the Chef and the Manager (Leo Ernesto) who was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aston_Pontianak, General Manager at Aston Pontianak Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Jeff J, Thank you for choosing Aston Pontianak as your preferred hotel. We are very delighted to know that you enjoyed our hospitality your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again once you’re in Pontianak. More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I don't quite like the first impression as you stepped in the lobby, it was OK but not the Aston standard that I wish for, service was OK but not outstanding. I'm totally fine with the room, the breakfast, the swimming pool. It s the location that turned me down during the whole stay, though it is in the city... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aston_Pontianak, General Manager at Aston Pontianak Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Susana, Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us. Regarding to your comments of our location which is in the middle of residential area, actually it's become our uniqueness. As you may know that Jalan Gajah Mada is the famous street for Chinese traditional business, culinary and famous as "Coffee Street" during the evening. Thank... More 

Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Had the privilage to stay in Aston Ponti for 10 nights, room was clean but doesn't justify the price. Breakfast was ok with friendly staffs. Garden Loundge should be a non smoking area as its an indoor area with full of mosquitoes. Fridays and Weekends are not pleasant for guest staying on level 5, loud music thoroughout the day until... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aston_Pontianak, General Manager at Aston Pontianak Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review

Dear IH1234567, First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us. Regarding your comments of loud music and smoking area we understand of your concerned we will look into those points. Thank you for comments and looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Pontianak. More 

Bogor, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

This is a nice hotel.. the rooms are clean and I prefer the spacious superior room (48 m2). The lobby needs some makeover because it gets a little out of time, also the lifts to the parking garages needs some paint. The breakfast is very nice but Indonesian orientated. Overall good, good dim sum and nice people who work there.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
206 hotel reviews
527 helpful votes 527 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

This was my second business trip to Pontianak. Having previously stayed at the Mercure, we were really disappointed with that Hotel and vowed to try the Aston for our next trip. True indeed, the Aston is miles ahead of the Mercure in Pontianak. Setback some 200m away from the Jalan Gajah Mada (Chinatown area) main busy road, this Hotel was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

When i search hotel to stay in Pontianak, this hotel was the most expensive hotel in the city. After stayed at there, the room was excellent, clean, and cozy. It also has great taste of breakfast. But, the entering road to this hotel was terrible, many holes and broken asphalt. They should concern about this because it will be tarnish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Very nice hotel out of site the main road with big rooms, comfortable beds and a good staff who speak good english. Excellent breakfast ! Zero complaints. Hotel is based into an old shopping mall and got a nice open area in the middle. Nice place to stay..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question