We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pamoja Guesthouse

Uru Road | Rau, Moshi, Tanzania
Pamoja Guesthouse
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
3
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

While hiking Mt. Kilimanjaro, a buddy and I stayed 4 nights at Pamoja. Overall, we were very pleased with our choice. Pluses: For US $30 each/night, we got a private bathroom (showerhead, sink, toilet), "wide" single beds, a fresh breakfast (an egg cooked for us, fresh fruit, bread we could toast). Upon returning from Kili with a mountain of dirty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

My stay at Pamoja was very nice, comfortable and affordable - the staff were very friendly and helpful, and were always willing to share their advice about the goings on in Moshi. I highly recommend getting one of the garden rooms with private bathroom - well worth the extra few dollars! I loved having the shared kitchen, which helped to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Having seen the other reviews we thought that we might have stumbled across a good find for a one night stop heading back to Dar es Salaam. On the face of it the room at the back (motel style) looked clean and functional with a good sized and relatively comfortable double bed. If it wasn't for the extra wildlife we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anne H, Manager at Pamoja Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Mike, We are really sorry that you didn't have a good experience at our Guesthouse. We do fumigation twice a year which is usually enough. Due to a really rainy year we are faced to more insects and animals around the house then usual. Have you told our staff your concerns? Usually we spray the rooms on request as... More 

Kingston, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

The Pamoja Tunaweza Guesthouse is a great place to stay for single travellers, couples and even families! The rooms are comfortable, spacious, clean and the staff are wonderful! It is just 10 minutes away from Moshi town centre and it is a lovely walk. There is a duka (small shop) just around the corner to get drinks and snacks. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RipleyG
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I stayed here, with a group of volunteers, for 9 nights and enjoyed the guesthouse enormously. It is a large property with many rooms for sitting in - the upstairs balcony with its sometimes views of Mt Kilimanjaro was a particular favourite. The newer, motel style rooms out the back suited our couples and the singles amongst us stayed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Our group thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Pamoja! In total, we stayed 7 nights. We loved our self-contained room out back, with the lovely garden around it. It was clean and had it's own private bathroom/shower. During the week, the ladies who worked there would make us breakfast. There are lovely rooms to relax in, one with a computer and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I travel to Tanzania every fall and have been staying at the Pamoja Guest House for the past 5 years. It is comfortable, clean, spacious and close to everything. I highly recommend it for anyone travelling to Moshi, Tanzania.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Our group of 2 faculty and 5 students stayed at Pamoja for 1 week in July. It was a great location for us because the guest house has lots of great sitting areas perfect for group discussions. There are several wings to the guest house, and faculty could stay in an area separate from the students. The staff was easy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were a secondary school group from Australia and stayed at Pamoja Guesthouse for 6 nights. It was the perfect home away from home for us - safe, close to town, friendly staff and cosy rooms. It is also the perfect base to set off on safari from. Leonie coordinated our visit and provided detailed information for our school group... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

An OK place to stay. Leonie, the manager is very helpful and friendly.Cleanliness is to be improved. The bedrooms are dusty, the bedsheets are a bit suspicious to sleep on and toilet brushes lie on the floor. The bathroom, washing sink was not thoroughly cleaned. The rooms are a bit overpriced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities