We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Mossel Bay hotels

Protea Hotel Mossel Bay

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr of Church and Market Streets | P O Box 349, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Mossel Bay to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Mossel Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
83%
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
tazbaby1
  • Overview
  • Reviews (157)
  • Photos (77)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (36)
  • More
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    42
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
61
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A thoroughly enjoyed family stay, if only it could of been longer, the staff were friendly, the hotel was in a good area and the scenery was amazing. The rooms was very clean and the bathroom was amazing. The restaurant was lovely and the kids could play for hours, will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mossel Bay, responded to this review

Dear Tazbaby1 Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is halfway between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth, the perfect spot from which to explore the rest of the Garden Route. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will have the pleasure of hosting you this coming summer holiday for longer. Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff went the extra mile to make you feel like a valued guest. They were super friendly and even offered to bring us extra heaters when we said it was cold. The R50 room service charge was my only fault with the hotel as many others don't charge for this service. But a beautiful room with the ocean on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mossel Bay, responded to this review

Dear Teganrichley Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, indeed you are a Valued GUEST. Protea Hotel has an absolute great location with being only 5 minutes walk away from the harbour, beach and as you mentioned the ocean is on our doorstep. I will certainly pass your comments onto our STAFF. Apologies for the... More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first stop while driving the Garden Route. Very clean and well appointed Hotel. The staff were very welcoming and could not assist enough. Definitely value for money and an enjoyable overnight hotel. The restaurant is not to be missed. I will review it separately.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mossel Bay, responded to this review

Dear WJW61 Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. Mossel Bay is the perfect town from which to explore the Garden Route being halfway between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth. We pride ourselves in clean & functional rooms as well as efficient & friendly service. So glad that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us. Surely hope that... More

Struisbaai, South Africa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As always, staying at Mossel Bay Protea, you are treated like family. Reception staff welcome you by name. Again I was offered an upgrade to a Harbour Suite (oh the view is wonderful!!!). Breakfast was great, with a wonderful buffet spread. Dinner also very good. Portions are a bit small for the price, but then the ambiance & service makes... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mossel Bay, responded to this review

Dear Sandy v Wow, thank you for considering us your “Home away from Home” – what a privilege. It’s always a pleasure for us to host you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back. Also a big thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, really appreciate. More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent service and for the first time, I got to stay in the rooms allocated next to the reception. Room 23 was awesome and i wouldn't mind staying there again. before I used to be allocated at rooms outside so i was pleased with the latest room allocation, thanks for the service again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mossel Bay, responded to this review

Dear MasterLee44 Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor. I’m very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the room allocated to you with your recent stay, will certainly make a note for your next visit. These rooms are unique being located in the main building which is one of the oldest commercial buildings... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Every time you visit you receive the excellent service from checking-in till you leave the hotel, very consistent service and warm greetings and care from all staff. The breakfast is divine fresh and tasty all the time. Everyone makes you feel at home.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mossel Bay, responded to this review

Dear Banzi D Thank you so much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor and the wonderful compliment “excellent service”. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it onto our STAFF as they always strive to exceed GUEST expectations as well as being consistent. We look forward to welcoming you back… More

Eastern Cape Province
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel received very good reviews, so was my choice (as a lone traveller) along the Garden Route. The reception was very friendly and helpful -- the staff is amazingly pleasant and efficient. But instead of the "manor room" I booked I was "kicked upstairs" to the so-called Presidential Suite. Oh boy! It sounds great, but it was not at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mossel Bay, responded to this review

Dear Mietie Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We sincerely apologise that our Presidential Suite did not measure up to your liking. It is a very modern unit and we do understand that this may not be to everyone’s taste. Heating in the room is supplied by both air-conditioning unit that has a heating option and... More

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Upon arrival, we proceeded to check in. My sister then spotted a sign about no water supply for 2 days from afternoon 5pm to next morning 7am. We were shocked as we were not informed even at check in and thus thought to check w staff on the accuracy of the notice. Turned out it was true! Was very annoyed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mossel Bay, responded to this review

Dear Amy We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay due to the town’s water supply being cut off. This was unfortunately beyond our control. We tried everything in our power to ease the inconvenience to our GUESTS by having a constant supply of water available on request. I can assure you, the situation was just as frustrating for... More

Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Loved every aspect of the visit. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are spotless. The pool is small but nice. We loved the restaurant, both the food and and service. We were told this was the best hotel and restaurant in Mossel Bay and we now agree.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mossel Bay, responded to this review

Dear Mr MikeWood100 Wow, thank you for your great comments and posting them on TripAdvisor. Our TEAM is thrilled to know we lived up to our reputation as “the best hotel and restaurant in Mossel Bay”. I sincerely hope that we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Live life slowly… More

Tagbilaran City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Hotel is located at the almost on the tip of Mossel Bay. There is parking provided right in front of the hotel. A friendly elderly porter is approaching you in order to help with the luggage. The reception is held in the old traditional style and the front desk officer was welcoming us very friendly and. Anyway the friendliness... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mossel Bay, responded to this review

DearMafArt83 We appreciate that you have taken the time to post you comments on TripAdvisor. Our hotel does have a stunning location being central and a mere 5minute walk away from the main beach and harbor area. Built in 1846, the stone walls and Mediterranean style out-building belie the fact that the main building is one of the oldest in... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Protea Hotel Mossel Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Mossel Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Mossel Bay

Address: Cnr of Church and Market Streets | P O Box 349, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Mossel Bay 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Mossel Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mossel Bay Protea Hotel

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The luxurious 31-roomed Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is a graceful landmark, built in 1846, overlooking Santos Bay and harbour. Nestling on the Mossel Bay shoreline with the majestic Outeniqua Mountains as a backdrop, the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is singled out from other establishments. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is situated 5 min from Santos Beach. Take in the sea air whilst dining at Café Gannet, where you can sample local mussels, fresh fish and oysters or try the chefs daily specials. As sunset arrives, visit the Legendary Blue Oyster Cocktail Bar, with its own special ambience, pool deck and superb sea views, is the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner. Added attractions are the close proximity to shopping facilities, the yacht club, harbour and north-facing, sun splashed beaches. As part of the museum complex, the Maritime, Local History and Shell Museum, as well as the Old Post Office Tree, are all within strolling distance. The new golf estate is 2km away and the airport a 20 minute drive. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer