We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Little Brak Beach House

3.0 of 5 9 Barwell Street | Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6503, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Brak Beach House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Little Brak Beach House
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (30)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Cardiff
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This lovely guest house is within 2 minute walk of a fabulous beach. One day I shared the huge expanse with 2 fishermen the next I walked up the river with the birds, just beautiful. The hosts are extremely helpful and booked us trips to the local game reserve, just fabulous and shark diving, amazing. The rooms are comfortable with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed for one night. Location is just off the N2 east of Mossel bay. About 10 minute drive to town. The owner is very kind and helpful. We felt welcome here. Our room had a good standard, but the wifi signals were unfortunately not very good - but our room was at the end of the corridor, so other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milan, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Clean, comfortable and spacious room. This is one of the few locations I experienced during my trips with enough furniture to allow you to remove all your stuff from your baggage and put it in a wardrobe (if you wish). Just two minor notes: breakfast is a bit limited with few options and location really requires you to have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dar el salamm
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Rude email stating that we had not confirmed or paid a deposit therefore cancelled room despite us emailing confirmation - rang to discuss and reconfirm. Peter tried to put us off by listing disadvantages of place. Then rang back saying we could not wait at the place on check out for bus to pick us up. Clear he did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Philip N, Manager at Little Brak Beach House, responded to this review

Dear Sue, We are sorry that you feel that we didn't want to take your booking. This is definitely not the case. When you made your booking through the website, the nightsbridge booking system automatically forwarded you all the relevant information like deposit details, directions etc. I did send an email to you confirming that I had received your booking... More 

KA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Very clean and spacious room and bathroom - very helpful owners - well equipped kitchen with a nice community living room. Without doubt a nice place to stay. The beach in walking distance is inviting and the restaurant nearby is really worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trier, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We just came back from South Africa and we stayed for 2 nights in the Little Brak Beach House. The rooms and the bathrooms are very spacious and clean. There is a great garden where you can use the grill for a wonderful braai, great included breakfast and wifi, well equipped kitchen and the house is located only a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Fantastic place. Got there late, around 10.00pm, but Phillip was very accommodating. The room was big with a lovely shower room and the communal breakfast area and garden space were divine. Julia gave us some helpful travel trips and we wish we could have stayed longer. The beach was five minutes away, full of jellyfish and mussel shells. Picturesque and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a great location if you want a nice quiet time to chill out and take in the beautiful beach scenery. A bit out of the way (Mosselbay town is about 150 rand taxi ride away) but a very quiet and relaxed place. We saw whales very close to the beach and even a penguin that looked a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a perfect location if your just looking to chill and do nothing. We stayed here for 4 nights in early July which is winter time here. Thankfully the weather was lovely in the day so we went for really long walks along the beach and spotted a couple of whales not far from the shore which was fantastic.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We really enjoyed staying in this homely, peaceful hostel. It's really close to the beach, and has all the facilities you would need. As we visited in off-season, we had the whole apartment to ourselves! The staff were incredibly helpful, as they advised us on lots of places to visit along the Garden Route. The free breakfast was lovely as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Little Brak Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Brak Beach House

Address: 9 Barwell Street | Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6503, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Brak Beach House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Little Brak Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay