We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elais Hotel

bd General de Gaulle, Pointe Noire BP 790, Republic of the Congo
Elais Hotel
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
1
3
2
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Quick check in and check out for large groups. Good food, quick service if you stick to the today special. Wifi doesnt always work. Swimming pool very well maintained. Quiet and clean rooms, smell fresh and clean, HVAC. Large safety case with keypad. Towels, shampoo, soap, TV, air dryer, phone... You can change dollars at reception but you would get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize to reply later. Thank you so much for your kindly post. We hope to see you again at Elais Hotel. Wifi is working perfectly now. Best regards More 

Brazzaville, Republic of the Congo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

It looks like that this hotel has taken ownership of their issues. I stayed for a week in march (3rd time ) and used all their services. I have notice a big improvement on the F&B ; better service, and some nice specials. I am travelling to this part of the world quite a lot, and I am aware of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sir, we thank you for having noted our efforts at the level of the restoration. Our new Executive chef Mr Chaker, our new restoration manager, Mr Bouley, as well as our other collaborators, make every effort to improve from day to day the service. See you soon in Elaïs. More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Watch your money - they are after everything you have. Weasels. Ripped off again in the restaurant - gave the waiter 20,000, after waiting 20 minutes I asked where my change was only to find out that I had 'given him the exact amount' of 12,000. Despite the fact I did not even have the exact money. Watch them like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking time to write your review We are disappointed than you did not enjoy your experience at our Restaurant and very surprised to learn it this way. Management is always present and we would have been very keen to investigate your claim immediately. However, would you consider to visit us again,... More 

Vladivostok, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

The Republic of Congo deserves much better than this hotel. The service, apart from the young man at the bar is louzy at best. The desperate will of the staff to argue with customers and their permanent complaints that they don´t earn enough money makes the stay here a very bad experience. The management obviously counting the hours and not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you to take time to write your critical. We are disappointed than you did not enjoy your stay at the Elais Hotel. Our staff is working hard and is not counting our hour like a Management. You take your decision to not make it another time but if you change your mind, do... More 

northeast
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Stopped here for 11 days awaiting a visa in January 15. The hotel itself is quite decent and the rooms are clean and tidy as are the common areas, the gardens and pool area especially. What lets this place down is the service staff and the restraunt staff in particular. On several occasions (pretty much every meal) the staff either... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your time. Your critical will be very helpful for our staff, always looking for improvement. Our metropolitan view is very appreciate to some Guest for the next time do not hesitate to contact me directly if you prefer a garden or Swimming pool view. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Service (Rated: 2/5) Service at the reception and the restaurant is generally poor, this is mainly down to the fact that most of the staff can barely speak any English. Yes it is a French speaking country, and maybe you could use the argument that the customers should learn French, but with a hotel where seemingly most of the people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we thank you for having taken time to write us a criticism so complete. Congratulations will be transmitted to the staff. And thanks to details which you give, in particular concerning the problem of the girls. We are going to do effort to forbid them definitively of the hotel. It is indeed a problem in all the hotels... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

The room is nice and the hotel has a good ambiance...its relaxing. However...some personnel's attitude are quite disturbing. I asked twice for the internet connection ticket and the front desk man told me that he ran out of it. I asked him at what time can i come back to get my free internet ticket and he told me he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, We are delighted that you liked the quality of our hotel and to have taken time to communicate it on Trip Advisor. I make follow your critics at the front office to correct directly these errors of behavior and watch the WiFi free stock of tickets. Do not hesitate to come to see us directly during your next stay.... More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Firstly the good: The hotel is clean and the rooms are comfortable with decent air conditioning and a good free wifi service throughout. The restaurant food is ok but the level of service is poor which brings us on to - The bad: One of the most important parts of a hotel experience is the attitude/behaviour of the front of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, We thank you for having taken time to make us a positive and constructive comment. We are sorry on the other hand not to have been up to it in all the services. Your criticisms are transmitted to the persons in charge for improvements. Hoping to have the pleasure to see you again in Elaïs. Best regards More 

Senegal
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I already be in Elais severally time and really Avery time I get surprise by the accordance and the niceness of the personnel there! It's really a nice hotel and in a good position for shopping and a enjoying pointe noire

Was this review helpful? Yes
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are very happy to know that you have appreciated the quality of our services and thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon best regards More 

ORANGE PARK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

For this part of the world, it's not bad accommodations. I stayed in a room adjacent the Main Street and there's no sound proofing on the windows. You can hear people's conversations on the 4th floor, so naturally.....sleeping is quite difficult. The front desk staff are incompetent and rude. If you try to purchase ANYTHING, make sure you get the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your comment. We are afraid than you did not enjoy your stay and then you had a bad experience with our staff. We are very surprised than you did not contact the Management team, always available and living in, with all your trouble during your stay and you have expected to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities