We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elais Hotel

bd General de Gaulle, Pointe Noire BP 790, Republic of the Congo
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pointe Noire
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Elais Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ontario
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

I recently stayed here while in the country for work. The hotel is fairly clean and the rooms, although a bit dated, are comfortable. My room faced the road and it was pretty noisy all night, but after an 8 hour flight into country, it wasn't a huge bother. The food in the restaurant was surprisingly good. My colleague and... More 

Helpful?
Thank andrewmatthews23
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrewmat, we are pleased that our restaurant, swimming pool and accomodation suited you. We thank you very much for your review and for our eployees. Looking forward to seeing you. best regards More 

Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

Checked in for overnight stay before reporting to ship. Beds are comfortable , and water works in bathroom. That may sound odd , but unless you've stayed in many African hotels you would be surprised how often it doesn't . Breakfast buffet is good.

Helpful?
Thank davidsL73IV
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we are pleased to read you kind and funny review. We know that every "detail" is important, and we always do our best. Thank you Sir. best regards More 

Sandton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

The wifi is extremely poor at 2mbs although you can purchase higher speed internet. Last night I found a screw/pop rivet in my food, I was given a partial discount (only the grilled vegetables were credited). The food is really not pleasant, the prawns were filled with sand. The vegetables very oily, plantain burned, really disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Beverley B
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Berveley, We are very sorry that you had a poor experience in our restaurant last night. For the prawns, although we are selling a lot of this local produce, it is the first time that we do have this sort of complaint, we did immediately checked our stock and couldn’t see any problem. For the grilled Provençal style veggies,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Pointe Noire hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015 via mobile

I will not say much about accommodation. If just fine. The real surprise was the restaurant Absolutely excellent. Try whatever you want. Will be very good. The ambiance also helps a lot. The porch near the pool makes a perfect combination. The band just completes the atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daniel C, we thank you very much for you kind message. The chef and all the restauration staff are pleased to read your backing. We are looking forward to welcoming you next time with new recipes and vibes. best regards More 

Skukuza
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

The elias hotel is situated near the CBD of Pointe Noire, all major shops are within walking distance, the beach is about a 10min walk. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The food is of good quality and room crevices are also good

Helpful?
Thank eleroux1
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, the team is always pleased to get encouragement, and we thank you for the time you took for this review. We look forward to welcoming you back again best regards More 

liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

This has got to be one of the worst run, managed hotels I have had the unfortunate displeasure of staying in. One receptionist member, (I think his name was Simplest) was the most rude, obnoxious, offensive, un helpful individual I have ever come across, how this individual has this job begs belief! I was charged on my company bill for... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Debgar42
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are - indeed - very shock to read your version of events. 1/ Regarding the phone issue, we acknowledged it and offered you to move to another room, which you declined. 2/ Our front of house Manager, David, took care of you personally and your confirmed to be satisfied with the outcome. 3/ Your comment on us... More 

Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Hotel is located at the center of the city with all required amenities available up to the standard for the location. Some improvements could help. Available pool and restaurant are pretty much the busiest locations and most utilized. Rooms are tidy and daily cleaned. Available air-conditioning. Should improve the TV channel list to have more English speaking channels...

Helpful?
Thank Alexbad357
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we thank you for your message and for your congratulations. We have taken note of your wish to have more English TV channel and we will try to strengthen them. Hope to see you at the Elais More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile

Knowing that I wasn't going to stay at one of the top hotels in Pointe-Noire, I was expecting something better. The size of the room gave some hope, but the minute I touch the bed I realize how bad my sleep would be. The restaurant is very poor and the breakfast buffet is kind of a joke. I can appreciate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luis P
aliette p, General Manager at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Luis, Thank you for your feedback. Our breakfast buffet is offering a large selection of homemade pastries, fresh fruits, charcuteries, eggs a la carte, breads, yoghurts, crudités, cheeses, tea & coffee, Jam & Honey, and all cereals & Muesli. We are very curious to know what else you did expect. For the billing, as stipulated by your company, indeed,... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

Every time I have been to this hotel the check in process is needlessly painful. The whole thing could be sped up if you had a proper system of queuing. What happens every time is that several big groups of male offshore/marine get picked up at the airport by their agencies bus and dropped off at the hotel around the... More 

Helpful?
Thank DimitryYanokov
aliette p, General Manager at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dimitri thank you for your constructive criticism. We are taking note of your concerns and we are already working along with the team to reduce the waiting time at the reception desk when some large groups are coming all at the same time. Please, do let us know, next time you will be with us, as we would like... More 

Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

A clean and nice hotel. Feels safe with the security outside, clean and big rooms with AC (even though the rooms had some things that needed to be repaired/changed). I had a room overseeing the street, which lead to very early mornings since the windows didn't isolate the sound of peoples yelling and the car horns. Service at the reception... More 

Helpful?
Thank Valaszkai
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

dear Sir, thank you very much for your kindly review. We will improve our smile in front office. The advise is well received. For the lunch, we also have the suggestion of the day. Tasty and fast. We hope to see you again. best regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Noire
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Palace Hotel
Atlantic Palace Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pointe Noire
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Orchidee Hotel
L'Orchidee Hotel
#7 of 15 in Pointe Noire
3.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Saint-Jacques Bord de mer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#3 of 15 in Pointe Noire
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kactus
Hotel Kactus
#2 of 27 in Pointe Noire
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities