We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elais Hotel

bd General de Gaulle, Pointe Noire BP 790, Republic of the Congo
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pointe Noire
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Elais Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    23
    40
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
1
3
3
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This has got to be one of the worst run, managed hotels I have had the unfortunate displeasure of staying in. One receptionist member, (I think his name was Simplest) was the most rude, obnoxious, offensive, un helpful individual I have ever come across, how this individual has this job begs belief! I was charged on my company bill for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is located at the center of the city with all required amenities available up to the standard for the location. Some improvements could help. Available pool and restaurant are pretty much the busiest locations and most utilized. Rooms are tidy and daily cleaned. Available air-conditioning. Should improve the TV channel list to have more English speaking channels...

Was this review helpful? Yes
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we thank you for your message and for your congratulations. We have taken note of your wish to have more English TV channel and we will try to strengthen them. Hope to see you at the Elais More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Knowing that I wasn't going to stay at one of the top hotels in Pointe-Noire, I was expecting something better. The size of the room gave some hope, but the minute I touch the bed I realize how bad my sleep would be. The restaurant is very poor and the breakfast buffet is kind of a joke. I can appreciate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aliette p, General Manager at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Luis, Thank you for your feedback. Our breakfast buffet is offering a large selection of homemade pastries, fresh fruits, charcuteries, eggs a la carte, breads, yoghurts, crudités, cheeses, tea & coffee, Jam & Honey, and all cereals & Muesli. We are very curious to know what else you did expect. For the billing, as stipulated by your company, indeed,... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

Every time I have been to this hotel the check in process is needlessly painful. The whole thing could be sped up if you had a proper system of queuing. What happens every time is that several big groups of male offshore/marine get picked up at the airport by their agencies bus and dropped off at the hotel around the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aliette p, General Manager at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dimitri thank you for your constructive criticism. We are taking note of your concerns and we are already working along with the team to reduce the waiting time at the reception desk when some large groups are coming all at the same time. Please, do let us know, next time you will be with us, as we would like... More 

Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

A clean and nice hotel. Feels safe with the security outside, clean and big rooms with AC (even though the rooms had some things that needed to be repaired/changed). I had a room overseeing the street, which lead to very early mornings since the windows didn't isolate the sound of peoples yelling and the car horns. Service at the reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

dear Sir, thank you very much for your kindly review. We will improve our smile in front office. The advise is well received. For the lunch, we also have the suggestion of the day. Tasty and fast. We hope to see you again. best regards More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Expect to wait at least 20 minutes each time you need to talk to the front desk, unless you are Congolese then they will wait on your right away. Also expect to have to make your request at least 2 times, maybe more depending on which person you get. Also you will wait a while at the restaurant, unless you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aliette p, General Manager at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Billyloon, Thank you to have taken the time to write your review. We are pleased that you liked our rooms and that you found our security up to your expectations. Indeed, our guards do make sure that no prostitutes enter our hotel on their own, but we can’t stop our clients to do so. Thank you for your good... More 

Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

Quick check in and check out for large groups. Good food, quick service if you stick to the today special. Wifi doesnt always work. Swimming pool very well maintained. Quiet and clean rooms, smell fresh and clean, HVAC. Large safety case with keypad. Towels, shampoo, soap, TV, air dryer, phone... You can change dollars at reception but you would get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize to reply later. Thank you so much for your kindly post. We hope to see you again at Elais Hotel. Wifi is working perfectly now. Best regards More 

Brazzaville, Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

It looks like that this hotel has taken ownership of their issues. I stayed for a week in march (3rd time ) and used all their services. I have notice a big improvement on the F&B ; better service, and some nice specials. I am travelling to this part of the world quite a lot, and I am aware of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sir, we thank you for having noted our efforts at the level of the restoration. Our new Executive chef Mr Chaker, our new restoration manager, Mr Bouley, as well as our other collaborators, make every effort to improve from day to day the service. See you soon in Elaïs. More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Watch your money - they are after everything you have. Weasels. Ripped off again in the restaurant - gave the waiter 20,000, after waiting 20 minutes I asked where my change was only to find out that I had 'given him the exact amount' of 12,000. Despite the fact I did not even have the exact money. Watch them like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking time to write your review We are disappointed than you did not enjoy your experience at our Restaurant and very surprised to learn it this way. Management is always present and we would have been very keen to investigate your claim immediately. However, would you consider to visit us again,... More 

Vladivostok, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

The Republic of Congo deserves much better than this hotel. The service, apart from the young man at the bar is louzy at best. The desperate will of the staff to argue with customers and their permanent complaints that they don´t earn enough money makes the stay here a very bad experience. The management obviously counting the hours and not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
aliette p, Directeur général at Elais Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you to take time to write your critical. We are disappointed than you did not enjoy your stay at the Elais Hotel. Our staff is working hard and is not counting our hour like a Management. You take your decision to not make it another time but if you change your mind, do... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pointe Noire hotels
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Palace Hotel
Atlantic Palace Hotel
#1 of 14 in Pointe Noire
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Saint-Jacques Bord de mer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities