We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 Kisumu B&Bs / inns

The Duke of Breeze Hotel

Off Kenyatta Avenue next to Yatin Supermarket | Kisumu Central Business District, Kisumu, Kenya
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (41)
  • Photos (8)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (9)
  • More
The Duke of Breeze Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Kisumu B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kisumu
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    24
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
4
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Duke of Breeze is really a nice and affordable place here in Kisumu. My friend and I were on a business trip and really enjoyed our time there. It's location makes for easy travel around town. It has a great view of the town and sunset at the rooftop bar. Its good friendly staff and the menu is good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kisumu, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My house for the last three months, and just extended with another three !!! I'm in town for business and wanted to start exploring and look for housing from the Duke! As you can read, I did't move out. It's such a wonderful place, and luckily for me also affordable. I can't exactly point out what is keeping me there,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wageningen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

It is a very affordable place, but you only get what you par for: not much. We found it an unpleasant, old and shabby place with not so friendly staff. The rooftop bar does not have the atmosphere as shown on the pictures; the pillows were way to dirty to sit on. The rooms are extremely basic with lumpy mattresses... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DukeKisumu_Kenya, Owner at The Duke of Breeze Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marit, We have noted your review and have looked in our register if you stayed with us. Unfortunately we could not find your name in our register. We would appreciate, if you indeed stayed with us, that you send us an email with the dates so we can check and give you feedback on your complaints. The photos are... More

Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights while in Kisumu, and found it to be a good budget option. The rooms were certainly basic and a bit worn, but clean and adequate. The hotel staff were generally very nice and accommodating (even when we arrived/left at 5 in the morning). The breakfast was quite good and the restaurant food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have been at the duke of breeze several time's and it never seems to disappoint. I am always very pleased with the service and the quality and standards of the hotel accommodation and food. I especially have to praise the rooftop bar which has been a splendid joll every evening I am present. I have experienced wonderful service there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have stayed in the Duke a number of times and it's the only place I would stay in Kisumu! The rooms are fairly basic but they are clean, spacious and the water is hot. The food is good and the service is some of the best I have found in East Africa. It does get pretty noisy over the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nakuru, Kenya
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our room was dirty and the furniture very shabby. The shower had not been cleaned and was full of hair. Worst of all was the Club with started at 10pm on Friday and Saturday until 3pm. Even though we were two floors down it kept us awake. The windows were unsealed and as we were on the roadside the traffic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DukeKisumu_Kenya, Owner at The Duke of Breeze Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie, We have noted your review. Unfortunately we tend to believe your review is biased for other reasons. We do not operate music until 3 am on Friday and Saturday. We have music until just after midnight of which you were informed. Upon check in, you were shown the room. If it was not up to your standards, you... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the Duke of Breeze during a weekend in Kisumu and enjoyed it a lot. It is in a central position, in walking distance to the lake and markets, the rooms are spacious, with a great hot shower, and the breakfast delicious (eggs, sausage, toast, fruit, juice, tea or coffee). The sports bar restaurant had really good food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cushendall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks whilst volunteering in a school in Kisumu. Good, secure hotel. Clean rooms that are cleaned every other day and fresh towels provided every other day. Quite a lot of noise from the outside in the early morning from about 4am but most nights I managed to sleep through it! Fabulous roof top bar with great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

First room was dusty and very noisy (2nd floor gets all the noise of the DJ at weekends). Moved next night to 1st floor. Room was cleaner and quieter. Great views of Kisumu from roof bar which gets very busy with a young expat crowd at weekends.A hotel with great potential but needs some TLC.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Duke of Breeze Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Duke of Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Breeze Hotel

Address: Off Kenyatta Avenue next to Yatin Supermarket | Kisumu Central Business District, Kisumu, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nyanza Province > Kisumu

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Duke of Breeze Hotel offers clean, spacious and affordable accommodation in the heart of Kisumu town. Sports bar with DStv and Rooftop bar with Free high speed internet. Local and international dishes available at sports bar and Rooftop bar. As part of our Corporate Social Responsibility: The Duke of Breeze is proudly associated with the Ujima Foundation. An NGO since 1999, Ujima Foundation is empowering young orphans to take control over their own lives. "The best support is self support" is their slogan. Most of our staff are graduates from Ujima Foundation. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
29

See which rooms travelers prefer

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Duke of Breeze Hotel to your Saves list