We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanna Evergreen Resort & Tours

Certificate of Excellence
White Grass Road, Tanna Island, Vanuatu (Formerly Tanna Evergreen Bungalows)
Tanna Evergreen Resort & Tours
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    83
    31
    13
    4
See reviews for
37
90
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (170)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
home
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We opted for the overnight tour because we wanted to visit the volcano but had limited. Our tour began with the Air Taxi service which I would recommend. The Lodge was welcoming and our room superb . The glass wall of the batgroom in oumbr, 14 ,a joy . looking out to sea , The drive to the volcano was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Unfortunately I have to give a Poor rating for the following reasons: - lobster was inedible; mushy and disgusting. Frozen for a long time. I went to bed hungry. - beds were damp from the leaking thatched (and at the time covered in tarpaulins) roof. The double bed couldn't be slept in because it was so wet. - rats in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vanuatulocal, General Manager at Tanna Evergreen Resort & Tours, responded to this review

I am really sorry that you had a poor experience with Tanna Evergreen Resort and Air Taxi Airline, and feel terrible that you waited till now to inform me after chatting with you in the resort. Yes there are rats everywhere in Vanuatu (compliments of the first European ships throughout the pacific), they are the curse of every villager and... More 

London, England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Booked an overnight volcano tour with Unity Airlines who used Evergreen for the overnight accomodation & tour. The tour arrangements were perfect except for the weather, bungalow & meals were excellent & the staff were brilliant, would definitely use the same arrangements for a future tour of Mt Yasur of Tanna Island.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

I arrived at Evergreen for my Mt Yasur tour not feeling 100% and just mentioned this at check in. Just after I got to my room to rest until the tour, the manager came to my room and offered me a much better room with sea breeze and ensuite bathroom. So thankful for the free upgrade! I didn't eat there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Felt like staying in someone's home. The staff were beautiful and really took care of us. Food was amazing! Try the flan! I loved that the owner has his 'baby' (dog) named Tana in the resort with him, she was so cute and cheeky! Our tour guide Sammi was excellent and knew everything we asked, he was an excellent driver... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

My wife and I stayed at Tanna Evergreen for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year’s. First time in Vanuatu, first time in Tanna. After doing quite a bit of research and sifting through reviews on TA we decided that Evergreen was the right resort for us and I think we were correct. The first thing we noticed was that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

After having done more than my share of research and reading many reviews in advance of my long journey from Canada to Vanuatu, Tanna Evergreen Resort was everything I expected and beyond. The purpose of my trip was to see Yasur volcano; a much anticipated visit to the remote Yakel tribe (having been a sociology and anthropology major); and to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
vanuatulocal, General Manager at Tanna Evergreen Resort & Tours, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I specially love the honesty (humbling to the bone but true): "...That said, this is still Vanuatu, so don't complain about lack of top of the line western-style 5-star amenities (John: Yep we do not have them ), horrible roads (John: yep, plenty of those!), temperamental water temperature in the showers (John: Damn, I thought... More 

Dunnet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Went to day trip to Tanna to see volcano and tour use ths resort a food and beverage stop. It is abut 5 minutes from airport - Tana has roads that a so bad you canot describe so do not in anyway get a rental car (if you even can). Resort restaurant seemed fine with fairly good selection but I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vanuatulocal, General Manager at Tanna Evergreen Resort & Tours, responded to this review

Our roads bad?...you should of seen them 13 years ago; they are terrific now in comparison! In those days I would take pick and shovel on all tours in order to dig us out of pot holes. As a side note, these roads damage each vehicle (tires, suspension, etc…) to the tune of $10,000 per vehicle per year and that... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

We stayed at this resort on the Aur Raxi Vanuatu Overnight Tanna volcano tour. I have reviewed the tour separately.. The resort is about 5 minutes drive from Tanna Island airport. We were in cabin/bungalow 14 which was just beautiful. It had a bathroom with a mosquito netted 4 poster bed, bathroom and verandah overlooking the sea. Fresh flowers were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vanuatulocal, Manager at Tanna Evergreen Resort & Tours, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments; as I have mentioned in other postings we give the “Run of the resort” to Air Taxi, Unity Airline and Air Vanuatu for their overnight tours, this means that they can have any room available on the night (as it is impossible to reserve rooms when they book on the same day, hence it is... More 

Turin, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

The resort has a great view to the sea, the sunset is something that you simply cannot miss out seat on their terrace with a drink. We have booked a Garden Bungalow Private Facilities: spacious and clean enough for 3 nights. The resort has no beach, but has direct access to the sea: unfortunately there is no path to reach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
vanuatulocal, Manager at Tanna Evergreen Resort & Tours, responded to this review

Thanks for your constructive report; the path to the drop off was meant to be excavated out of the dead coral in January 2014 but the Port Vila “contractor” hired for the job (a niVanuatu accountant turned builder), and being new to the trade had no idea was he was doing as he only bought the shovel attachment not the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

320 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (230)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (90)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (54)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
 

Near Tanna Evergreen Resort & Tours

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question