We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bokissa Private Island Resort

Certificate of Excellence
PO Box 261 | Bokissa Island, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Hotel amenities
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Espiritu Santo
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Melissa T Nowra, Australia
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    30
    5
    2
    10
See reviews for
16
103
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (141)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Nowra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I have just got home from a 6 night stay and we celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary while we were there. We met some wonderful people and had the best time. The Fare had everything we needed and so close to the beach. We snorkelled right out the front of the resort and the fish were amazing.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Melissa - thank you so much for your lovely feedback and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay....it really is a beautiful piece of paradise isn't it?? If you would like to have your name included on our mail out list for some great return guest deals just pop me through an email to sales@bokissa.vu. Hope to see... More 

Nth Qld
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed late here last year and I have to say I have a bit of trouble believing some of the negative views. We had probably the most relaxing holiday of our life. The locals are great fun, cheeky and friendly. Just the right mix from the staff, staying far enough away to allow you privacy and relaxation, but always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you so much for your lovely review - Bokissa is certainly as you have described it "intentionally unpretentious"....I actually love that description so much I may just use it in future marketing!! We often have special return guest offers during the year, so if you would like to be included on our mailing list just send... More 

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I just returned from a 10 night stay on Bokissa Island and were blown away by the following: 1. The dive sites are second to none with eleven different sites available, including both reef and wreck diving which are in close proximity to the island. 2. The snorkelling is very good as the water is crystal clear.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Bokissa is a very special place in the world. We do have some great deals for return guests from time to time, so if you would like to receive details of these, just drop me an email to sales@bokissa.vu and I will include... More 

Bundeena, Australia
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a private Island resort, the staff and management are fantastic and the food is 5+ star with fish and lobster freshly caught you are almost forced to relax and watch the world go by as there is no TV and other 1st world things to worry about. Swim with fish and dugongs, go fishing or diving from here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the trouble to review your stay at Bokissa, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. If you would like to receive our special deals for return guests, just send me an email to sales@bokissa.vu and I will include you on our mailing list. Hope to see you back at Bokissa soon! Julie Ingles -... More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family stayed 3 nights at the resort. It was a perfect holiday. Friendly stuff, great scuba diving nearby, nice snorkeling. The huts are basic but clean. The resort was almost empty when we stayed. It is a 35 minutes ride from Santo island.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Bokissa. It certainly is a very special place in the world. If you would like to be included on our data base and receive some great return guest deals, just send me an email to sales@bokissa.vu. We love to look after... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bokissa has got a beautiful swimming pool area but beyond that it is dated and in need of a spruce up. The volleyball court is covered in little weeds. The food rapidly becomes something to dread and is most certainly not created by the claimed 4 chefs. Avoid the crepes with orange sauce. Horrible! The food pictures on the website... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Good afternoon. In response to your comments - I think I am safe in presuming that you were the travel companion of the other negative feedback we received this week.....I note that you booked via our website and maybe you needed a little more knowledge and background about Bokissa prior to booking. Bokissa does not and never has claimed to... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Of the 12 or so resorts we have stayed at in the pacific over the last two years this has to be the worst. A very tired resort with very poor service and poor equipment/activities. Resort included a meal plan which was a disaster right out of the 1980's. kayaks had holes in them and leaked. Tracks around the island... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tony NZ - we are quite surprised by your post - as you can see from other posts and comments we get very few complaints and usually enjoy rave reviews, so to have something like this sent to us is devastating to say the least. Can I begin by saying, that Bokissa is not for everyone, and maybe you... More 

Tannum Sands, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

What a beautiful Island. We stayed with friends for 5 nights in a bungalow on the beach. magic views, beautiful food, snorkelling, Island walks, wonderful long massages in the little hut on the beach and kayaking to the local Blue Hole. The local staff are all so friendly, always have a smile for you, what a beautiful holiday you guys... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review - we are so pleased you had a great time.....if you would like to email us at sales@bokissa.vu we can pop you on our mailing list for some wonderful deals for return guests. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

My wife and I stayed 4 days. Wished it was longer. Very clean Bure and fresh delicious food. Great diving, canoeing and freshwater pool. Beer was cold and the lobster was fresh. Staff were outstanding. Choice of kicking back or multiple activities. Highly recommended. Note....there is NO sign of damage to this island from the recent cyclone. Transfers were quick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ipswich, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Just returned from our 3rd stay on Bokissa, and grateful to have had the privilege of being in this place of beauty and tranquility again. Being there during theCylone Pam experience increased our appreciation of how well this resort is organised , we were very well looked after and our pleasure in our stay in no way diminished. Bokissa really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

202 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (196)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (49)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities