We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bokissa Private Island Resort

Certificate of Excellence
PO Box 261 | Bokissa Island, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Hotel amenities
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Espiritu Santo
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
annie l Sydney, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    97
    30
    6
    2
    10
See reviews for
16
104
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hi everyone am so looking forward to seeing you all again, its raining in sydney and am thinking i could be sitting in the nukamal enjoying the relaxation just before a brilliant meal. The locals are always a joy to see as they love life and the guests. I have felt more at home on holiday in Bokissa than say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Annie I - thanks so much for your note and we are looking forward to having you stay at Bokissa again soon. The sun is shining and days are calm, warm and dry...... Hope you have (another) wonderful stay! Julie Ingles (Sales and Marketing Mgr.) More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were so looking forward to our trip to Bokissa. I knew it was't "flash". I knew it was a little run down. But everyone talks about the wonderful experience, the great snorkelling, the food...and they love it. Sadly...we didn't . And reading recent reviews I think there have been some like us. We visited some weeks after Pam so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and as we have discussed already - we do apologise for the sequence of events that resulted in your stay not living up to your expectations. Bokissa is usually well loved as the majority of our reviews indicate, but occasionally circumstances are just against us. Hope we might be able to entice you back again to... More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I had an amazing holiday at the beautiful Bokissa island resort enjoying the beautiful, tranquil setting on this small island. The resort is small and friendly, all the staff and the owners are brilliant and could not do enough to make our stay memorable, a huge thank you to you all from us. The pool is great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay in this very special part of the world. We often have special deals for return guests so if you would like to be added to our "stayed and loved it" guest list we can keep you updated on offers. Just send me an email to sales@bokissa.vu. Thanks again... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

We stayed in one of the beach front fares, (all are actually beachfront) and it was wonderful. You could take a few steps and collapse into a hammock or a few more steps onto the crystal clear reef and snorkel with an abundance of reef fish and turtles. We also snorkelled with dugongs - a mother and calf!!!!! Kayaks were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Patsy - it is much appreciated and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Bokissa is a very special place in the world, one guest wrote recently that it is "intentionally unpretentious". I really like that description - it really does sum up what Bokissa is about. It is not a "resorty resort" but... More 

Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

My husband and I have just got home from a 6 night stay and we celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary while we were there. We met some wonderful people and had the best time. The Fare had everything we needed and so close to the beach. We snorkelled right out the front of the resort and the fish were amazing.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Melissa - thank you so much for your lovely feedback and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay....it really is a beautiful piece of paradise isn't it?? If you would like to have your name included on our mail out list for some great return guest deals just pop me through an email to sales@bokissa.vu. Hope to see... More 

Nth Qld
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

We stayed late here last year and I have to say I have a bit of trouble believing some of the negative views. We had probably the most relaxing holiday of our life. The locals are great fun, cheeky and friendly. Just the right mix from the staff, staying far enough away to allow you privacy and relaxation, but always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you so much for your lovely review - Bokissa is certainly as you have described it "intentionally unpretentious"....I actually love that description so much I may just use it in future marketing!! We often have special return guest offers during the year, so if you would like to be included on our mailing list just send... More 

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

My husband and I just returned from a 10 night stay on Bokissa Island and were blown away by the following: 1. The dive sites are second to none with eleven different sites available, including both reef and wreck diving which are in close proximity to the island. 2. The snorkelling is very good as the water is crystal clear.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Bokissa is a very special place in the world. We do have some great deals for return guests from time to time, so if you would like to receive details of these, just drop me an email to sales@bokissa.vu and I will include... More 

Bundeena, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

This is a private Island resort, the staff and management are fantastic and the food is 5+ star with fish and lobster freshly caught you are almost forced to relax and watch the world go by as there is no TV and other 1st world things to worry about. Swim with fish and dugongs, go fishing or diving from here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the trouble to review your stay at Bokissa, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. If you would like to receive our special deals for return guests, just send me an email to sales@bokissa.vu and I will include you on our mailing list. Hope to see you back at Bokissa soon! Julie Ingles -... More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

My family stayed 3 nights at the resort. It was a perfect holiday. Friendly stuff, great scuba diving nearby, nice snorkeling. The huts are basic but clean. The resort was almost empty when we stayed. It is a 35 minutes ride from Santo island.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Bokissa. It certainly is a very special place in the world. If you would like to be included on our data base and receive some great return guest deals, just send me an email to sales@bokissa.vu. We love to look after... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Bokissa has got a beautiful swimming pool area but beyond that it is dated and in need of a spruce up. The volleyball court is covered in little weeds. The food rapidly becomes something to dread and is most certainly not created by the claimed 4 chefs. Avoid the crepes with orange sauce. Horrible! The food pictures on the website... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Good afternoon. In response to your comments - I think I am safe in presuming that you were the travel companion of the other negative feedback we received this week.....I note that you booked via our website and maybe you needed a little more knowledge and background about Bokissa prior to booking. Bokissa does not and never has claimed to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

200 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (200)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (53)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (79)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay