We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glen Usk Hotel

South Crescent, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DH, Wales
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glen Usk Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Glen Usk Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    21
    66
    28
    16
    23
See reviews for
13
50
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (154)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

have just come back from a 5 day coach holiday and had an extremely pleasant stay. the hotel is dated but clean and comfortable. the staff are courteous, professional and very accommodating. meals were hot, plentiful and a different menu every day and served by the very efficient Brian and staff. Helen the manageress was a lovely lady who waved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Looks fine from the outside but once through the doors of this hotel it takes you back in time.General décor and bedroom outdated and shabby, bed uncomfortable with a broken shower.Very much reminded me of a nursing home as it seems to principally cater for elderly folk. Good point is that the food was good in a airy dining room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

This is a retrospective review of past visits as I have only just become a member of Trip Advisor. First stayed in September 2013 on a Grand UK coach holiday and found the staff, rooms and general service to be so good that we returned home and booked for Christmas 2013 by coach. This was one of the best Christmas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

The hotel is quite run down which is a shame but definitely could see it has been better days. Staff friendly and warm welcome us. Room is hot but have plenty of tea/coffee facilities which we liked. Overall it has been an ok stay, especially for the price we paid!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

I read many of the reviews and they were mixed. I though the negative one might be exaggerating but they weren't. This is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. It is probably 50 years past its sell buy date. Everywhere is shabby. It seems to be popular with ageing coach parties and reminds me never to go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your... More 

Travelers are raving about these Llandrindod Wells hotels

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

stayed at glen usk hotel on 17/05/15 .arrived at 2.pm room not ready, no food available, went for a walk had a drink in a local pub, back to hotel, keys ready.had room on 1st. floor, room very tired, very hot,could not turn down radiator.all furniture and beds very old everything needs an upgrade. no wifi in room only reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your... More 

Bendigo
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

The hotel is only 2 star, only because it is very old and has not been changed inside since built. Rooms are of a decent size, contain queen bed, bedside tables, desk, chair, robe, 2 easy chairs, heater & seperate bathroom with a shower over the bath. Room 113. Faces the street and has an opening window. Rooms are clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

I wrote a review for this 'Old Lady' in September 2012. Entitled "What do you want for 35 quid?" Everything I wrote then is pertinent to tonight's review. Apart from one thing, the rates. This time it was £50 inc breakfast. Sorry, but I can't forgive it's failings if the price has gone up nearly 50% and the hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

The room that we stayed in was lovely, well decorated, clean and spacious. We would have no hesitation staying here again. The rest of the hotel was looking its age and rather tired, the service was no better than average. Whatever the failings of this hotel they were made up for in the quality of the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Four of us stayed in this hotel occupying three rooms. We found the breakfast excellent, staff helpful and friendly. rooms had more than sufficient tea and coffee, and linen clean and beds comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Public Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 860 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#2 of 5 in Howey
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
#21 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
3.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hampton Hotel
The Hampton Hotel
#20 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay