We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glen Usk Hotel

South Crescent, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DH, Wales
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glen Usk Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Glen Usk Hotel
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    57
    23
    13
    20
See reviews for
12
41
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (129)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not bad bit dated room very basic, but only used it to sleep.bar expensive breakfast very tasty . entertainment on but i think that was because they had a coach party of austrailians in. overall a very average hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hi returned from a weekend stay in a party of 8. We had a fantastic time. Hotel and staff were great, friendly and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. We had entertainment on the Saturday night and he was very good got all the crowd going. The food was outstanding and would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a week's stay at the Glen Usk hotel. The hotel is a little dated but the Manager, staff both bar and waiting were first class; they made us feel so very welcome. The food was excellent. Highly recommend to anyone. TS

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Nikita, the barmaid in the lounge bar, was a truly lovely girl and a huge credit to the hotel, she couldn't do enough for myself, my friend and my Mum when we stayed on Sat 8th Nov, she was serving at the bar, changing the barrels and running up and down the stairs to the function room with drinks and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Hard working staff dont like the way manager and restaurant manager talk to staff in front of customers especially when they work so hard ! Hotel very dated a not that clean although food good value bar staff and waiting staff very friendly Lovely area enjoyed scenery

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Stayed at the hotel on our "Treasures of Wales" holiday with National. The Hotel is a little tired but this is more than made up for by the excellent staff,the chambermaids did an excellent job, the polite and very efficient waiting staff in the dining room and the friendly reception staff. The meals both breakfast and dinner were excellent, nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Stow on the Wold, null, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Peeling wallpaper due to damp patches, large cracks in wall and ceiling, flies in light fittings, musty towels, headboard had grease stains from people's heads, bed was broken, water ran brown from bath taps, breakfast was average, no wonder it was payment up front... If it had not been the cob sales at the show ground we would have demanded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.atkins@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Charming efficient staff. Helpful manageress.Hotel faded a bit and could do with a simple makeover. Interesting Victorian spa town with a lot to see in this unspoilt Powys town. Lots of coach trips use this hotel so it can be busy but the staff cope very well. Had a fish pie and it was the best I have ever had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Wells-next-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights as part of a coach tour. The hotel is 'tired' and needs updating but couldn't fault the helpfulness of all the staff, nothing was too much trouble for them. Was probably once a quite grand place and staff certainly do their best. Rooms are fairly basic but clean. It is in a nice location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

After reading some of the reviews I wondered if I stayed in the same Hotel! We had a family room (for just 2 of us) and it was huge with beautiful clean bed linen. The bathroom was very clean too. Must admit that some of the decor was a little tired but you are only going to sleep in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Glen Usk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Usk Hotel

Address: South Crescent, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Glen Usk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Usk Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay