We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Llandrindod Wells hotels

Metropole Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Hotel amenities
Metropole Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Metropole Hotel to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013
cardiff69 Cardiff
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    237
    50
    21
    11
See reviews for
68
390
13
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (722)
  • Mar-May only
    (210)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (153)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (222)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (137)
All months
There are newer reviews for Metropole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Metropole An old fashioned building providing traditional top quality service with 21st century facilities. The metropolis is a bit qwerty but staff were smart, discrete and helpful. There are thoroughly 21st century facilities with wifi, freeview in all rooms and a modern bar. The room I stayed in was spacious, clean and the bed was comfy. The traditional curtains took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cardiff69, delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and managed to fit in a Spa treatment. All to often people cannot make the time but it is well worth it. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future, Regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I am a lawyer and had to cover a case in LLandrindod at short notice. Terrible traffic problems, so didn't arrive till 11.30 pm. Hadn't booked in advance. The [male] receptionist was totally unfazed and found me a room. When I told him I'd been driving for 6 hours, he said: 'Ah, you'll be needing a drink...I'll open the bar'!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas, nothing pleases me more than to read that we have communicated well with customers and also anticipated their requirements. I hope that on you next visit to the town you will have longer to enjoy the facilities. Thank you for your comments which are appreciated. Regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner More 

High Wycombe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our third visit to the Metropole, this time to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Once again the hotel was fully booked and not a sign of stress amongst any of the staff. Speed of service and quality of food in the restaurant was perfect. Despite being full and hosting the Quick Quacks motorcycle club and Lotus 7 club there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wycombeorpheus, I was very pleased to read your feedback following your stay with us and delighted that we again made your stay enjoyable. The Elan valley is such a wonderful place and of course in the coming weeks it will take on the wonderful Autumnal colours which are just beautiful. We are running our Winter offer from 1st October... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We visited the Metropole because there was an offer on. So glad we visited - food was great, room was spacious and one of the cleanest I've stayed in. The staff were all really welcoming and the leisure centre was a real treat. Will definitely be booking again if they have another offer on.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bunny... Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased to say our winter £99.00 offer commences from 1st October and runs into the spring so no excuses not to return. I hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back shortly. Kind regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Came here for a romantic birthday get away and were put in a grotty double room with bunk beds! We complained about this and were told we had to stay put. Food looked lovely on the plate but wasn't anything special to eat. I thought with the big discount for the travel zoo offer we'd be getting something special but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sheffieldeaters, I am sorry to read you were disappointed with your stay but a little bemused as to why you should take 6 months to post a review. I don't suppose it has anything to do with the fact that yesterday we launched our great £99.00 offer for the coming winter. We had over 1200 bedroom nights booked last... More 

wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Huge hotel, odd green colour though not that it matters. Large restaurant, plenty of lounging area next to the bar, very comfy. Pool, Jaccuzi and sauna brilliant. Very enjoyable stay. Plenty of other eateries in Llandrindod to visit. Lovely part of the country.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having recently returned from a "spa break" at the hotel I am able to report that, once again, the hotel is offering extremely good value for money. I had an excellent room overlooking the lovely gardens at the front of the hotel. All meals were of very good quality and the staff were 1st class. Whatever the management team do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is an old fashioned building that has been brought into the modern era with interior updating. Don't be put off by the hideous green paint on the outside as it is nicely decorated inside. Bistro and bar are excellent, I didn't use the main restaurant other than for breakfast and this was also excellent. The lifts always seemed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Penarth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a regular for those invovled in Mid Wales Conferences and with its refurb provides a good combo of modern facilities with an individual setting coming from its history. Theres a larger restaurant for bigger groups or bistro for when you are Billy no mates. Double Dragon ale on tap in the bar is a bonus

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Yorks
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent one night at the Metropole having won a dinner, bed and breakfast package in a Welsh Rarebits competition. On arrival at the hotel we learned that we had been upgraded. Our room was lovely , with a separate sitting room and excellent bathroom with separate walk in shower and bath. Comfortable king sized bed. Dinner was excellent, presentation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay