We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cartref Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
15-19 High Street, Fishguard SA65 9AW, Wales
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cartref Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cartref Hotel
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    31
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
10
24
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've stayed in Cartref hotel for one day. Lovely hotel. Good location. Clean,quite and friendly. Good in terms of price/quality. Restaurants, pubs, park, shops, supermarket, museum and parking located nearby

Was this review helpful? Yes
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night last weekend, it's safe to say that we won't be going back in a hurry, in fact..EVER! The worst night away we've ever experienced. We paid £79 for one night which I think is far too much for what this hotel is. We were welcomed by Kristina (pleasant enough) and her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cartrefhotel, Owner at Cartref Hotel, responded to this review

This review is unfair and inaccurate. I always check that the customer has booked the right type of room as I am not a clairvoyant. (Just the other day two ladies had booked a double, although they had meant to book a twin, a room with two beds!) You paid £75-00, not £79-00. You booked a small double - yes,... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at the Cartref Hotel centrally several times whilst completing the Pembrokeshire Coast Path. I have always left feeling happy with the stay. Ideally for walkers the summer season coastal buses stop just yards away as do the main year round bus services to Cardigan and Saint David's. It is also ideally placed for motorists to explore the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cartrefhotel, Owner at Cartref Hotel, responded to this review

I hope you will be able to come many more times! We still have a lot more to talk about.. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is the second year we have been to Cartref for a couple of nights. It is very comfortable and clean and we were treated as friends by Kristina, the owner. There are very good places to eat locally, and also she is able to give helpful advice about activities. In spite of being in a very convenient, central situation,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cartrefhotel, Owner at Cartref Hotel, responded to this review

It is wonderful to have happy customers! Thank you! More 

Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed there for 2 nights, we needed some rest in a relaxing area. The hotel is very well located, close to the ferry line in Fishgard, 30min driving from Pembroke dock as well. Many walks to do in the area, nice shops as well, supermarket car park very close and handy. Christina is really helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cartrefhotel, Owner at Cartref Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying! I learnt interesting things from you! Thank you for writing the review and perhaps you will drop by when passing. More 

Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Kristina's warm welcome and wonderful breakfasts make this a great place to stay. Have stayed twice. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Meeting Toby the Jack Russell each morning was a bonus. Strongly recommended. Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cartrefhotel, Owner at Cartref Hotel, responded to this review

Great of you coming back and thank you for writing your review! Perhaps you will come again to experience Pembrokeshire in the summer... More 

Croydon, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015 via mobile

Good b&b, very welcoming, nice clean room with all required amenities, breakfast was lovely, nothing too much trouble for Kriistina, her little dog Toby is gorgeous, and very well trained! Good value, nice atmosphere, would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cartrefhotel, Owner at Cartref Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! I hope next time you can stay longer in Fishguard! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We stayed here straight from the ferry and had no problem with the nearly-1am check in. The room was lovely, as was the breakfast the next morning. It's an ideal place to stay the night after the late ferry crossing instead of heading back through the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cartrefhotel, Owner at Cartref Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! Hope to see you again! More 

West Midlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Cold, tired and in need of a room for the night, we discovered the Cartref. Having read a recent review I would say that yes, the reception is a little unorthodox but on being shown to Room 3 (facing front) it was modern, clean, warm and inviting. We found 'Toby' the Jack Russel a friendly distraction who was allowed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cartrefhotel, Owner at Cartref Hotel, responded to this review

It was my pleasure to have you stay! Thank you! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I have stayed here a number of times with work. The hotel is centrally located in Fishguard and with a large supermarket over the road parking is easy. The owner also has some parking spaces round the back which she allowed me to use. Whilst I can see that the cluttered desk may put some people off I found it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cartrefhotel, Owner at Cartref Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! Toby and I look forward to your next visit! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities