We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ord Arms

Great North Road, Muir of Ord IV6 7XR, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ord Arms
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Ord Arms
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
10
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (33)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Sutherland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed here recently for two nights. On my arrival I was made very welcome and shown to my en-suite, upstairs, room, despite the fact that at the time they were very busy with lots of people back and fore. The room was clean and comfortable, and what you would expect for the very very modest and reasonable price charged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Booked this hotel before checking reviews on Trip Advisor which is unusual for us. We did read a few of these before going and was a bit apprehensive about going. We knew it was a 2 star and headed off regardless, after all it was only for an overnight stop. When we arrived, we were booked in and shown to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Didn't expect too much from this 1 night trip and wasn't wrong. Friendly enough young chap checked me in and showed me to my room ( 12 ) which looked like it had been caught in a time warp, best described as 70's decor. The bathroom appeared to have been last upgraded about 30 years ago. The shower pressure was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ord-Arms, Owner at The Ord Arms, responded to this review

I can’t imagine why someone would want to stay somewhere they ‘didn’t expect too much from’. To describe this 2 star hotel as being in a ‘time warp’ with ‘70’s décor’ is a totally inaccurate description for the following reasons: All the bedroom decor is of a neutral colour with contemporary pictures and curtains. The bathrooms are all white with... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Been here on and off since 2006 and I haven't a bad word to say about it friendly staff and great owners and great customers u might no who I am and I work there so I don't no why people complain about it it's the only place where there is a coal fire and good food

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Drove straight passed the hotel as they hadn't bothered to illuminate their sign that night but found it eventually by driving really slowly down the road again. We booked this particular hotel because it had a bar and restaurant we were disappointed to be greeted by a sign telling us that the restaurant was closed. Hey, it's off season so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ord-Arms, Owner at The Ord Arms, responded to this review

The lighting on the front of the hotel is fully functioning when the hotel restaurant is open, however due to this time of year being out of season a decision was taken to close same on Sunday evenings which is the reason the only lighting was from the public bar. This issue will be addressed with the member of staff... More 

Bath, England
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

On arrival the first impressions are not too good.... slightly dilapidated and dour looking building in need of a bit of TLC. The rooms are similarly old fashioned, but beds and linen clean and tidy and easily do for a quick night's stay. The bar area smells strange and doesn't serve proper beer, just the usual keg stuff, but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gtr Manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

From the minute you park at the front of the hotel, you can feel that you are about to go back to 1904, which is the date the hotel was built. On entering, don't be put off by the rickety reception, or the picture of the stern looking lady as you go up the old winding stairs to your room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Went for a 50th party we had a sit down 3 course meal, we placed our orders a few days before the booking. My partner never ordered soup at the time, he asked if he could have soup and the reply he got in a very abrupt tone "if your name is not on the list we don't have extra,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ord-Arms, Owner at The Ord Arms, responded to this review

There are many inaccuracies in this review as follows: The food orders were placed the evening before the event even though we requested they be placed at least 2 days before for ordering purposes. We sometimes request a pre-order for large parties in order that diners receive the choices they have ordered and also to help the serving of food... More 

highlands of scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

stayed for one night during Black Isle show this year, double room with shared bathroom. Room comfortable and clean, bathroom very nice, only one problem, when i went for a shower in the evening there was no hot water left so get in early!! Had an amazing meal in the lounge bar area, food was first class and service was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Having just written a great review for The Swan in Wetherby, I would have to add a further star for the Ord Arms. The place as such is nothing special - just a nice pub with some outdoor seating facing the road -, but the food was simply gorgeous. Never had a better beef pie or grilled salmon, with wonderfully... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question