We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Hotel website
Hotel packages
1 Rhine Road | Maho Beach, Maho, St Maarten-St Martin
Special Price
35% off room rate
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    823
    512
    216
    183
See reviews for
540
969
127
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (971)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2481)
  • Mar-May only
    (742)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (526)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (546)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (667)
All months
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our 10 year wedding anniversary we were celebrating! From start to finish the experience at this hotel was horrible. We were promised a garden view room including the honey moon package??? Our room overlooked the roof top and air conditioners. When we complained to staff, we were told the hotel was at capacity and they could not Do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Mima D, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We're disappointed to see you did not have a more positive wedding anniversary experience with us. We have gone over your comments with our Management Team and will be taking the appropriate measures. We do hope you will stay at one of our three Sonesta St. Maarten resorts in... More 

Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall we had an excellent time. My boyfriend and I (35 & 40) spent a week here for the first time. We travel regularly but first time to St. Martin, other than a cruise stop. Our expectations were kept low because of some of the reviews, so we did not expect 5 star accommodations. We stayed in room 534. Excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear KitKatChicago, Thank you for sharing your time with us. We're glad you had excellent time with us and that you enjoyed your upgraded room, staff, grounds, and beach areas. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management More 

Franklin, Kentucky
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
59 hotel reviews
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

While on assignment in St Maarten I had the good fortune of staying at the Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino. The property itself is just a short 10 to 15 minute drive from the international airport. Upon arrival I was greeted by a smiling staff and offered a cool hand towel for my neck and a glass of champagne... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
okc
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just spent a week at the resort and loved everything about it! The food was excellent and the drinks were abundant! The staff was very friendly and the rooms were always well kept. Zumba and Yoga were provided as well as other activities. I hope to return for my Christmas holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear zumbalaura, Thank you for sharing your positive review with us. We're so glad to see you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed everything our your vacation at our resort. We hope to see you back for Christmas! Best regards, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management More 

Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent a week in the SONESTA MAHO RESORT (may 14-21, 2015) with my husband and 2 small kids HAPPY WITH........1. Cleanliness. Hotel was always clean. Even public bathrooms were always kept tidy and clean. Hotel always smelled clean, no bugs, ants, or many mosquitos/flies. 2. room was spacious and always clean. 3. Food was amazing. 4. Beach was amazing. Always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear gnescio, Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us. We're glad to see you and your family had an amazing vacation with us and that you enjoyed the rooms, food, beach, pool, free wifi, and staff. We hope to see you all again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management More 

Wakefield, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just came home from my vacation and was very pleased with how friendly the staff was. Met a lot of good people during my short stay. I recommend anyone going to St Martin to stay here. Not one issue during my stay at the sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Lwd77, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We're glad to see you had a great time and we hope to see you back again in the future. Best regards, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management More 

Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel was very clean, beach was beautiful and food was good! The location is great, right on the strip with plenty of other restaurants and bars to visit. My only complaint would be the help, specifically the restaurant wait staff and bartenders. They were not very friendly at all! This was our first time at an all inclusive, maybe it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Lisa T, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're glad you enjoyed our hotel, beach, food and location. We also appreciate your valuable feedback and have gone over them with the appropriate department heads. Best regards, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management More 

New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is NOTHING like the website. We booked a weekend away for over $3000.00 as reviews said that is was the best place on the island. When booking, it said that we would have a tub in the room but when checking in we were told they were booked up and didn't have other availabilities. The room is nice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear NRAron, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're disappointed to see you did not have a better experience with us and have passed on your comments to our Management Team. We do hope you will reconsider coming back to one of our three Sonesta St. Maarten resorts in the future so we can restore your confidence in... More 

Travelers are raving about these Maho hotels

Jupiter, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I really did have a great time at this resort. But the food was not great, service was not great or great depending on the person and the nightlife at the resort was lacking. Fun area, good location to explore the rest of Maho Bay and the Island, but inside the resort could have been better. Rainshower shower head was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Roy T, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're glad to see you had a good time with us and we hope to see you back again in the near future. Best regards, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management More 

New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Early May stay for a wedding, choose the less expensive Maho side thinking we'd not be in the room much. Big mistake! Based on reviews we "upgraded" to a pool/ocean view.The room was super dated, the worst being the bathroom, with a nasty-looking bidet taking up most of the space. No ventilation in the bathroom meant that, even with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Irish1997, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are disappointed to see you did not have a better time with us and assure you we have gone over your comments with our Management Team. We do hope you will come back to stay at our sister resort, Sonesta Ocean Point Resort in the near future. Best regards,... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(30)
  • St Maarten(14)
  • Mullet bay(5)
  • Palm grill(3)
  • Pool bar(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,432 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1513)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (312)
Viewed
Room/suite (138)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (295)
Viewed
Dining (118)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
View from room (149)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (464)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (866)
Viewed
Amenities (153)
Viewed
Beach (40)
Viewed
Ocean Tower Junior Suite (74)
Viewed
Ocean Tower Pool-Ocean View (71)
Viewed
Ocean View Pool (53)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (141)
Viewed
Sky Tower Pool-Ocean View (79)
Viewed
Sky Tower Premiere Island View (69)
Viewed
The Hotel (113)
Viewed
The Oasis Pool (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay