We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Hotel website
Hotel packages
1 Rhine Road | Maho Beach, Maho, St Maarten-St Martin
Special Price
35% off room rate
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    822
    510
    216
    181
See reviews for
538
963
127
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (968)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2470)
  • Mar-May only
    (731)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (526)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (546)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (667)
All months
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I really did have a great time at this resort. But the food was not great, service was not great or great depending on the person and the nightlife at the resort was lacking. Fun area, good location to explore the rest of Maho Bay and the Island, but inside the resort could have been better. Rainshower shower head was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Early May stay for a wedding, choose the less expensive Maho side thinking we'd not be in the room much. Big mistake! Based on reviews we "upgraded" to a pool/ocean view.The room was super dated, the worst being the bathroom, with a nasty-looking bidet taking up most of the space. No ventilation in the bathroom meant that, even with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Maho hotels

Grimsby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived end of April and spent the first week of May at this property. Check in was extremely fast and well organized. Room was a pleasant surprise, overlooking pool with everything of reasonable age and in working order. Basic but clean. Food was well above average, all restaurants had their own charms and staff was cordial and helpful. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had a wonderful time at the Sonesta. The views from the room were incredible. The barbeque on Wednesday nights is a lot of fun. The buffet food was very good and the help yourself ice cream was yummy. I like the bar on the fourth floor of the Point Tower. Loved watching the airplanes land.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have to start this review by saying that this was my 33rd trip to SXM. My husband and I have timeshare and decided to go for a different experience this year. Pros: Hotel is extremely clean. I need to say a big thank you to Shawnette Richardson and Doreen, who kept the 7th floor immaculate. Special thanks to Shawnette... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The customer service provided by the waitresses was very very bad. The majority were not friendly, hospitable, or approachable. My family and I (group of 10) stayed from May 10-17 2015 and during our whole stay the service provided by the waitresses was horrible. One evening at the Italian dinner at the Palms Grill the waitress dropped a glass and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Average hotel with very good food. The hotel is located in a very good spot surrounded by great restaurants and good bars and night clubs and a good casino across the street. This was a boys trip for my bachelor party, but if it is a couples trip I would check out the sonesta ocean point, from what I saw... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear alex_69962005, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're disappointed to see you did not have a better time with us and have gone over your review with our staff and Management team. We hope to see you at one of our three Sonesta St. Maarten resorts in the future. Best regards, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Excellent time, enjoyed the yoga,pilates, and zumba class Denise was awesome. Although having a 5:00pm class may have effected the amount of people participating, as they are getting ready for dinner would recommend an earlier time.also enjoyed the spa, the people there was amazing... can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear lb6809, Thank you for sharing your positive review. We're glad you had a great time with us and hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management More 

Norfolk, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Loved this resort. Service was second to none. Cory at the pool was wonderful. He made sure we never had an empty glass. Luis at the main lobby bar was not only a professional but a wealth of knowledge and a really good guy. He knew us by name after the first day. Even Raymond the security would greet us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Lilv33, Thank you for sharing your positive review with us. We're so happy to see that you loved our resort, enjoyed the service, and watching the planes come in. We hope to see you back soon. Best regards, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management More 

Markham, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just returned from my 1 week vacation at the Sonesta Maho Beach Resort and Casino. Read lots of mixed reviews before my departure. At the resort most staff are nice, especially Tanesha at The Palms Grill. She was so nice to my little son. There is also one guy at the Ocean Terrace Restaurant that is very nice always got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear terrible746, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We appreciate all of your feedback and have gone over your comments with the appropriate departments heads to take the corrective measures. We do hope you will come to stay at one of our three Sonesta St. Maarten resorts in the future. Best regards, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(30)
  • St Maarten(14)
  • Mullet bay(5)
  • Palm grill(3)
  • Pool bar(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,409 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1490)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (306)
Viewed
View from room (149)
Viewed
Room/suite (136)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (293)
Viewed
Dining (117)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (453)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (866)
Viewed
Amenities (153)
Viewed
Beach (40)
Viewed
Ocean Tower Junior Suite (74)
Viewed
Ocean Tower Pool-Ocean View (71)
Viewed
Ocean View Pool (53)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (141)
Viewed
Sky Tower Pool-Ocean View (79)
Viewed
Sky Tower Premiere Island View (69)
Viewed
The Hotel (113)
Viewed
The Oasis Pool (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities