We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Hotel website
Hotel packages
1 Rhine Road | Maho Beach, Maho, St Maarten-St Martin
Special Price
35% off room rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Add Photo Write a Review

2,633 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    810
    872
    545
    217
    189
See reviews for
574
1,032
135
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,025)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2633)
  • Mar-May only
    (759)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (662)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (546)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (666)
All months
Rineyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our third time in St. Maarten and we traveled with 5 friends. We did not stay at the Sonesta, we are owners at the Royal Islander Club la Terrase. In March I contacted the Sonesta to ask about day passes die all-inclusive days as an option. I received a very friendly reply that day passes are available and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We just spent the week at At Maho and early on in the week we were set up with Warren who works out of the Sonesta Maho taxi group. He was extremely polite and professional. He gave us a tour of the island and made sure we saw the side of the Island not seen by most tourist. He was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Shane C, Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us. We're glad you had a great time with us and we will make sure to tell Warren to keep up the great work. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location is great minutes from the airport, steps from the casino and mini strip, and a bus ride away from Phillipsburg where you can enjoy the shops and beach. The food was acceptable but due to lack of variety I was bored the second day and ate outside. The pool bar was where I got my drinks from and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My initial reaction of the hotel room was yuck. Our room was definitely outdated and needed work. The toilet did not flush properly the sink was backed up. We did not have a nice view either. Because we were staying with a large group I was able to see some of the other rooms that people had upgraded to and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Laila K, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're glad to see you had an overall good time with us and that you enjoyed our location, food and service. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Best regards, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management More 

Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I visit St Martin almost every month on business. Last month I decided to stay at this hotel based on my friends recommendation. I have never been more disappointed. The hotel wasn't horrible on the face, but based on the price I paid it was definitely not worth it. I stayed there with a friend and we both agreed that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Matthew B, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're disappointing to see you did not have a better time with us. We appreciate all of your feedback and assure you that we have gone over your review with our Management team. We do hope you will come back to stay at one of our three Sonesta St.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Maho hotels

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We came to try Sonesta Maho for a conference my husband is attending. While the price was certainly right, this is a definite case of getting what you pay for. Room - just okay. Cheap plastic lawn furniture on balcony, uncomfortable chairs and couch in living area. Bathroom is dark and in desperate need of an update. Was upgraded to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Jen and Jay V, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're disappointed to see you did not have a better time with us and appreciate all of your valuable feedback. We have gone over your comments with our Management team so we can take the appropriate measures. We do hope you will come back to stay at... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I'm having an amazing time. Food is good. Staff are happy and helpful. Maintenance staff help me fix my wife's walker. Special thanks goes to Keric the waiter at the point. He was funny and efficient. He was extremely patient and understanding with our large group with multiple allergies. If every restaurant I ever went to had an waiter like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Roy V, Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us. We're pleased to see you are having an amazing time and that you are enjoying the food and staff. We hope you will continue to enjoy your stay. Best regards, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management More 

Maplewood, New Jersey
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

1) Room-Well when we got there we were told our reservation was cancelled but when we told Kevin at the reception desk. He took care of us. Since we didn't have a room he told us go have lunch. We came back from lunch only to be told by Kevin we had a room and even bumped us up to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Ethel J, Thank you for sharing your positive review with us. It's a pleasure to see that you had a great vacation with us and that you enjoyed our rooms, the food, drinks and entertainment provided. We hope to see you back again in the future. Best regards, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was a wonderful vacation and was so incredibly affordable. We had a great time, from the entertainment to the excursions, to the food and drinks...lots of drinks :) I would certainly recommend this to everyone looking for a good family getaway. I highly recommend the ATV tour with the guide Melvin...he was AMAZING and even customized our ATV expedition... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Maneeram S, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're pleased to see you had a wonderful vacation with us and hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards, Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overall the resort is beautiful. Although the property is split between ocean point and maho it is still a wonderful place to stay, however some areas are limited only to those staying in ocean point. Wifi is free but very slow. PROS: The location of sonesta maho is ideal right in the middle of maho village. Right outside you have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Shyacinthe, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We're glad that you enjoyed our overall resort grounds, location, pool area and being so close to watch the planes come and go. We have read over your cons section and do appreciate your providing your valuable comments with us. We have gone over your review with the appropriate department... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(30)
  • St Maarten(14)
  • Mullet bay(5)
  • Palm grill(3)
  • Pool bar(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,558 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1640)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (341)
Viewed
View from room (154)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (305)
Viewed
Dining (144)
Viewed
Room/suite (142)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (516)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (866)
Viewed
Amenities (153)
Viewed
Beach (40)
Viewed
Ocean Tower Junior Suite (74)
Viewed
Ocean Tower Pool-Ocean View (71)
Viewed
Ocean View Pool (53)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (141)
Viewed
Sky Tower Pool-Ocean View (79)
Viewed
Sky Tower Premiere Island View (69)
Viewed
The Hotel (113)
Viewed
The Oasis Pool (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maho
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
6.4 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,324 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
#4 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 5 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Ready to book?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay