We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Auchenlarie Holiday Park

Certificate of Excellence
Gatehouse of Fleet, Castle Douglas DG7 2EX, Scotland
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    102
    16
    14
    11
See reviews for
196
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (346)
  • Mar-May only
    (138)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (75)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Garstang, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arrived at Auchenlarie Holiday Park for 4 day mid-week break. Reception staff welcoming and helpful. Shop also well stocked and staff very pleasant . Caravan clean and sited so that you can enjoy the sea view . Because of it being at the time of low season entertainment was in the sports bar . The entertainment staff Lindsay & Megan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very positive review. It is great for the team to learn their efforts are appreciated. A good advert for our lovely surrounding area too! More 

Batley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I can't sing this praises more highly. Stunning location and caravans were very well maintained. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bunny rabbits a plenty roaming everywhere. Free mussels at low tide!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

Yes, we have plenty of wildlife at the park - especially delightful to see the young rabbits about. Free food - won't do our Bistro and Surfside Takeway too much good! However, delighted you took the time to post comments about your stay with us. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First time staying here and was unsure what to expect given the cheap price I paid for the weekend! We were fortunate enough to find ourselves in a fantastic brand new caravan (silver 3) with splendid sea views. It really had the wow factor! The site itself is extreemly clean and well cared for. The pool is particularly clean! All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. It was great to have all the hard work put in by the team appreciated. The views here are tremendous as you say - and the bacon rolls are something else too! More 

waterfoot
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a week with our 17 month old son. We all had a wonderful time. The caravan was spotless and very comfy and cosy. All the staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Yes the site is hilly, we were aware of this when we booked it. Without the hill not everyone would enjoy the stunning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlisle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited this park on a Monday to Friday break with my daughter and my two small Grandsons. We chose a Gold 2 Caravan in the Blue area B52. We had a lovely Sea view and it was just a short walk to the facilities. The caravan was faultless. Nice and modern with everything you would need for a family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stevenston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After visiting the site 3times previously, booking direct with the site, we decided to take advantage of the Sun Holiday deal( we've been to Wemyss Bay and Sundrum on these deals without any complaints) on arrival we were allocated a caravan in the Red Zone, it sits right on the main road and the heavy goods traffic all night is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

I am sorry to read your disappointing review of the park and the facilities we offer. Yes, all our Sun caravans are in the Red Zone and undoubtedly there sometimes is traffic noise. The grade of the caravans complies with the Sun recommended levels - we don't advertise them as anything else. We don't guarantee heating in the bedrooms but... More 

STIRLING
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely site with excellent views. Caravan was spotless, food on site was also good with just enough arcade games to keep our 9 year old happy. The bingo was also good fun and we met some lovely people. Staff were very friendly and helpful... Only downfall was the weather :( we will definitely book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was great, definitely be going back .. My Husband My almost 2 year old & Myself loved it plenty for us to do ... Very clean and tidy in the caravan and around the park, staff rather welcoming and friendly, great views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The caravan was of a high standard, comfortable and clean with excellent views. I think every caravan had a sea view due to the park being on a hill. A clean and well looked after holiday park, very friendly and helpful staff. The takeaway on site was great, very nice food cooked fresh to order. We never used the restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It should be advertised how hilly the site is, very difficult if you have walking toddlers. We were booked for a week and left early. The only reason I never gave it 1/5 was that we never gave the pool a chance and liked our caravan apart from the broken seat and NO working T.V. The take-away pizza was good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

180 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (163)
Viewed
View from room (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (30)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities