We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Castle Douglas accommodations

Auchenlarie Holiday Park

Save Saved
You added Auchenlarie Holiday Park to your Saves list
Gatehouse of Fleet, Castle Douglas DG7 2EX, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Douglas
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    89
    16
    13
    7
See reviews for
168
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (297)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (112)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Yorkshire - England
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We took our grandchildren to this park last weekend. This is something that we do each year and this is the most attractive park we have visited. So far we have been to five parks. Spacious, beautifully maintained with stunning views. Lots of play ares for the kids which is a bonus. The facilities are not the best we have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Checked in this site at 16.15 on Monday 13th Oct, checked back out again 18.05 due to total disgust of the condition of the accommodation(s) we were given! The caravan we were given was not only in sub standard condition but so was the replacement offered due to the shocking standard of the first one! The van had mould on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

I am very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us. It is also very distressing to learn of the condition of the caravan. This is most certainly against our usual standard. However, when holiday-makers book these holidays with us, our Reception Team do advise that they are basic caravans. But the price does reflect that. You were offered an... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for a long weekend. Park easy to find, check in friendly. Booked a Gold and were allocated the Red Zone which was a little noisy with lorries on main road however it did have lovely sea views and a stream running to the back (walled) which made it feel more peaceful. Beach is by far the best feature of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been visiting Auchenlarie since about 1990 and have never had the slightest problem with the accommodation or the site facilities. However on arriving last Monday we were absolutely appalled with the state of the accommodation, especially as we had upgraded to the silver. Notes in the caravan stated that it had been thoroughly cleaned and then inspected. On... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

I am extremely disappointed in your comments and particularly the way in which your complaints were handled. For this reason I have asked senior management to look at your review. Your complaints are currently being investigated - thank you for bringing them to our attention. Once I have the findings we will contact you directly. More

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Site is well run and well kept. Well stocked shop and lovely views. Virtually no phone signal on Vodafone although that's normal, but tourers have to pay £6 a night for wifi ? Seriously at least Dick Turpin wore a mask. You get wifi free at the complex which is as slow as a week in the jail. At my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. With regards to the wifi, we currently don't have a service for the camping area so not sure what the £6 refers too. However, I can confirm that during the closed season the park will be installing a service for this area. There is free wifi access in certain areas of the park. Sometimes... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Checked in MONDAY 17:30 hours. Checked out MONDAY 19:05 Unclean, shabby, grubby, poor. Caravan was 'silver' quality, shudder to think what bronze quality is like!? Worst offences: furniture didn't match in the lounge area, VERY basic facilities; toaster, no kettle! Floors not brushed, marks on fireplace, curtain tie backs stabbed in to wall using pins. UNFORGIVABLE: duvet & pillows looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are of course extremely disappointed to get such a poor review. The caravan you were offered (one of two) was a Silver and is always very well received by our visitors. I am not sure why no kettle or toaster were provided - these are standard items of equipment... More

Armadale, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at auchenlaire caravan park. I booked through the sun holidays and upgraded to a gold caravan and I was not disappointed the caravan was lovely and most of it was clean. The usual small things the small toilet which we didn't use as we used the larger one in the caravan... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited here through The Sun holiday promotion and took the opportunity to upgrade to a caravan with a hot tub on the verandah which was amazing! There were 2 adults and 5 kids, we expected it to be a squeeze but we had 3 gorgeous twin/double bedrooms and a huge fold out sofa bed in the lounge. The caravan... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Whatever the weather, hot tubs are extremely popular and we do run promotions throughout the season offering upgrades. The accommodation with hot tubs is first class, so pleased you were comfortable and it fitted your family needs. We do try wherever possible to place our visitors in accommodation that suits - don't forget to... More

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All caravans have views of the sea. Great location for us and our dog. Very clean tidy site, this was our second holiday here, will definatley come back! Lovely clean swimming pool, with views out to sea.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fife, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this complex through a sun holiday deal. Great value for money, however facilities were limited to certain times, which was a shame. However as there wasn't a lot of people, it was to be expected. Had a meal in the Bistro which could not fault, was delicious. Downside was the caravan we were in had a couple... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Auchenlarie Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchenlarie Holiday Park

Address: Gatehouse of Fleet, Castle Douglas DG7 2EX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
Auchenlarie Holiday Park Hotel Castle Douglas
Auchenlarie Holiday Park Castle Douglas, Scotland

156 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (140)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay