We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Auchenlarie Holiday Park

Certificate of Excellence
Gatehouse of Fleet, Castle Douglas DG7 2EX, Scotland
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    216
    113
    20
    14
    13
See reviews for
217
62
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (376)
  • Mar-May only
    (141)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (138)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (75)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Well, after paying all our money weeks ago I was contacted by Hoseasons to tell me that our holiday here was cancelled due to Auchenlarie Holiday Park withdrawing the Auchenlarie Gold Plus 3 caravan from use due to wanting to use it for their own personal letting. Absolutely disgusted that Auchenlarie Holiday Park could do this TWO weeks before we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

Awfully sorry about this but unfortunately, Hoseasons midunderstood our availability. We had given Hoseasons allocation for certain dates ONLY, they then mistakenly booked this van when it wasn't on their allocation. We would be happy if you could call us, we would be delighted to offer you a discounted break with us to make up for your disappointment. More 

dumfries and galloway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My daughter has rented a caravan a couple of times and found it amazing. Great scenery, great entertainment and swimming free. On a sunny day it is good to just climb along the rocks at the beach. the café has good food and the balcony there is a great place to get a tan!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Camped for two nights with a baby, toddler and pre school-er. Site was clean with electricity and water for each pitch. We had a choice of pitches and chose next to the toilet block which was very clean. Very reasonable and kids loved beach, playpark, swimming and entertainment. Staff were very helpful and welcoming. Will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Booked silver caravan I'm shocked at state of carpets and seats carpet all frayed seats frayed wasn't cheap during children's school holidays loads stains on carpets and seats such a shame as nice site usually go to berwick haven site caravans different class to these caravans hoseasons get it sorted I didn't feel comfortable in this caravan expected bronze to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This experience was dreadful, the campsite is next to the main Stranraer road. There was noise all night from mostly lorries it was horrendous! Barely a wink of sleep! The toilet/shower block, if you can call it that, was dirty, dark and un kept. Couple of the toilets had no loo paper for a day! Shocking place, worse we have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I do hope you reported your concerns to reception as they would have endeavoured to find you another touring spot away from the traffic noise. Regarding the toilet / shower facilities. Again, we had no other reports of any problems. To be without toilet paper is not good but had this been... More 

Paisley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

2nd visit to Auchenlarie. It's a gem of a place. The caravan park is well laid out and the scenery is just tremendous. Some aspects need obvious investment but it's clean and tidy and you get more than you pay for. You are ideally situated for great local attractions. The coco bean factory and cream o' galloway are both great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We all had a fantastic time last week in auchenlarie caravan park. The site was spotless and the caravans were the same. We will definitely be visiting again as there were quite a few outings close to the park we didn't have time to see. A fabulous family holiday to be had here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Returned to Auchenlarie and what a difference from our last visit! Excellent caravan, clean and well appointed, onsite food good and reasonably priced, thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and we will certainly return to one of our favourite sites.

Was this review helpful? Yes
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came for a week with our two grandchildren aged eight and five had a lovely time caravan clean and spacious kitchen area could have done with a few more things like oven tray and a few more dishes but we ate out lots had a few meals in restuarant good value and tasty staff were very friendly . Played crazy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here through one of the Sun holiday deals. Upgraded prior to arrival to a silver caravan which was spotlessly clean, modern and very comfortable. A little bit of research showed it was actually available to buy for £30,500 which is a good indication of how nice it was. The site is colour coordinated and we were placed in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

205 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (188)
Viewed
View from room (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (30)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
4.2 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#4 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
4.7 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
15.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities