We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Rectory

4.0 of 5 Cantax Hill Lacock, Lacock SN15 2JZ, England
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Rectory
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Old Rectory
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    27
    20
    20
    11
See reviews for
18
67
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (123)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Trois Rivieres
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

The breakfast list had to be chosen the night before, you ticked the various choices, but there was no alternative to the meat sausage, or bacon, which made the full cooked breakfast rather puny, and made me feel rather left out. Veggies not important to entertain? Cash or cheque only otherwise a 2.5% service charge is payable...not made aware at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Calne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I stayed in a lovely 4 poster room, very relaxing and full of character. It's a lovely walk around the village, perfect if you wish to bring your dogs. The staff were wonderful and very helpful. I'd recommend staying here again and I will be coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Booked to stay at the Old Rectory as it takes dogs and is near one of our favourite places (Lacock Village). Terrible weather, and as arrival time is not until 5.00pm we arrived an hour early as ran out of steam walking round the village. Landlady was very friendly and did not mind at all. We were booked into the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

I booked a two night stay at the Old Rectory in Lacock. As they were busy we stayed in the Vestry room first, then the Deans room (with the four poster) for the second night. Both rooms were fine. This is an old listed building and may not suit people who are used to the 'sterile characterless' conditions of say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Only a brief stay but very enjoyable, pleasant surroundings, helpful staff, wonderful old building, would recommend to anyone visiting the area. Short walking distance to the village which has some very good pubs with varied menus, wished we could have stayed longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We were very excited to spend a birthday weekend in the beautiful village of Lacock, and chose to stay at the Old Rectory. What a disappointment. Apart from the initial 'misunderstanding' that led our two night reservation being reduced to one only, we were lodged in the annex of the hotel, paying the same price as in the four poster... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Res_8, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this review

There are certainly two sides to every story. We tried to help this last minute booking by offering different accommodation to the B&B which was full which was explained and accepted. At check out there was no response at the door and our cleaner was in fact worried there might have been a problem. The room was not vacated for... More 

Kissimmee, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Lacock is an extremely beautiful village. The Old Rectory is a magnificent High Gothic house set in large grounds at the entrance to the village. So far so good. The unfortunate thing is that the proprietors do not seem to realize what they have and how to use it. For example, there is a beautiful front door that is blocked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rustington, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Stayed in the self-catering cottage (5 person) as a last-minute getaway. Looking at the website and photos, was slightly dubious about the space/sleeping and catering facilities. However, on arrival, was pleasantly surprised. Finished to a much higher standard than we were expecting, and the location was convenient (although the main road was definitely 'there'!). The kitchen was reasonably well-equipped, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I have been staying at The Old Rectory for 23 years, the rooms are charming as is the whole building and we always receive a friendly welcome and the breakfast is one of the best. I love this place I always have and always will.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Res_8, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this review

It's the great guests like yourselves who make the business worthwhile after 20 years. We really appreciate your comments. Hope you liked the new paint work in The Deans. More 

Watford England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

One of the best features of this B&B is its location, just a few minutes walk from the centre of Lacock, so you don't need a car to visit the Abbey and Museum, nor to get to the restaurants in the evening. The Rectory also has good Wi-Fi service, which is a great help as mobile reception in the village... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: Cantax Hill Lacock, Lacock SN15 2JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Lacock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Lacock
The Old Rectory Lacock, England

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay