We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Lacock B&Bs / inns

The Old Rectory

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Cantax Hill Lacock, Lacock SN15 2JZ, England
Hotel amenities
The Old Rectory
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Old Rectory to your Saves list
61%
Ranked #5 of 6 Lacock B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
Denise B Bath, United Kingdom
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    25
    20
    19
    11
See reviews for
18
63
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (119)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Only a brief stay but very enjoyable, pleasant surroundings, helpful staff, wonderful old building, would recommend to anyone visiting the area. Short walking distance to the village which has some very good pubs with varied menus, wished we could have stayed longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were very excited to spend a birthday weekend in the beautiful village of Lacock, and chose to stay at the Old Rectory. What a disappointment. Apart from the initial 'misunderstanding' that led our two night reservation being reduced to one only, we were lodged in the annex of the hotel, paying the same price as in the four poster... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Res_8, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this review

There are certainly two sides to every story. We tried to help this last minute booking by offering different accommodation to the B&B which was full which was explained and accepted. At check out there was no response at the door and our cleaner was in fact worried there might have been a problem. The room was not vacated for... More

Kissimmee, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lacock is an extremely beautiful village. The Old Rectory is a magnificent High Gothic house set in large grounds at the entrance to the village. So far so good. The unfortunate thing is that the proprietors do not seem to realize what they have and how to use it. For example, there is a beautiful front door that is blocked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rustington, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in the self-catering cottage (5 person) as a last-minute getaway. Looking at the website and photos, was slightly dubious about the space/sleeping and catering facilities. However, on arrival, was pleasantly surprised. Finished to a much higher standard than we were expecting, and the location was convenient (although the main road was definitely 'there'!). The kitchen was reasonably well-equipped, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I have been staying at The Old Rectory for 23 years, the rooms are charming as is the whole building and we always receive a friendly welcome and the breakfast is one of the best. I love this place I always have and always will.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Res_8, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this review

It's the great guests like yourselves who make the business worthwhile after 20 years. We really appreciate your comments. Hope you liked the new paint work in The Deans. More

Watford England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

One of the best features of this B&B is its location, just a few minutes walk from the centre of Lacock, so you don't need a car to visit the Abbey and Museum, nor to get to the restaurants in the evening. The Rectory also has good Wi-Fi service, which is a great help as mobile reception in the village... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I arrived late for a business stay and this seemed to fluster the staff slightly. The room was large, comfortable, clean and accessible so that was great. I place a great deal of importance on a quiet night's sleep and did not get this completely as the house is old and quite creaky, so people moving about above my room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goudhurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Myself, my wife and our 3 year old stayed at the Old Rectory for two nights. Its the first time we have used a B&B with our son so were interested to see how it would work. The family room was great, it was certainly large enough for the three of us and the breakfast was excellent! I'm sure we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Lovely weekend visit, stunning big Gothic style house and grounds and great location. Very welcoming and loved the dogs, ruby and missy. Great breakfasts and one of the best scrambled eggs I've ever had!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Very nice location in the beautiful town of Lacock, Wiltshire. Building is not as old as the village, but has it's own charm. Rooms are large and well-equipped. Breakfast proposal is limited and not always well supplied. Breakfast preparation can take quite long. Wifi available, but not working. Street indications can be improved, especially coming from the South. Owner recommends... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Do you own or manage The Old Rectory?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: Cantax Hill Lacock, Lacock SN15 2JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Lacock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Lacock
The Old Rectory Lacock, England

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Old Rectory