We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Staithes B&Bs / inns

Captain Cook Inn

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   60 Staithes Lane, Staithes TS13 5AD, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Captain Cook Inn to your Saves list
Captain Cook Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
Ranked #5 of 6 Staithes B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Alex20072007 Nottingham, Uk
  • Reviews (60)
  • Photos (10)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (2)
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, Uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for just one night whilst working away, amazing little find, extremely welcoming upon arrival. The room itself had recently been renovated and was extremely comfortable and clean. We went into the town for a few drinks and returned around 8pm for food, ordered a 10 oz ribeye steak, such a delicious meal. All in all I would recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Captain Cook last weekend with my partner and friends while on a walking weekend. I have read the mixed reviews and you have to take everything into context. Yes the hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment but the new owners don't try to hide this. I'm guessing that they don't have the funds to close... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great, economical place to stay in Staithes. The new owners are working their way through this Inn, improving everything as they go. I have stayed twice, once in an unrefurbished room and then a second time in a refurbished room, which was a massive step forward. It's a big task turning around a huge building like this and you can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My room was a double en suite, when I arrived too see scaffolding round the hotel i was initially concerned. I cant praise the owners enough i was made very welcome, excellent service all round, I will be certainly staying there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Our room was pristine with an en suite. Only 5 minutes from Staithes beach. They also have a specially brewed beer called "Navigator" which is superb. Large english breakfast with all the trimmings well. Undergoing a refurbishment as it says on their website however that did not spoil our visit in anyway. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Found this wonderful Inn a few minutes walk from my Tent! The food is brilliant,the welcome is second to none and the Inn is being updated as we speak. Can`t praise the owners Clare and Heath too highly-they made us feel truly welcome and afforded us excellent service from the bar and the menu! The kitchen staff prepared wonderful food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Quite simply the worst B&B/hotel I've been to. From the moment we arrived, to see scaffolding lining the outside of the building and it's proximity to some derelict outbuildings, it was clear that this wasn't going to be good. The car park looked like an ex-gipsy encampment, complete with smouldering rubble. The receptionist immediately informed us it was her first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clare M, Owner at Captain Cook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Steve, thank you for your frank review, feedback is very important to us. Thanks for the advice to close the pub down, but we have only just purchased it! We are mid-way through an extensive refurbishment project (which is made reference to on our website) hence the scaffolding wrap and rubble heap (which has already been removed). I can... More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Lovely food and loads of it!! Really good value for money. Drinks very reasonable too......Pint of Thatchers Gold and 2 cokes cost £4!! Highly recommended,especially the garlic mushrooms and Whitby scampi!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Clare M, Owner at Captain Cook Inn, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for taking the time to review us it is very much appreciated. More

Redcar
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Visited here for a meal only, and was quite disappointed. The food was pretty average, I had the steak and ale pie which was very dry and the new potatoes were all shrivelled up the gravy was also to thin for me. My wife had the lasagne which was ok but the salad was not very good. The service was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clare M, Owner at Captain Cook Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for taking the time to submit a review. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal with us. I'm guessing from your comments (sorry if I am wrong) you were expecting something more along the lines of a restaurant? We do not claim to be anything other than a pub with a dining room at the moment,... More

Thurso, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Booked to stay here as it was as close to Whitby as we could get a twin room for one weekend night and we had the choice if this, far more expense or the car. If we were going to do anything other than sleep here we would not have stayed past check in. On its favour it has good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clare M, Owner at Captain Cook Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didnt enjoy your stay with us. We have recently purchased the property and it is currently undergoing a significant refurbishment, as illustrated by your photographs. Admittedly the corridor is not looking at it's best yet as there is still some internal works to complete prior to the new carpet being laid. We try to ensure all customers... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Captain Cook Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Captain Cook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook Inn

Address: 60 Staithes Lane, Staithes TS13 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Staithes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Cook Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Captain Cook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Hotel Staithes
Captain Cook Inn Staithes, Yorkshire

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Captain Cook Inn is currently undergoing refurbishment, please call if you have any questions or queries. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
5

See which rooms travelers prefer