We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Blue Lion

Certificate of Excellence
East Witton | Nr Leyburn, East Witton DL8 4SN, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Blue Lion
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Blue Lion
Add Photo Write a Review

261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    129
    79
    39
    9
    5
See reviews for
22
164
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (261)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked into one of larger courtyard rooms which was well appointed but shower with no door means bathroom becomes a wet room! Wifi not available in room. Food was very good but let down by being served with tiny amounts of rather uninspiring vegetables. Service although reasonably efficient was not particularly friendly and some staff certainly need better training. Having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

What a fantastic place, warm friendly service, great character period hotel, with great ale and fantastic food. I could recommend this hotel enough to both the business client and holiday maker. Set in beautiful North Yorkshire, it couldn't get any better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
malton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The pub is warm and inviting with friendly helpful staff. The menu is tempting and all the meals that I saw looked great. We had suet pudding and mash which was £18 and a fish pie which was £17. Both were hot and tasty but the suet pudding is worthy of higher praise. The pub has rooms and some are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had previously had lunch here when passing by and it was exceptional. On the back of this we decided to go back for an overnight stay for my fathers 60th birthday. The rooms were large and pleasant if not a little tired. The bathrooms were newly refurbished but not to a great standard. Poor finishes were a little disappointing.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hk20, Owner at The Blue Lion, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. Looking back at our records I think you were here on the bank holiday weekend at the end of May, when unfortunately Paul and I were away on holiday. I wonder if you would mind sending an e mail, for my attention , confirming the date that you stayed,... More 

Merseyside
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have eaten at The Blue Lion when visiting The Dales for several years now and have always enjoyed good food and service. This was the first time that we have stayed overnight and we were not disappointed. The room, at the back of the hotel, overlooked the gardens and dale to the hills beyond. The silence at night and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelled from leeds to eat at this place but wished we had not bothered.The scallop starter was average but the duck main course was terrible,dry,and overcooked and my fillet was tasteless. Judging by the facial expressions of the couple opposite we were not the only disappointed customers there that night. Never to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hk20, Owner at The Blue Lion, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your meal here. If you would like to contact us directly, and let me know when you visited us, I can discuss the issues that you have raised with the chefs who were on duty at the time. Thank you. Helen Klein. More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we booked here as some of us had previously stayed and enjoyed the place. the hotel were very accommodating and looked after us very well (we had a variety of dietary and other special requests). There are a mixture of room standards. Our room was a courtyard superior double and was excellent. We enjoyed the food but were particularly impressed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's worth staying. The food is really really good. The staff is truly friendly. The area is beautiful. The hotel is warm. The room was beautiful. The loo was clean, big, comfy; bath, not shower; products were from "The White Company" London. Very romantic. The room offers water,tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. **Slow TV service and poor Wifi, no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a family birthday a couple of weeks ago. We had a courtyard room which was really lovely and was super easy to get across to the restaurant. The room was big and clean but the bathroom was the best. It was beautiful and had a powerful shower and exposed beams. The products provided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we called for sunday lunch. The lunch was ok at around £17.99 however we were in the back bar where the table was very wobbly and seats not to comfortable and we were paying same as those in the resteraunt. When we asked if the sticky toffee pudding came with custard or ice cream we were told that it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hk20, Owner at The Blue Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you were charged extra for the ice cream - that shouldn't have happened, and was an error on our part. If you would like to send an e mail, for my attention, with your name and telephone number, and the date you were here, I will contact you and hopefully resolve the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Witton
1.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Middleham
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
5.7 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 7 in Ripon
5.0 of 5 stars 796 reviews
16.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
5.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Frenchgate Hotel
The Frenchgate Hotel
#2 of 7 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay