We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Blue Lion

Certificate of Excellence
East Witton | Nr Leyburn, East Witton DL8 4SN, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Blue Lion
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Blue Lion
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    71
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
19
152
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (242)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We did a late booking to break up a trip North last Thursday, 25 April and were rewarded with an excellent overnight stay in a very comfortable en-suite room, with a superb dining experience in the a la carte dining room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
brigg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Nine of us stayed and ate dinner in the private dining room. The hotel is old and full of character. Our room was very nice though the bath and shower were a little on the small side (but it's not a modern hotel so that's not unexpected). Every member of staff we met was pleasant and couldn't do enough for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room in the courtyard was excellent but the food is overpriced and not very good. We had a scallop starter which was 9.95 and consisted of 2 shells with a chopped up small scallop in each mixed with tongue burning raw garlic (I usually love all things garlic). The glass of Medoc with my main course was a totally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On Friday the 24th of April we were booked into the Blue Lion by our children as a wedding treat.. And what a treat it turned out to be! The room (no 3) was fantastic.. The food was absolutely delicious.. With a truly amazing breakfast!.. And the staff were so cheerful and pleasant.. We really could not fault this hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Ives, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a 3 night break to celebrate or Golden Wedding. We chose the Blue Lion after reading a review in the Telegraph. We were not disappointed, our room, No3 in the main building was spacious, comfortable, with a lovely bathroom. We ate in the restaurant each night, the alc menu was varied with many choices, the food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hk20, Owner at The Blue Lion, responded to this review

Dear Mr and Mrs Metcalfe, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and I have passed your comments on to our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Helen. More 

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

We joined with several other friends in an overnight stay to celebrate a Golden Wedding. The staff at The Blue Lion made us very welcome and provided a superb private room for Dinner which was, in itself, was excellent. The food matched the occasion and I do not think that any one of the group was disappointed. The hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hk20, Owner at The Blue Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm pleased that you and your group of friends enjoyed your celebration, and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Rossendale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Really disappointed in the Blue Lion, not at all what we expected. Our room was tired looking and a real mish mash of styles of furniture, the bathroom was stark to say the least The restaurant is way overpriced and the "Blue Lion" fish pie came in a starter portion Breakfast was OK but son't expect an early start, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hk20, Owner at The Blue Lion, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. I'm not sure which room you were in, but they do vary in style and size. We do usually serve breakfast between 8 and 10am, but are happy to provide early breakfasts for guests who require this, provided we know the night before so we can arrange for our... More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We made a late booking for Tuesday night and arrived to a cold room, so we turned on the radiator, but had to get the bathroom one bled, so it could warm up. It all seemed a little strange, we loved the old fashioned bars and restaurant, loved the food, which warranted a doggy bag, but upstairs, felt un cared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hk20, Owner at The Blue Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room. We have tried to sort out the creaky floorboards at that end of the building, but we are very restricted as to what we can do, due to the age and nature of the building. We do have quite a variety of size and style of... More 

Swaledale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Stayed overnght after a holiday, so arrived 7.45, but had booked a table. We live quite close anyway, so have been before for lunch. Beautiful ambience, with log fire and candles on the tables. Booked petite dble, but lovely room and plenty of space for us, free wifi, shower over bath in ensuite, White Company shower gel etc, great. Service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

We stayed overnight on a Saturday night for my birthday with our friends and had s really good time. The staff are first class and take time to chat and make sure you have everything you need. The rooms in the old coach house are quite small but perfectly laid out and the decor complements them well. We ate a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question