We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mariners Hotel

Silver Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HS, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mariners Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mariners Hotel
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    126
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
31
196
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (326)
  • Mar-May only
    (90)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Mariners Hotel is a super venue for a meal out. The restaurant has a lounge area where you can have your drink before your meal, or, alternatively, there is a pretty garden which is ideal on warm nights. The restaurant is cosy, the food is very good with a decent menu as was service and presentation. Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great stay...friendly staff..great food.. The moules fritte menu is awesome Room was comfortable and would reccomend a stay..breakfast was great ..good selection...very creamy yoghurts and poached eggs to perfection

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MarinersLymeRegis, Manager at Mariners Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tim L, Thank you for taking the time to review the Mariners, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Moules Frites menu is very popular, and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast too. I hope I can welcome you back to the Mariners in the future. warm regards Stuart More 

Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We paid £129 for bed and breakfast, and were very disappointed. The room and bathroom were reasonable, but the carpet was disgusting. The manager did say that this was due to be changed to be fair. The dinner was ok although cheese tart had little cheese and burnt pastry. Staff were trying hard but were thin on the ground. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MarinersLymeRegis, Manager at Mariners Hotel, responded to this review

Dear C P, Thank you for taking the time to review the Mariners. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as we had hoped. I can only apologise that the carpet in the room was not up to standard, we have had all the bedroom carpets professionally cleaned since your stay, and some will be... More 

Stocksfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We called in on chance for one night , noticed sticky marks on woodwork at top of stairs right away and cup stain rîngs on woodwork along the corridor , no excuse for this , I wouldn't want this at home so for 110 pounds a night I expect more . Room eight was small with a tiny bathroom ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
37 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Love the location - the hill was a good test for my new hip! Meant that we were close to the centre of town, while still being peaceful. All the staff were really great. The facilities are close to perfect and the layout and feel of the hotel is great. The breakfasts were superb, and the evening meals very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wedmore, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 via mobile

We were all set to spend a few days in Lyme Regis at the Mariners Hotel, with a cooking course booked at River Cottage. Due to an unexpected personal problem we had to cancel both the course and the hotel booking. It was a very late cancelation and the staff were great. It was decided to refund our deposit. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarinersLymeRegis, Manager at Mariners Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Georgie020, Thank you for taking the time to review the Mariners. I'm glad we were able to help you with your booking and that you found our staff helpful. I hope that we can welcome you to the hotel in the future. warm regards Stuart More 

cambridge uk
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We stayed here for three nights with friends and found the hotel very pleasant and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent especially the scrambled egg with smoked salmon and dinner in the restaurant was good too.I like mussels and the moules with different sauces are great.We ate in the bar area one night which is cosier although the restaurant has lovely views... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarinersLymeRegis, Manager at Mariners Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rosecat, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your break at the Mariners. The chefs work very hard to create a varied and inspired menu using local produce whereve possible, and I'm please to hear this was reflected in your enjoyment of the meals you had with us. I hope to welcome you back to the Mariners in the future.... More 

Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

We just stayed one night this time, but were treated just as well. Great location with good views from our bedroom. Very good breakfast. Car park is a great bonus. Easy walk to the beach, but obviously a bit more energy required to walk back up the hill!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarinersLymeRegis, Manager at Mariners Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JanefromSomerset, It was great to see you back at the Mariners again, even if it was only for one night this time. I hope it wont be too long before your return. warm regards Stuart More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, wonderfully friendly staff, comfortable room. Beautiful views, food lovely and they cater for vegetarians! the whole place was clean, perfectly presented, and thoroughly enjoyable to stay there. Great parking across the road. I can't wait to book my stay here again! A big thank you to all the staff for making us feel so very welcome :) x

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarinersLymeRegis, Manager at Mariners Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bluebookworm, I'm happy to hear you had a good stay at the Mariners, our staff work very hard to provide a relaxing and friendly atmosphere and the hotel was recently redecorated and I'm pleased this has shone through during your stay. I hope to welcome you back to the Mariners in the future. warm regards Stuart More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

We had only booked for one night (a Saturday) and we were very happy with our choice of hotel. Our room (room 10) was very clean, spacious and well appointed, with a good size bathroom and a very comfortable bed! The views were very impressive and, on a cold night, it was very easy to regulate the temperature of our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MarinersLymeRegis, Manager at Mariners Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Goodleed, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Mariners, Room 10 is one of my favourite rooms too, Lovely sea views and a comfortable modern four poster bed. Much of the hotel was redecorated over the winter period. I'm also pleased to hear you took advantage of our restaurant at the hotel, we use local produce... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities