We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Lyme Regis hotels

Mariners Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Silver Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HS, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Mariners Privilege Card
Save Saved
You added Mariners Hotel to your Saves list
Mariners Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
81%
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
chris l Guernsey, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (285)
  • Photos (54)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (80)
  • More
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    108
    36
    11
    7
See reviews for
25
173
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here last weekend for a couple of nights . We're met by friendly reception staff who helped us with cases up the 2 flights of stairs , when entered the room was blown away bu the view over the countryside and lyme Regis bay . Room was plenty big enough and shower room was slightly on the low side... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of THE BEST experiences ever. If you are looking for the Holiday Inn you are in the wrong place. The Mariners Hotel is a tribute to England's History. The relaxing garden is out of reach of the internet and it's distractions, thank God. From the garden you can see most of the village and spectacular views of the ocean.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room not very big, bed too soft,pillows synthetic and unforgiving. Friendly and helpful staff.Nice lounge. Garden with spectacular view. Food good and plentifulbot the included breakfast, and the optional dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oxted, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in room 8 which was pleasant but rather small for 2 people, The bed was very small. The bathroom and shower cubicle were very small - as a big man I had to turn sideways to get my shoulders through the door. There were no surfaces in the bathroom to put down toiletries etc. Although the room faced... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norton Canes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location and staff at the Mariners are excellent and we would recommend the hotel to anyone wishing to visit Lyme Regis. The hotel however does need a bit of TLC, the decor is looking a little tired and premises does require a bit of a "tidy up". This does not detract from a very enjoyable holiday in a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Generally friendly and accommodating staff (see below). From the garden, beautiful views overlooking the coast. The room was pleasant and good bedlinen. Happy to stay there again if there are improvements. Suggest to allocate a lockable cupboard for left luggage if one cannot check in before 2pm. The location was highly accessible, so is attractive from that point of view.Lack... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed in room 8 and was astonished to find a small room with tiny ensuite with shower - for £130 per night B&B. Booked for two nights - left before breakfast after one uncomfortable night. Gentleman on reception unhelpful - I complained about small room and he showed me another of similar size. Arrived having stayed 3 nights at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MarinersLymeRegis, Manager at Mariners Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Devonandrew, I'm sorry you felt the room was small and poor value at the Mariners, I'm afraid that we are a period 17th century listed building and not a purpose built hotel. As such some of our rooms are smaller than you would find in a modern hotel, however we do find that this adds to the charm and... More

Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Mariners over the bank holiday weekend. Unfortunately we were disappointed with our stay. This is not a family friendly hotel. On arrival the receptionist did not speak to our three children and his face clearly showed his displeasure! Our interconnecting family room was small and cramped for our three... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MarinersLymeRegis, Manager at Mariners Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nickyxwilliams, I'm sorry you did not enjoy your trip to the Mariners as much as we hoped. I have spoken to the staff about your comments on them not interacting with the children and they were most apologetic about this, and quite surprised as we consider ourselves very family friendly, and pride ourselves on our customer service. Our family... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Room hugely overpriced for the size of it and it was very very dirty, the carpets badly stained and the headboard grease made you shudder and resolve not to SIT up in bed. We paid for our little dog to stay and as he is, like most other dogs, well house trained we did not understand why the room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarinersLymeRegis, Manager at Mariners Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ann P, Firstly I would like to apologise for the cleanliness of your room not meeting our usual high standards. We have had some problems with cleaning staff at the Mariners but this has now been rectified and replacements have been found. The bed in your room is a standard double bed, 4 foot 6 inches. We are a... More

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Disappointed to be given a room overlooking the road. The bathroom and the shower was dirty the shower head was blacken with mould, my husband would not use it, even thought I tried to clean it. I requested a table with a view for dinner as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, but the resturant was closed as there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mariners Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Address: Silver Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Lyme Regis, Dorset

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
14

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer