We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rosemont

Certificate of Excellence
Greenbank Terrace, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DR, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rosemont
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Rosemont
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
78
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (156)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to The Rosemont. Our bedroom was warm and welcoming with a comfy king size bed,fridge and lounge area. A lovely choice for breakfast saw one of us enjoying a full English and the other scrummy French toast, bacon and maple syrup. The view over Dartmoor from our bedroom window made the whole visit just perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was comfortable, warm and quiet despite the nearby over-night roadworks. Probably the best cooked breakfast I have ever had, all made with locally produced products. Location is excellent, very handy for the roads to either Tavistock or Plymouth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris and Julie E, Owner at The Rosemont, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your time here at The Rosemont. It was very exciting to be with you when the call came that your offer on a house had been accepted, there is a long way to go of course but we wish you the best of luck. Our... More 

Aldershot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Just had two days here. Lovely B&B, clean, comfortable and superb breakfast. Will definitely stay here again!!! Good location to visit some beautiful places on the Moor. The Rock Inn over the road was recommended which was also excellent with really good pub food. I was able to take my little dog too at no extra charge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris and Julie E, Owner at The Rosemont, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you and we would be delighted to see you again in the future. More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

I have stayed at the Rosemont off and on for around 10 years. The rooms are airy, the beds are comfortable and the breakfast is delicious. Chris and Julie are a charming couple and always make you feel at home. I stayed one night on business whilst I found out that my customers had stayed at a large and expensive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris and Julie E, Owner at The Rosemont, responded to this review

Thank you Andy. Has it really been 10 years ? Thanks for the comments about your colleagues stay in Tavistock - perhaps they will heed your advice on the next visit. Thanks again. All the best. Chris & Julie More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Excellent friendly care, informal but beautiful interiors, great breakfasts, comfortable beds, good for kids. Hosts very friendly, very supportive when my wife was unwell. Handy for Dartmoor escape and tourism.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris and Julie E, Owner at The Rosemont, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your stay here with us at The Rosemont. Apologies not responding sooner, missed this one. More 

Sherborne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We stayed for two nights in what I would call a mini appartment. This comprised of shower, w.c., Lounge with two armchairs, and a separate bedroom with a large double bed that was very comfortable. Julie was very welcoming and her husband Chris cooks a great breakfast of which there is a wide choice. The only thing we would change... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris and Julie E, Owner at The Rosemont, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time and trouble to write review of your time with us here at The Rosemont, so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your vote of confidence and it would be lovely to see you again. A quick note about early check in: Arrivals are usually from 4pm (like everyone else we have chores to do... More 

Watford
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Stayed here for two nignts again as we were down for my birthday. This would be our fourth visit this year. We had prebooked our usual room, number 5, in the attic. This has a very comfortable bed and great pillows ( very important ), a wardrobe, a separate seating area with large tele and fridge and drinks station and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris and Julie E, Owner at The Rosemont, responded to this review

Thank you once again for choosing The Rosemont for your special occasion and for your regular visits. We look forward to seeing you again in 2015. Have a great Christmas in the meantime. More 

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Just returned from a three night break at the rosemount. Lovely comfy four poster bed, lovely to sit in arm chairs and watch the village green. Great for dogs we had our lovely border collie bluebell staying in our room. All toiletries are supplied along with hairdryer if needed.Breakfasts are great just pop order on sheet and leave down stairs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris and Julie E, Owner at The Rosemont, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It was a shame you couldn't enjoy your stay a little more because you were feeling unwell. It would be really nice to have you back in the future when you can make the most of what Dartmoor can offer. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Sue and I stayed for four nights, room 4 first night, and room 5 remaining. The space and comfort of these rooms exceeded expectations. Relaxing chairs that one could move to wherever, watch t v whilst also keeping an eye on the village green... a refrigerator..good addition, very comfortable beds. room serviced well during visit. Breakfast superb....yes, one places requirements... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris and Julie E, Owner at The Rosemont, responded to this review

Thanks for posting a review of your stay at The Rosemont. "Recommended without reservation" is praise indeed. Thank You. The "....no big deal" comment refers to the fact that you had the first night in a different room because it was already reserved by other guests. Nothing we could do about that but you were the first to sleep on... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

A nice large room, very small shower room. Small television but good wifi. Large comfortable bed. Good pillows. A little dated. Well placed for a walk to a meal. Owner allowed an early check in which was very convenient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris and Julie E, Owner at The Rosemont, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is a little disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay to the full. We have never had a comment about the size of the shower rooms before although some are larger than others. The comments about the room being dated are unfortunate. Every year we refresh 1 or 2 rooms and that room... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question