We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moorland Garden Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Special Offer
FREE bottle of house wine
Moorland Garden Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
janner1 Suffolk UK
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    169
    89
    34
    20
    6
See reviews for
71
151
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (318)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed 2 nights here in June. It happened to be the weekend a Shakespeare production was on in the garden. Sadly for them in poured with rain. We went to a local pub for A meal instead. The grounds are lovely. Siutated on the edge of the moor. Hotel needs some more renovation.the public rooms look pretty good..but the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear janner1, Thank you for your balanced review after your visit to us in June, I was pleased to see you enjoyed the grounds and ambience as well as the breakfast on your second morning. I was concerned to see that some of our service levels did not reach our normal high standards, we have been discussing this as a... More 

Woking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We visited the Moorland Garden for a birthday lunch of 16 people. Unfortunately it was raining heavily so we were unable to look properly at the lovely terrace and garden. The staff were helpful and attentive, the service was good and the dining room was comfortable. The food was not altogether quite as good, the main course of roast beef... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sylvia H, Thank you for your honest and balanced review following your visit for Sunday lunch recently. I was pleased to see you enjoyed the ambience, the way we looked after you all and the beginning and end of lunch. I do apologise for the shortcomings with your main course, i have been discussing this with my Head Chef... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Went to Sunday lunch. Great setting; good menu; lovely food but does the chef know nothing about customer relationships? We had three course meal for 4 with wine and drinks and ordered dessert. One choice came with clotted cream which my wife adores but her choice of desert was without. She asked if she could have clotted cream with hers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew S, Thank you for your full and frank review following your visit for lunch last Sunday. I am delighted to hear how much you all enjoyed the setting and the dishes we prepared for you and I am sorry the day was tainted by the supplement for the additional clotted cream with your wife's pavlova. I do understand... More 

Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful surroundings but not too far out of town. We were invited to a wedding reception and booked in to stay overnight. The room was lovely, comfortable & clean. The facilities were all freshly presented & we had a comfortable stay. No wifi as such but we were in the middle of Dartmoor!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear S0phieOnH0liday, Many thanks for your very kind review following your stay here earlier this month while you attended a wedding. It was a real pleasure to see how much you enjoyed your time with us and that everything was as you wished it to be. I'm sorry you didn't connect to the wifi, it is there across the building... More 

Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice, modern, clean ground floor room. The wifi and T.V reception was a little patchy but the hotel is on Dartmoor so this was not surprising. We had family join us in the evening and had a fantastic bar meal which was served by very attentive staff. The surroundings were very pleasant and appeared very modern and newly decorated.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ruth J, Thank you for your very kind review following your stay with us earleir this month, I was pleased to see how much you enjoyed your time and the facilities we offer. We have worked hard over the recent years to refresh the hotel and to improve the standards of food and service - it is very much... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Looked forward to this stay but unfortunately found the booking.com pictures of the rooms very misleading and overall false advertising. I saw 2 rooms, neither of which looked like the pictures. The first room (206) which I'd advise no one to stay in was appalling. I wouldn't pay any money to have to sleep on that bed!! The springs were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leah O, Thank you for your full and frank review following your stay with us last week. i do apologise for the poor experience you had. We will be looking into the mattress issues and seeing what we need to do in those rooms as a matter of urgency. I am sorry you did not like the decor in... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stopped off here on my way back from Cornwall. The surroundings are beautiful and the hotel has a lot of character. I had just been camping so it was nice to have a bit of luxury and a really well cooked meal. Went for a walk around their charming gardens in the evening. The staff were all friendly. Some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fee-ach, Many thanks for your lovely review following your stop off on your way home from your camping holiday last September. I am very pleased that we were able to give you this little bit of luxury and set you up for the rest of your journey home! I was delighted to see that you enjoyed the character of... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice grounds but expected a better room for my money I found the room standard but for £99 I would of thought I would of had more. We also had a washing machine going above out room all night :/ not what you want. Easy to find place. Good breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nataliefaye08. Thank you for your frank and helpful review following your visit here earlier this month. I was pleased to see you enjoyed the grounds and the breakfast and I do apologise for your disappointment with the room and the noise above. We are looking into the noise to see what was causing it, all our laundry equipment is... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have found the Moorland by mistake, having been 'billeted' there during a training course. The place is heavenly and a fantastic unwind after a day in the classroom. The grounds are fabulous with country walks, and impressive formal gardens. The public areas are comfortable and spacious ... and the restaurant/food is exceptional. The rooms are comfortable and are furnished... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MangleCruncher, Many thanks for your kind review following your stay with us last week, I am pleased you had a positive visit hereand were able to make the most of our relaxing location and ambience after your busy time in the classroom - and good food always helps too! We always do what we can to accommodate our guests'... More 

Pensilva
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We knew the Moorland Garden Hotel would be the right choice for our wedding when we booked it over 2 years ago but even we have been surprised and thrilled by just how fantastic they have been. What a fantastic few days. This is a hotel that really goes the extra mile to satisfy it's guests. From the moment we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CornwallTWH, Thank you very much for this superb review! It was a real pleasure for us all to be involved in your big day and I am very pleased that you both enjoyed it so much. The whole team is very grateful for your recognition of your wonderful day, I have shared your thanks with them all. Thank you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (98)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
13.1 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
18.1 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#2 of 2 in Two Bridges
4.0 of 5 stars 633 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay