We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Yelverton hotels

Moorland Garden Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Autumn Break from £79pppn
Moorland Garden Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Moorland Garden Hotel to your Saves list
82%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Bob M Saltford, England, United Kingdom
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    69
    25
    15
    4
See reviews for
61
101
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (231)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Saltford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My daughter was married in this hotel 10 years ago, we have stayed their a few times since then, but this was the first visit since the new ownership. From the outside the place looks the same as before, a small garden oasis within Dartmoor, and very close to Plymouth one way and Tavistock the other. The décor while looking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What a lovely night we had. Staff are excellent,nothing too much trouble. Highlight of our stay was dinner. Only one word for it,,fantastic !! One of the best meals we have had. We will be back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jean M, Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us, it was a real pleasure to see how much you enjoyed your break - especially the way my team looked after you and the dinner you had. I hope you will be able to make another trip across the moor soon! Regards, Andrew Jenkins, General... More

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel with our local Ramblers Group - 27 of us all together. My wife & I stayed an extra night. The room was very comfortably, the staff friendly and efficient and the breakfasts and dinners very good. This is our second trip here and we would like to go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear h0mejames99, Thank you very much for your kind review following your stay with us last week, it was a real pleasure for us to look after you all again and I hope we will be able to next year too. The team will be pleased to see that we looked after you well, friendly and efficient is a target... More

Bideford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here on our way home from Plymouth. It is set just off the main road from Plymouth to Tavistock and is very convenient. Surrounded by Dartmoor it is very quiet and had Dartmoor ponies and Sheep in the lane adding to the atmosphere. The hotel is only a 25 min drive to be parked in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane M, Many thanks for your full and balanced review following your stopover on your way home last week. I was very pleased to see how much you enjoyed the location and ambience of the hotel in general and that the staff looked after you. I do apologise for the areas where we let you down, we are scheduling... More

Fareham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I had a 3 night stay here a couple of weeks ago. The front desk were kind enough to call me prior to arrival to ask if we were part of either of the two wedding parties happening during our stay. When I said that we were not we were assured a room well away from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Philip B, Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to see that my team looked after you well even before you arrived but disappointed that you were not happy with the menu choices available. The restaurant menu is designed to work as a three course offering so you are pleasantly full... More

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I shared a room with my brother for a family wedding and we wondered if any staff had actually stayed in this room (109) as it's faults were so obvious. The bathroom fittings seemed to have been added over a period of time such that they didn't work together. Our mattresses were so old that we could feel every spring... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alyn E, Thank you for your full and helpful review following your recent stay at the hotel. I do apologise for the shortcomings you experienced. As you saw from the other rooms your family had we have made huge steps in upgrading the hotel and I am sorry we were not able to provide you all with the newer... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The communal areas have obviously been refurbished very recently (and clearly some of the bedrooms too if their photography is to be believed). These areas as lovely - clean, bright, modern. The bedroom we had 'Premier' certainly wasn't. Mismatched, tatty furniture, a TV which retuned every time you turned it on, lino stained and curling in the bathroom and bedlinen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BadgerFoot, Thank you for your very helpful review following your recent stay with us, I am sorry our room did not meet your expectations. As an older property we are refurbishing in stages and while we have completed many parts of the hotel there are still some areas to work on. The flooring in the bathroom is being replaced... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

good points: great location en route to Cornwall and incredibly beautiful drive from London to Dartmoor. Friendly local staff working in restaurant. Bad points: We had a superior room - it was dirty and the shower screen didn't fit so water damage / curled lino in bathroom and black mould on shower mat. Bed linen had seen better days and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Annaslos, Thank you for your very helpful review following your stay with us earlier this month. I do apologise for the shortcomings you experienced, we are working on them now! We do ave a rolling programme for replacing the bedding - it does sound like some has slipped through the net! We did have blinds fitted on the groundfloor... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband & i booked on a mid week Groupon. We wouldn't have booked so close to home normally but needed a quick break. What a find! the location is ideal for Dartmoor and southams visiting. We were warmly greeted and were very pleased to have a large and airy room with a lovely view over the beautiful grounds. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trish S, Thank you very much for your kind review following your stay with us earlier this month. I was very pleased to see how much you enjoyed your time here and that you were able to take full advantage of our location and facilities. It was also very rewarding to see how much you enjoyed the food and... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

1st. The good points: Lovely setting, great views from rooms.Spacious and well equipped. Bad points: Great bathroom shame toilet seat not fitted on properly, sink needs attn.Very Noisy when water runs into plughole.. View from window spoilt by hugh pile of bird poo and dead baby bird outside bedroom window. No carpets in corridor (awaiting fitting I guess)? Both nights... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ballroom04, Thank you for your full and constructive review following your recent visit to the hotel. I do apologise for the disappointment you experienced during your time with us. We are addressing the issues you highlighted with the bathroom and once we are sure the bird nests are uninhabited we will be able to look at this area too.... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Moorland Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorland Garden Hotel Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay