We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Yelverton hotels

Moorland Garden Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Autumn Break from £79pppn
Save Saved
You added Moorland Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Moorland Garden Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
84%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
John H Weymouth, United Kingdom
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    67
    21
    14
    4
See reviews for
60
96
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

1st. The good points: Lovely setting, great views from rooms.Spacious and well equipped. Bad points: Great bathroom shame toilet seat not fitted on properly, sink needs attn.Very Noisy when water runs into plughole.. View from window spoilt by hugh pile of bird poo and dead baby bird outside bedroom window. No carpets in corridor (awaiting fitting I guess)? Both nights... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ballroom04, Thank you for your full and constructive review following your recent visit to the hotel. I do apologise for the disappointment you experienced during your time with us. We are addressing the issues you highlighted with the bathroom and once we are sure the bird nests are uninhabited we will be able to look at this area too.... More

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from The Moorland Garden Hotel. Faultless, superb food, excellent bedroom, very friendly efficient staff and beautiful grounds. We stayed for two nights couldn't find any faults, there was a wedding on the Saturday which we were warned of but it didn't cause any problems as we were put in quiet bedroom away from the celebrations. Bedroom was well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John H, Many thanks for your very kind review following your stay with us earlier this month. It was a pleasure to see how much you both enjoyed your visit. I will pass on your comments to the team, they do like to see the feedback from our guests and take great reward from reading your review. Thank you... More

Bristol
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here 2 days ago at the end of the summer deal DB&B. Our room was the 'Lily of the valley suite' which was excellent, large room, great decor, with lovely views of the grounds and good size bathroom. All areas ot the hotel are very inviting, clean and tidy. There were no functions on so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear peeteBristol, Very many thanks for your kind and positive review following your stay with us earlier this month, I was very pleased to see how much you both enjoyed your time at the hotel. It is very rewarding for the team to have feedback like this and I will make sure it is passed on to them. I do... More

Axminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Comfortable accommodation, relaxing environment, great food, lovely surroundings. Outside patio area was very enjoyable with comfortable seating. Bar and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. Parking was easy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear derekfish, Many thanks for your kind review following your visit here for a wedding in May. I was very pleased to see how we got everything working properly to make the event go so smoothly for everyone. I hope you'll be able to come back across the county for another visit soon! Regards Andrew Jenkins General Manager More

Plymouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had lunch at this hotel, on Wednesday 27 August, to catch up on two elderly very dear friends as a post celebration for our diamond wedding anniversary. Unfortunately when the booking was made we were not advised that the restaurant would be undergoing a major structural refit so our celebration was confined to a bar meal. Our anticipated fine dining... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wyattplymouth, Thank you for your helpful review following your visit for lunch last week. I do apologise for the disappointment you experienced with us, both with the change of venue and with the fish. We should have inofrmed you beforehand of the improvement work we were doing in creating the new entrance doors and we will learn from this.... More

Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came back for a second time because we had such a fabulous break before and taking advantage of the £99 summer deal we booked 2 nights. We got the same room as before which was great as we loved it the first time round. The evening menu was even better than before with more choice and more vegetables! Although... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pippa W Thank you for your full and honest review following your stay with us last month. May I apologise for the disappointment you experienced over dinner service. While there are various reasons behind some of the things you saw there is still no excuse for dinner having taken so long. This is not our normal standard and we... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank you to all at Moorland Garden Hotel who made our anniversary very special. We have stayed at the hotel twice before and each and every time it has been a very pleasant, memorable occasion. Thank you to Andrew and all the team for the attention to detail that was shown. We attended the dinner dance to commemorate the 80th... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RosieB693, Thank you very much for your kind review after your anniversary break last weekend. I was really pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay, especially our Sparkles and Spitfires 80th Anniversary Dinner Dance. It was a pleasure for us to have you both back here with us again. Thank you, too, for highlighting some of the... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked for lunch on 19th August. Arrived 5 minutes early and were ushered into the lounge awaiting waiting staff. Eventually were given menus and asked to wait until waitress returned when order was taken and we were shown to our table. Restaurant was empty, but it still took longer than expected for the food. I had a deep-fried prawn starter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Derek C Many thanks for your kind and helpful review after your recent visit for lunch. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed the dishes we served to you and do apolgise that they took a little longer than you expected. My Restaurant Manager has also been reviewing the vacuuming and checking of his morning team, thank you... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
46 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came to meet a friend for lunch in the bar area and was impressed by the choice of healthy, hearty and colourful lunch options. Pleasant ambience - a bright and relaxing room - plus fast service and reasonable prices made this a perfect venue for a gossipy lunch. Plenty of parking, clean loos, fresh flowers: a thoroughly civilised choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Devon1964, Thank you for your lovely review after your recent lunch visit, I was very pleased to see how much you enjoyed the whole experience and how all the little bits and pieces came together to create the right ambience. I do hope we will be able to look after you and your friend again. Regards Andrew Jenkins General... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great value. Room was clean and comfortable - although in need of updating which is obviously work in progress. Bathroom had been refurbished and was very nice but no self for your wash bag! The evening meal was excellent and the service superb. The 2 young men and young lady at the evening service gave excellent customer care as did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Netty1313, Thank you very much for your kind review after your stay at the hotel earlier this month. I was very pleased to see that you found us to be such good value and that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you too for your kind comments about my team, they really do take note and appreciate this... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Moorland Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Moorland Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, T4B, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorland Garden Hotel Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Yelverton with
any amenities