We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Hart Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
The Square, Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8NF, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The White Hart Hotel
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    28
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
66
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (157)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I (early 30s) booked a one night stay here for a short getaway over the Bank Holiday weekend. We are a 'normal' couple and are pretty laid back but are fussy about cleanliness .The Hotel has no car park however there is a public one about 20 meters away which cost £2.00 overnight. The Outside of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
west country
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here with our dog last weekend for two nights and would stay again. All the staff were very friendly and what's more genuinely kind to our dog. We liked the way the staff worked together and the overall impression of the hotel was generous, no skimping in the rooms or on meals. Very comfortable lounge area, lots of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visit Dartmoor on a regular basis with our two dogs but this was the first time we had tried the White Hart. We found everyone from reception, bar and resturant staff very helpful and friendly. With dogs staying free (a welcome change from some hotels) and made to feel very welcome we will definitely return. Food is very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night for a work event, along with some colleagues. From the outside the building looks appealing and rather quaint, in the style of the village, but inside the rooms are much larger than I was expecting. My room had all the necessary facilities and the bed was lovely and comfy. Staff were all friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked at The White Hart as we were going to a local event. The hotel is historic and has been well refurbished. Our twin room was a good size with very comfortable beds and all the expected facilities. The reception, bar and restaurant staff were all very helpful, friendly and efficient. The breakfast selection was good and we enjoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

The White Hart was a perfect stay in my travel across Dartmoor. The hotel was very relaxing with a large homely lounge, with open fire, WI-Fi in all rooms and public areas and the staff were very welcoming. I had a few pints of local Cider at the bar and a delicious Gluten Free dinner of Venison. Well worth the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

We had a truly outstanding meal here, in all senses of the word, over Easter. The surroundings are beautiful and rustic, well chosen fabrics and decoration. The young chap overseeing the dining room was a pure delight and true asset (we mentioned this to the lovely owner on leaving). The food was beautifully presented and thoroughly delicious ! Can't wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Stayed here for a two day family celebration break on a cold, wet, late March weekend - but the comfortable rooms, good food and great hospitality made our stay warm and relaxing. Our spacious double room, with clean, modern walk-in shower in the en-suite was much appreciated for having a hot shower after some country walks, and food was well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff always go the extra mile to ensure guests have a great stay and I am delighted that we got it right for you. Your comments about our food are great to hear although we clearly had an... More 

Ruthin, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We stayed here recently, it was fine, just a bit blah. Everything was clean and tidy and the staff were nice. The food wasn't great though, could do with some improvement, the vegetarian dishes all centred around mushrooms and were so heavy and chock full of cream and my fella's steak was over cooked..I wouldn't say it was a terrible... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, even though we do not seem to have been your cup of tea! We don't pretend to be anything we are not – we are a good quality 3 star hotel and, as you will see from our many reviews, the vast majority of our customers love what we do,... More 

BATH UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We looked around the town and out of 4 places for lunch this one offered a bit more than the run of the mill menu items. The lunch menu had a good range of options, including veggie, and we were not disappointed with either the food or service. All of the staff were extremely friendly and offered advice on menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our food. You have said exactly what we would wish to hear – a varied menu, great food, well priced. Our kitchen team works hard to produce quality dishes using fresh, local seasonal ingredients and we always offer vegetarian options and daily specials alongside our main menu. Thank you – we hope... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities