We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Metropole Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Metropole Hotel
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    294
    134
    52
    34
See reviews for
112
578
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (897)
  • Mar-May only
    (248)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (208)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (251)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (190)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My sister, brother and myself payed for a two day break for our parents, dbb basis, they had the most beautiful room, breakfast was very good and dinner was amazing, mum and dad said the cream tea was delicious. The staff could not do enough for them, they had an amazing time, thanks to all the staff at the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A splendid hotel in all respects... The lady on reception was particularly pleasant, and a warm, friendly welcome is always reassuring. The hotel is a very large imposing building in relation to the quaint fishing port of Padstow, but positioned sympathetically. When entering is was so pleasing to see that many of the building original features, character and charm have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We managed to get a deal at the Metropole for a birthday treat. We knew it wouldn't be boutique style as this is not what it's supposed to be. We found the staff helpful and the room warm, tidy, comfortable and clean with a fabulous view. The breakfast was brilliant.! Good choice of buffet items including pastries, fruit, anything you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
london
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
98 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed one night while walking the southwest coast path. We paid a great price of £69 for 2 with breakfast. Pricing of £200 for a night is way overpriced. Our room was a nice size overlooking the beach/port. The hotel is tired in parts however this is made up for by the character of the building and location. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was an okay stay for a run down dated hotel, majorly lacked the wow factor my partner and I were expecting. I took my boyfriend away for his 30th as keen visitors to Padstow we have always wanted to stay at the hotel as it looks rather grand. I'll start with the positives, the staff were very friendly, helpful (no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew G, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for your review I am pleased you found the team to be friendly, the breakfast excellent, the bed to be comfy and wonderful views over the Camel estuary from your room. The hotel is an iconic hotel which presides over Padstow with grandeur and oozes character with it architectural features. We have recently undertaken a full refurbishment of our... More 

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our only concern was the lack of parking. Arrived bank holiday Sunday and lucky to find last parking space at 3pm. Staff very welcoming and complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits on arrival a very nice and welcome touch after a 300 mile journey. Room was clean and adequate and good toiletries in bathroom. Breakfast next morning was good and served... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew G, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a time to complete a review of the hotel after your recent stay. I am pleased you found the hotel to be good value for money and a pleasant hotel. The hotel is situated right in the centre of Padstow overlooking the Harbour, we have a large car park but on occasions parking can be an... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We selected the Metrople in Padstow because of its central location and this was our first visit to Padstow. On the positive side, it is in a great location and the staff at reception and the restaurant staff were excellent, very helpful and keen to do what they could to help you enjoy your stay This hotel dates back to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew G, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are centrally located for Padstow with views over the harbour and camel estuary. The team throughout the hotel are professional and friendly and are here to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. I am disappointed you felt we did not meet your 4 star expectations. I can assure you we offering... More 

london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I upgraded my room, and stayed in 109, very large and comfortable. However there was a problem with the water, and I endured a cold shower! It's not the problem, but how it's dealt with, and the manager receptionist was very apologetic, and professional. A consideration was made to my bill, and I was satisfied. I would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew G, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am glad you were able to upgrade your room on arrival and stayed in room 109. This is one of my favourite rooms with access to the lawn and views over the estuary. We had an issue with the boiler one morning and it was reset by our maintenance team as quick as possible.... More 

South Wales
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here on numerous occasions on business ,and staff are very helpful and it is a fine hotel ,its location is perfect .But on this visit was very unpredictable ,i couldn't get any connection on the 3rd floor at all. Reception told me i was guaranteed a connection on the ground floor ,but that proved difficult as well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night. You were made to feel welcome at reception, we were giving a complementary coffee and homemade biscuits while sitting in the bar area overlooking padstow. (Beautiful scenery ) the rooms were spotless and comfortable. Would definitely stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (80)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities