We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Port Gaverne Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Port Gaverne PL29 3SQ, England
Special Offer
ONLINE BOOKING
Port Gaverne Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Add Photo Write a Review

306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    123
    91
    47
    29
    16
See reviews for
53
165
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (306)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (125)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Having booked this hotel in January and then read all the negative reviews I was really concerned and considered cancelling. This hotel is lovely, the staff, bedroom and restaurant all excellent. I considered the food in the restaurant to be priced fairly and in line with other restaurants in the area. A huge bonus was the nesspresso coffee machine in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was a lovely hotel, in a superb location. The hotel was so quaint, pretty and clean. Hotel staff were friendly at all times and nothing was too much trouble. Being in a room at the top of the hotel, was initially a struggle with luggage (although I did decline the offer of help, so my own fault!) once in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
fairford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for a night on 25th June and were very happy with everything. Room 12 was lovely, views were stunning. Dinner was absolutely delicious, mussels were amazing. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was lovely. Would not hesitate in recommending and would stay again. Nicola and Jasper

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have stayed at many St Austell Brewery hotels and this property does not meet their normal high standards despite being more expensive than the others.The bathrooms are tired and no robes or water is supplied in the rooms. Did not have dinner as was told upon arrival that they were full that evening. The toast at breakfast was probably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having read some recent negative reviews we were slightly apprehensive about what to expect. We were definitely not disappointed with this hotel. It's in a stunning location. The staff were all lovely and always there to help with any request. The standard of accommodation and food was excellent. We had breakfast and evening meals - both were very good. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dplanetzog, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure to serve you well. Many thanks and welcome back soon. More 

Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Saturday morning 9am we were woken by two builders drilling directly outside our bedroom window, we spent the morning with the windows, blinds and curtains shut, and unable to sit outside on our veranda. Not the peaceful morning we were hoping for at all :( I tried to discuss this with the lady who took our payment, who quite frankly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
dplanetzog, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

My sincere apologies for the disturbance to your morning. The erection of the new gazebo on the terrace should not have commenced till 11am. The new facility will be a popular addition to the roof terrace where guests can enjoy relaxing in peace and quiet. Please contact me for me to issue you a voucher to return. David More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is stunning. We've been coming here off and on for 30 years - the pub, the restaurant, the holiday accommodation, and usually when we're this way we look in for a lunchtime pint and crab sandwich. The other day we dropped by for lunch. The beer is (still) excellent Cornish ales... but no crab sandwiches, expensive beer and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
dplanetzog, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

We hand pick all the fresh crab for the sandwiches, so sorry the kitchen had not kept up with huge demand on your visit. We will endeavor to keep pace with the demand in future. Apologies wont happen again More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been coming to the Port Gaverne Hotel for years (dinner as opposed to accommodation) because it is located in one of the most beautiful locations on the north coast. I was staggered at how much it has changed. If you like these plastic inner city pubs where all the 'local' waiting staff speak with Kiwi and Ausralian accents this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
dplanetzog, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

I would disagree that our prices are inflated, our kitchen is led by a michelin star chef who is an astoundingly great cook. The menu is forever changing reflecting all our bounty of local produce and seasons. The Antipodean front of house staff that work alongside our local staff are fanatstic, couteous and articulate, they are in fact a breath... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a lovely hotel in such a great location. We had a brilliant lunch today. My fish stew was one of the best I have ever had with loads of fish and a delicious sauce and samphire. My only reservation was not offered any bread.my wife had a delicious crab salad. It was expensive but I thought it was worth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dplanetzog, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. We pride ourselves on offering the very best food and customer service, welcome back on your next visit. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff who welcomed us on the evening were very pleasant and helpful, our room was nicely and newly decorated and clean, BUT our experience at breakfast was shocking. There was a knife covered in marmalade laid out for us, my coffee mug was not clean and the jug of coffee was splattered with food. Makes me wonder what the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dplanetzog, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

Apologies for this, we have never had this happen before and apply the highest standards to all practices in the business. We will howerver be more diligent in future. We have been awarded five stars scores on the doors by health and hygeine department which is the highest score attainable. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay