We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Port Gaverne hotels

Port Gaverne Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Gaverne PL29 3SQ, England
Hotel amenities
Port Gaverne Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com Travelocity
and 5 more sites!
82%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Port Gaverne
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    54
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
21
89
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely clean small hotel as part of a pub, Friendly staff and swift check in. All rooms upstairs and all have a different design with crisp linen and fluffy towels. Room cost included a hearty cooked breakfast. Food available from restaurant and bar downstairs. Only minor grumble was the car parking was limited and also off site so if you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your time in Cornwall. Yes, parking can be a bit tricky, for the future, it is always worth asking if we know of any little tucked away spaces! You never know what there might be! More

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are currently sitting on the residents' balcony enjoying lunch and watching the goings on on the beach.this is our 3rd stay here in 3 years and the hotel, staff and service never fail to disappoint. We popped into Port Isaac this morning and I had my photo taken with a 'Fisherman's Friend' who owns one of the shops in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

Welcome Back - it was lovely to see you again, if briefly! We hope you had a good time and look forward to seeing you later in the Summer. More

Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Saturday Lunch early April with relatives that live in Cornwall. They had not visited before and we visited "on spec". Neither we nor they were disappointed. The service was friendly and prompt. The menu and our selection included pub classics such as ham eggs and chips, haddock and chips and more "refined" offerings of seared scallops with chorizo and capers.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review, you have captured the hotel and our philosophy very neatly! Thank you and we hope to see you again soon. More

Launceston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I had lunch at this delightful hotel which is located within a stone's throw of the beach. Port Gaverne is much smaller and less touristy than it's neighbour, Port Isaac. As it was Mother's Day, the restaurant was busy but the staff were polite and friendly and the service was excellent. There is a slightly old fashioned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very swift review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your lunch and also that you enjoyed the old fashioned service. We have taken the approach of ' if it's not broken…..'. I know we were busy so we do appreciate everyones patience. Thank you again for your review. More

wiltshire england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself and four others ate at the restaurant last week (March 2014). Three of our group spoke little English. The owner could not have been more helpful as we were a bit of a fussy lot ! the food was presented beautifully and tasted great and he helped with translations and explanations. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review - it always boosts staff morale when we get good reviews. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you have lots of good memories to take home with you. More

Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We've just returned from a two night stay having not been here for over ten years. We weren't disappointed - the inn is very welcoming, the rooms are spacious and very clean and the food superb. The restaurant wasn't open on Thursday evening, which we didn't know about, but the bar food is excellent. Most importantly, it's a truly dog... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

Welcome back! We are so pleased that you have revisited us and enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again. More

Cornwall, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

The road from Port Isaac to Port Gaverne was washed away in the storms but don't let that prevent you from walking or driving around. Great atmosphere, great food and great beer. Beef in red wine pie was delicious, my partner was not so hungry and just had a starter of scallops but that was plenty, and no problem with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for travelling just a bit further to come and see us! I know the road is being worked on and it should hopefully be open again soon. It was great to see your review and good to know that you enjoyed your meal. More

Bude, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Excellent meal super service from the 2 young ladies will be a frequent Sunday lunch client and will try the restaurant when the days are longer. Even in February when the sun is shining you can sit outside in an area protected from the wind by thick hedges,m

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed you lunch with us, you picked the most wonderful, sunny day. Well done for finding us whilst the roads are closed! More

bath
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We are at different hotels and b&b,s this time every year for past 10years On arrival we were surprised to see what we found, this is not some top class hotel as in guide books and as described in some reviews. However it is a very nice pub, which if your thinking about it....is what it is. Parking is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and for bringing certain points to our attention. We apologise for the sub standard service during your stay. We have had words with the staff involved. Our licence stipulates where under 14 years can sit downstairs so our hands are tied in this respect. Yes, our car parking is not the easiest but it is... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights between Christmas and New Year, we were lucky enough to have a room with a sea view and shared balcony from which we were able to enjoy the stunning view. Our room was large and well furnished with a very comfortable bed and an enormous en-suite bathroom. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to be to your satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More

Been to Port Gaverne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Gaverne Hotel

Also Known As:
Port Gaverne Hotel Cornwall
Address: Port Gaverne PL29 3SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Gaverne
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Port Gaverne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Gaverne Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Port Gaverne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Gaverne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Port Gaverne Hotel to your Saves list