We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Port Gaverne Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Port Gaverne PL29 3SQ, England
Special Offer
ONLINE BOOKING
Port Gaverne Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Gaverne
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Curlew29 Bolton, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    125
    92
    48
    30
    16
See reviews for
54
168
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (311)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Called for liquid refreshments on a hot day in June after a few miles of stunning coastal footpath on my way back to Port Isaac. The hotel is in a stunning location overlooking the small harbour. I received a friendly welcome and sat in the beer garden enjoying my pint(s) of brilliant Skinners, Betty Stoggins bitter. I cannot comment on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Pretty hotel in lovely location . The hotel room was nicely decorated but small with a shared balcony . The bathroom had no shower except for hand held tap shower so had to have baths instead . Food was average .Overall felt the stay was poor value and hotel overpriced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Codsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel could be so good most of the staff are nice and work hard food is not bad but on our secon night they brought the wrong dish the girls did there best but the landlady insisted it was our fault .It is a shame she is there at all think she would be better off in a factory... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Found this hotel by chance, it's in a fantastic setting overlooking the small harbour. Lovely & quiet, much quieter than the busy Port Isaac. Had lunch in the garden, brilliant would recommend. Staff nice, hotel looks great & good menu choice. A great place if you want somewhere a little less busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only suposed to be staying for 1 night but stayed for 4,very friendly staff and very helpful,rooms spacious,food exellent,location breath takeing,very pleasent stay highly recomended,easy access to port issac and surrounding areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having booked this hotel in January and then read all the negative reviews I was really concerned and considered cancelling. This hotel is lovely, the staff, bedroom and restaurant all excellent. I considered the food in the restaurant to be priced fairly and in line with other restaurants in the area. A huge bonus was the nesspresso coffee machine in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your great review, it means everything to all our team who really do care so much. Freindliness, service and quality are always here to welcome you to our wonderful haven. We welcome you back very soon. More 

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a lovely hotel, in a superb location. The hotel was so quaint, pretty and clean. Hotel staff were friendly at all times and nothing was too much trouble. Being in a room at the top of the hotel, was initially a struggle with luggage (although I did decline the offer of help, so my own fault!) once in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, our hotel is built in a cove with steep inclines and is over three floors, as a consequence some rooms are a bit of a climb upstairs for our guests. We always offer assistance with luggage are are al;ways on hand to provide any help or service for all our guests. The menu reflects the... More 

fairford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a night on 25th June and were very happy with everything. Room 12 was lovely, views were stunning. Dinner was absolutely delicious, mussels were amazing. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was lovely. Would not hesitate in recommending and would stay again. Nicola and Jasper

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, we thank you from all our team for your kind and positive comments. Welcome back to our haven soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at many St Austell Brewery hotels and this property does not meet their normal high standards despite being more expensive than the others.The bathrooms are tired and no robes or water is supplied in the rooms. Did not have dinner as was told upon arrival that they were full that evening. The toast at breakfast was probably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David B, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we take them in a constructive manner. All the bathrooms bar one were totally refurbished during the winter/spring this year, I can only assume the room you wre in was the odd one out. However this room is of a high standard we have since introduced bathrobes and slippers for all our guests to enjoy,... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having read some recent negative reviews we were slightly apprehensive about what to expect. We were definitely not disappointed with this hotel. It's in a stunning location. The staff were all lovely and always there to help with any request. The standard of accommodation and food was excellent. We had breakfast and evening meals - both were very good. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dplanetzog, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure to serve you well. Many thanks and welcome back soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Gaverne
0.0 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.0 mi away
Slipway Hotel
Slipway Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#4 of 6 in Port Isaac
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay