We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Cromwell Road | Edinburgh, North Berwick EH39 4LZ, Scotland
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Rate this Hotel

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    334
    198
    75
    26
See reviews for
184
579
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1091)
  • Mar-May only
    (269)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (228)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (312)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (282)
All months
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from two nights here and had an amazing chilled out time did not want to leave. Staff were first class great service, food was fantastic nothing too much trouble. Great sea views and the Spa is worth spending lots of time in, Has a Lava Hot Massage from Lisa and it was so good thanks to Lisa and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Weve been to the Marine on numerous occations and have always found it excellent, the setting is second to none, the staff are very freindly but remain professional, our bedroom was very plush, everything you could ask for, complementary Wine and Chocalates. We ate in the restaurant and also in the bar, food was superb, we have lots of friends... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overnight stay 23rd March 2015. We did not gain access to our room until just before 4pm and waited in the reception area along with all the other guests awaiting room access. I had spa treatments booked for 4.30!. Table for dinner booked for 9.00pm and visit to lounge for pre dinner drinks at 8.15pm.Tried to order and after several... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel, room & spa ar lovely & i would stay again. However the service was disappointing. Having to wait an hour after check in before getting our room & having to ask to be served breakfast is poor!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Motherwell
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Food is excellent - the only saving grace at MacDonald Marine Hotel. Furnishings are tired to outright exhausted with threadbare areas on carpets. Hotel is generally clean with comfortable beds. Our room was much in need of a refurb although the bathroom had been done. It was the spa that broke us. Booked and paid for massages in advance but... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
fife
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location, excellent hotel lounges and spa, spectacular views, couteous and friendly staff. Beautiful views but long wait for service at bar due to understaffing, tables not cleared timeously. Slow and quirky service in fairly expensive restaurant for dinner, menu was limited choice almost identical both nights. Cheapest wine around £25 per bottle, 4 double gins and tonic came to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynn H, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Glensheesaint Thank you for your balanced review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit overall. As I have mentioned in my recent responses we had a very challenging weekend but this is not typical of the hotel. As you have mentioned the location is spectacular and our new head Chef is planning his menu changes... More 

Edinburgh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We are never coming back! We could not check in on time (delay 2.30h)We booked with dinner but no table was available and no one really cares.It was a great disappointment for a repeat customer.The service was very unprofessional.The receptionist spoke in a voice no one can understand.The quality of the hotel is poor.The pool area was rather "grubby". No... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lynn H, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sabine I am so sorry you were delayed on check in and that you did not have a great visit. We did experience a few challenges this weekend and we would be very happy to add a few extra elements to your next visit by way of apology. Please do let me know if we can try and redeem... More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I had an overnight stay at the Marine Hotel North Berwick 23/24th March 2015. The staff were very friendly and helpful through out the hotel. Dining staff excellent as was the food.we have been here twice before and have never been disappointed .the spa and pool are also great.Would definitely recommend IT

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynn H, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. Looking forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards Lynn Hood Regional Managing Director More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was an overnight stay for my Birthday was DBB with a 30 minute treatment at the spa. We arrived and were told we could not check in as our room was not ready this was at 2.45pm and check in was at 2pm so we were a little disappointed but we had our treatment at 3.30pm so the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a night recently. It's a beautiful location. We were booked in for DBB and access to full use of the spa and a 60 minute treatment. The spa itself is amazing, especially the outdoor jacuzzi, along with the steam room and fragrant shower. Our room had a sea view and was a perfect size, comfy bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynn H, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 1993_Traveller Thank you for your recent review and for the balance in your comments. I am sorry you had to chase for so many things and despite the food being enjoyed by your party the service let it down. Please accept my sincere apologies for this. I do hope given you had such a nice time generally that you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (131)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question