We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 North Berwick hotels

Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cromwell Rd | Edinburgh, North Berwick EH39 4LZ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
76%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Denise T Llandudno, United Kingdom
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    239
    126
    50
    19
See reviews for
139
408
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location is really beautiful overlooking a golf course and the Firth of Forth ! We arrived after 4.00p.m. after a day of sightseeing only to be told that the room was not ready! it was supposed to be ready at 2.00p.m. but the excuse was that there had been a wedding the previous day and the guests had not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My friends and I have just returned from a girl's spa weekend at MacDonald Marine Hotel and we were all very disappointed at the general level of service the entire weekend from when we arrived to when we departed.They had mixed up our room booking which meant one of my friends ended up sleeping on a bedsettee in the room.There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldRegionalGM, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Pam186525 I am really sorry we did not live up to your expectations on your recent spa weekend. I knew our Housekeeper had tried very hard to resolve your bedroom allocation problems as the details were not clear there was to be three people in one room, she made a number of options including a single room for the... More

glasgow
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location is superb, there has been considerable obvious investment in the spa area while Kirstie, as a receptionist does a marvellous job! How sad, therefore, that the rest of the team showed themselves to be untrained and uncaring. We had booked a family room with two extra beds and with a connecting double room to a sea facing double... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldRegionalGM, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Borden25 We always appreciate feedback from our guests, however as we discussed and confirmed in our corrospondence the facts you have outlined do not accurately reflect your stay. I am sorry due to business levels once you had used the bathrobes we could not replace them with fresh ones after initial use and apologises that the spa lounge was... More

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Macdonald Marine is an ideal location whether you just want to chill, whether you want to be chilled and pampered (spa) or whether you want to enjoy the lovely local towns and villages or whether you want to stray into Edinburgh (30 mins), Holy Island (60 mins) or Newcastle (a wee bit more). As for golf, mere minutes away.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MacdonaldRegionalGM, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Norriel Thank you for your 5 star review of The Macdonald Marine Hotel it is very much appreciated by all the team. Your tip of front facing room is a good one certainly worth the upgraded rate and yes great for all things you mentioned and many more things in east lothian from castles to museums to lovely walks.... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed at the MacDonald Marine for an overnight break. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had an Executive Twin Room. It had a lovely view and an enormous bathroom which had a lot of wasted space. The room was comfortable if a little on the tight side. Beds very comfortable. Meal at night was good but had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldRegionalGM, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jean Thank you for your very positive review of the Marine Hotel in North Berwick. We are delighted you enjoyed your executive room overlooking the sea, the West Links and Bass Rock. Due to the age of the building our rooms vary in size so some are a little smaller than others and we hope to start a general... More

Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned after a 4 night stay at this hotel. This is our third visit in as many years. It is a lovely old traditional building in a great location. We did however notice this time that the furnishings in the lounge area and bar were looking very tired and many chairs and sofas threadbare!!!! We took the only room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MacdonaldRegionalGM, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Judith Thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your wonderful view from your room although I was surprised you felt there was not enough draw/shelf space as I find all our rooms have plenty of space for guests staying a few nights. We agree some of the furnishings are in need of updating and we have... More

Worksop, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Caring staff, second night i took ill they sent for an ambulance I never got back to the hotel but they sent me a lovely bag of all the breakfast pastries and buns done up in a foil swan with my husband.Our bedroom was beautiful and big and believe me i dont get the nick name Goldilocks for nothing.Will certainly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldRegionalGM, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mary Wow praise indeed, thank you. We hope you are feeling better and certainly look forward to seeing you in the near future. Tip - corner suites are amazing. More

Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights in April 2014 and it was fab! The double room was spacious and the bed was large and very comfortable. The en-suite was large and luxurious, spotlessly clean. We had a view out of the front of the hotel, but I would recommend asking for a sea view on the other side of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldRegionalGM, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Stephen Thank you so much for your great review, we are delighted you found your room spacious and comfortable and I would agree it is paying a little extra for that amazing sea view although some of the rooms are slightly smaller unless you go for a suite or four poster room. I am pleased we could wow you... More

Leuven
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautiful old hotel in a great location with wonderful views over the golf links and the Firth of Forth to the ancient Kingdom of Fife. The staff were efficient and helpful and the food and service were excellent. Our room was roomy and had all that you would expect in an up-market hotel. I have no hesitation in recommending... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MacdonaldRegionalGM, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kasseistamper Thank you for your great review of The Marine Hotel, we are pleased your room had everything you expected and was 5 star for cleanliness, we are delighted that food and service was excellent. Thank you for recommending us, our location is stunning and are people are our number asset. see you again soon More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on our honeymoon and it was amazing! The spa is bliss, heated outdoor pool, aahhhh. Our room was lovely with a view of the sea and the beautiful nature. The restaurant was nice, maybe not the best time to try a steak for the 1st time. But we enjoyed the experience. Breakfast was fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MacdonaldRegionalGM, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear RiggaThe Mighty Thank you so much for your 5 star review of The Marine Hotel we are delighted that we helped make your honeymoon amazing. The view from the front of hotel is amazing and worth paying a little extra for, at least I think so, although rooms at back can be a little more spacious if you like... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

Address: Cromwell Rd | Edinburgh, North Berwick EH39 4LZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Marine Hotel North Berwick
Macdonald Marine Hotel And Spa
Hotel Macdonald Marine
Berwick Hotel Marine North
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa North Berwick, Scotland

136 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in North Berwick with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa boasts everything you could need for a short break on the Scottish coast. Our luxurious spa offers rejuvenating Elemis treatments performed by highly trained therapists. Experience award-winning dining in our restaurant or relax in our lounge while taking in the view over the Firth of Forth. Your guaranteed a great night sleep in our stylish bedrooms, exactly what you need after a day on one of the many surrounding world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
83

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer