We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

4.0 of 5 Cromwell Rd | Edinburgh, North Berwick EH39 4LZ, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    255
    144
    56
    20
See reviews for
147
446
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (860)
  • Mar-May only
    (217)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (229)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (232)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (182)
All months
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from the dinner, b&b spa break with friends and was very disappointed. The service at the spa was slow (40 min wait from arriving at the spa to eventually getting to use the facilities) and poorly organised, ordered bentobox for lunch for £12.50 which was poor quality/missing/wrong items and overpriced. The treatments were good and the girls very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Have stayed twice before and loved it, this time, breakfast took an hour to be served and was substandard and undercooked, with no apologies or explanations from management. The kitchen was avergaing one table every 12 minutes!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duns, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Total disaster from start to finish. Central booking was a fiasco, calls not returned, charged for upgraded room as needed disabled facilities. Spa did not return calls. Wheelchair users can't enter through front door, need to enter through Spa side door. After entry into hotel, wheelchairs don't fit in the lift, have to enter lift and then manoeuvre and turn... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
U K
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A grand Victorian building, overlooking the golf course and Firth of Forth with views of Craigleith Island and the Bass Rock. We booked an executive double room, it was so small, I questioned whether it was actually a double room. The double bed was the smallest I had ever seen, there was only 1 bedside table, 1 easy chair. Could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Polmont, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the hotel. We arrived on Monday and our room was ready on our early arrival. We were on the third floor which was fine as we had the lift available to us. We were there as a family with our 6 week old daughter so a lift was essential. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldRegionalGM, General Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Emma Thank you so much for your very detailed and positive review of The Marine Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed the stunning location, views from your room, the food quality and outstanding service We look forward to welcoming you back to The Marine & Spa in the near future, please call me directly to arrange your boking so... More

Livingston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We love the Marine & North Berwick, but the service lets it down. The check in experience was not good. The dinner was disappointing as the food had been kept under a hotplate and had dried out the food. Breakfast took 1 hour 30 mins, think they lost the order

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MacdonaldRegionalGM, General Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Alma I am so sorry we let you down on this occasion as a regular guest I hope you know this is not our normal standard of service. We do hope you return as the rown is wonderful and the hotel is in the perfect setting. More

Longniddry
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were in an executive rooms and the beds were so small, so ask for King or Queen size bed when booking........!!!!!! All the staff were very helpful. Book at the front of the hotel as the views are excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MacdonaldRegionalGM, General Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Brian Thank you for your review, as you say we are fortunate to have an amazing outlook over the West Links and out to Fidra and Bass Rock. I am not sure which room you stayed in however majority off our rooms are king size beds and the smallest are queens and this is only due to size or... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a difficult review to do, the hotel is beautiful, the location is exceptional, the room was amazing but the wait (hour half) for dinner AND breakfast let the experience down. Arrived just after 3pm to be advised the room was not ready. Booked a table for dinner for 7.30pm by 9pm we still had not received our main... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MacdonaldRegionalGM, General Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Laura Thank you for your review we are pleased you believe our hotel is beautiful as we do also. I am really sorry that our restaurant service on this occasion let us down, we are very aware that we understaffed over a few days in half term week after very late pick up of room bookings, something we should... More

Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed for 1 night and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and the spa facilities, our evening meal was excellent quality, the location lends itself to a relaxing break away from it all. North Berwick has some great independent shops and cosy cafes to fill an afternoon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldRegionalGM, General Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 880cjs111 Thank you for your review we are all delighted you enjoyed the Marine Hotel and our spa facilities. It was great you got time to relax and enjoyed the quality of our dinner. We do hope you return again to enjoy both the hotel, spa and the local shops and cafes which are all excellent. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked this for my family October break for two nights. We had to pay for two rooms as no family rooms are available. I'm glad I had some Macdonald hotel vouchers as the stay for ' room only' accommodation for 5 of us was £796!! The room was dated but clean... But Not ready until 4 pm. Face cloth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MacdonaldRegionalGM, General Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Christine I am really sorry you do not feel we are family friendly, we have many family's stay through out the year who are very happy with the facilities offered and the location to many great attractions in and around North Berwick. Our wines by the glass start from £5.65 to £10.25 for 175ml glasses, however if you have... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

Address: Cromwell Rd | Edinburgh, North Berwick EH39 4LZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Marine Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel North Berwick
Hotel Macdonald Marine
Berwick Hotel Marine North
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa North Berwick, Scotland

142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (126)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay