We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arch House

Mill Road, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1DB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells-next-the-Sea
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Arch House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

Stayed here two nights on a recent walking trip along the Norfolk Coast. The welcome was warm when we arrived wet and muddy. The room in the central house on the second floor. It was quite crammed and the bathroom was very small. The toilet used a macerator system and was quite noisy. The room was warm and the towels... More 

Helpful?
Thank Primros
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

We paid £85 per night for a very small double room with an uncomfortable bed - it creaked every time you turned over. The ensuite was so small you could not sit on the toilet and close the door!! The waste was disposed of via a macerator system which over flowed on the last night we were staying. Not our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hilary O
Kate B, Owner at Arch House, responded to this review

During your three night stay with us you made no complaints about your room, bed or en suite. Had you done so we would have offered you an alternative as it is our wish that all guests have a comfortable and happy stay. An hour before you were due to depart, you blocked the toilet, repeatedly flushed it and flooded... More 

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

Stayed one night this week and found it excellent with very helpful staff who made you feel very comfortble. Stayed in a garden room with access to the courtyard which was most enjoyable and made it feel more than a B&B. Rooms were clean with everything you would want for a. B&B. Breakfast was excellent with a choice for your... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave392
Great Dunmow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night only this week with my mum Great find. Had the downstairs twin room...great friendly welcome,spacious room and nice & bright. The beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast was most enjoyable and served by a lovely lady...we would definitely return

Helpful?
Thank Dunmow567
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

Originally booked for three nights, but added an additional one on at the start. Therefore had a room change after the first night, so I can comment on the older & newer bits of the establishment. The upstairs room, over the front door, was somewhat 'dated' needed a bit of livening up, small shower room with one of those abysmally... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1777NT
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Arch house for 2 nights in September. Great location, short walk to the town. Car park had ample spaces, short walk through the garden to the reception. No one was at the desk at first but a friendly member of staff checked us in whilst she waited for the owner. We stayed in room 10, one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank emily s
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

We stayed here for four nights in room 7, described as a garden room, but it was a first floor room with stairs that led to a small courtyard that was pleasant to sit in, but if the weather was poor from your room you only have a view of rooftops. The room was small with a tiny wardrobe and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Di B
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

We had a room with entrance from a decked area where we had a table and two chairs, perfect for those warm summer nights we all long for. A ten minute walk to the shops and a further five down to the harbour, Arch house is ideally situated for spending time locally or travelling to nearby attractions. Parking is adequate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
BLACKPOOL
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015

Nice location for visiting Holcome Hall & surrounding area of Wells. Great countryside for walking or biking with several small villages to visit. We spent all day biking between them with the odd stop for refreshments! Friendly owners, clean room, nice breakfast and great weather for 2 of our 3 days there. Car park on site which always helps. Lots... More 

Helpful?
Thank DAVEG62
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015

We stayed at Arch House for two nights with our two young children. The Crows Nest was perfect for this. The children loved having their own "den" above our room. Staff were all friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious.

Helpful?
Thank AJP1973
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells-next-the-Sea
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 1 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 stars 918 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
14.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Strange Arms Hotel
14.2 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities