We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mill House

Northfield Lane, Wells-next-the-Sea, England
Mill House
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    7
    14
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My twin sister and I booked this for our birthday treat after looking at the website. On arrival we were disappointed to find that all was not as we expected. Although we had been informed after our booking that we would have to take our breakfast in a separate building, the pub down the road, when we arrived we found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheGlobeatWells, Owner at Mill House, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had such a disappointing experience with us. I have to be honest and say that in theory you should have been told about breakfast being served around the corner when you booked, not afterwards. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

We stayed with friends for two nights in May 2015. Unfortunately not all details are as shown on the website http://www.millhouse-wells.co.uk/ Breakfast is not served in the house, it is served in a nearby hotel. We were only informed after paying a 50% deposit. Luckily it was not raining either morning. The website clearly shows a breakfast room in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TheGlobeatWells, Owner at Mill House, responded to this review

Thanks for your candid review. The website has been updated for some reason this was missed. We introduced the changes to breakfast some months ago and believed we had informed all guests of this change, apologies for not catching you with the information. This change however, has been very successful and guests have been very happy with the better breakfast... More 

Nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

We had a very pleasant stay with our young baby for one night. I was very impressed with the size of the room (plenty of space to put up our travel cot), the cleanliness and the friendly feel of the room. I would just recommend looking at the security of the window though as the lock wasn't working properly (I'd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheGlobeatWells, Owner at Mill House, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, i am so pleased you enjoyed staying at Mill House and that you enjoyed every mouthful of your breakfast! The team are always warm and welcoming and i am glad that you had a lovely time with us! More 

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Eight of us stayed for 2 nights over the weekend. We 2 had a large king sized room with en suite with bath and separate shower. Lovely old house which Sophie the manager said is to be refurbished over the winter. The decor is faded in parts but all is beautifully clean. Excellent breakfast with local produce. The atmosphere is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at Mill House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting and looking after your group. I'm so pleased to hear you all enjoyed yourselves - we had lots of fun while you were here too. I hope we will see you again following our refurbishment. Thanks, Sophie More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Ideally situated within easy walking distance of town and seafront. Spacious, clean, well appointed rooms. We were offered the choice of 3 - all with king-size beds, quality linen and towels, mini fridges and well proportioned en-suites with baths. Rooms (including the dining room) overlook a large tranquil garden. Breakfast was tasty, offering 'extras', such as dried fruit and yogurt.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at Mill House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your wonderful review of Mill House. We are so glad you would recommend us to other travellers. We are touched by your kind words and very much look forward to meeting you again soon. Thanks, Sophie More 

Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 via mobile

Mill House is in a lovely position in Wells, this is the second time we have stayed there. Would definitely recommend to friends as a lovely B&B. we stayed on the 2nd floor, lovely view of the garden, and a very comfortable bed. We will return and look forward to the refurbishments.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at Mill House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your lovely review of Mill House. We very much enjoyed meeting you, and we too hope you will be back to see us following the refurbishments. Thanks, Sophie More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Lovely room spacious well decorated .Breakfast staff very accommodating ,kind and polite .Very enjoyable breakfast produce used a very high standard.Thank you for a great six days. Wells a relaxing and picturesque place to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at Mill House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mill House. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you and we do hope you will come again. Sophie More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We had a quiet stay for three nights at the top of the house. The room was quiet, the bed big and comfortable. We didn't use the fresh milk provided for tea/coffee but it was thoughtful: those little UHT packs are somehow depressing. Chairs at the foot of the bed gave us a place to sit and enjoy a view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at Mill House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mill House. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. The top rooms are indeed fantastic, they offer a great view over our large garden - quite unique in Wells! Our garden does occasionally play host to a few colourful locals. The birds do like a good sing... More 

Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed for one night.Perfect location for the quayside. Peaceful and welcoming with views of the garden. Good selection of teas and coffees in the room...a welcome touch was fresh milk in the fridge...much appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at Mill House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mill House. It is very thoughtful of you to write such kind words, especially after just one night with us! I do hope you will return to Mill House in the future, we would love to have you stay with us again. Thanks from everyone at Mill House. Sophie More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Just returned from a lovely stay at the Mill House. Nice big bedrooms, gorgeous garden and only a short walk from the town. Staff were extremely friendly, was like visiting friends! The breakfasts are lovely. So much choice of cooked items, done however you would like. Perhaps my only suggestion would be to have a bowl of fresh fruit at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at Mill House, responded to this review

Hello Creaseys! Thank you so much for your kind review, it has put a smile on everyone's faces here at Mill House. We thoroughly enjoyed having you here, it was like having friends to stay! We are so glad you enjoyed our breakfasts - I have taken on board your recommendation. I truly hope you will visit us again in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities