We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Wells-next-the-sea

Church Plain, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1EQ , England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Wells-next-the-sea
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

Modern clean hostel with a friendly gentleman on reception. Good facilities and excellent showers. Toilets and bedrooms were clean as were shared kitchen and lounge. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Helpful?
Thank alice r
Wellshostelmanager, Manager at YHA Wells-next-the-sea, responded to this review

Thank you so much. We enjoyed your review and are glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

Regular warden was away, and the guest one surprised me by asking for 2 forms of ID. Odd that the YHA didn't tell me I would need any at all - and maybe odder still that despite not having any, I was still allowed to stay. I mean, why bother asking/demanding and then not worrying about it? Hostel is very... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Stanley5899
Wellshostelmanager, Manager at YHA Wells-next-the-sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please do make sure you bring 1 form of photo ID or 2 debit/credit cards with matching names as per our new check in policy. All our bathrooms are now working and were fixed asap and it is regrettable that they were blocked during your stay by hand paper towels. We are glad you enjoyed... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

Good location, well equipped kitchen, very helpful staff, clean rooms and plenty to do even on a rainy day. Close to the beach and plenty of shops and restaurants. Check in is from 17:00 so try not to arrive too early if you have lots of luggage.

Helpful?
Thank Izzy T M
Wellshostelmanager, Manager at YHA Wells-next-the-sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your trip. As a small hostel, we have limited staff so have to restrict our opening times - please do check on the website as opening times do vary in the network. For those wishing to arrive early and leave luggage, please call or e mail the hostel in... More 

Swineshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

I stayed here for one night with friends and we were all very impressed. The hostel is very clean and beds comfortable. The communal kitchen is very well equipped and always clean. The ablutions areas are also very clean and there are plenty of showers so we never had to wait. The hostel is very well placed to explore the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank scottlou
Wellshostelmanager, Manager at YHA Wells-next-the-sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. More 

Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

We had a good welcome from the assistant warden who had made up our bed. We had the en suite room on the ground floor which was very comfortable. The warden is good on keeping the kitchen clean and the eating area was next door to the kitchen. Only self catering in this hostel. Good base for walking, bird watching... More 

Helpful?
Thank William Raleigh P
Wellshostelmanager, Manager at YHA Wells-next-the-sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your trip to Wells. We now make up all beds ready for our guests and have a good selection of small dorm rooms, and private rooms for families, including 3 rooms with double beds. We hope to welcome you again. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

The Manager Mark checked us in Aprox 6pm on Saturday Night - All good .. We retuned later about 12.30 PM, only to hear our next door neighbours were arguing, the man was shouting, swearing, banging around in an abusive manner.. We went down to reception which had an emergency number, but the reply we got from the lady was... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank Sea752
UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

I booked two days in advance via Booking.com having checked the weather was fine for our one night/two day stay. The accommodation left was either extremely expensive and/or was a drive from the town. I therefore booked the YH (the last time was over 30 years ago!) for me and hubby as it was only £55 for a private double... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DowningUk
Wellshostelmanager, Manager at YHA Wells-next-the-sea, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at YHA Wells and managed to visit the beautiful beaches and dine out too. Please do come back and visit - we do have WIFI now! More 

Oxford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in this friendly yh. It has recently been refurbished and offers comfortable accommodation in 9 rooms. Great size with 9 rooms and lounge as well as quiet room. Really good location with 5 min walk across the town to harbour. I highly recommend it. And North Norfolk is just beautiful!

Helpful?
Thank zuzicoco
Wellshostelmanager, Manager at YHA Wells-next-the-sea, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

The YHA is wells is very friendly, safe and modern. We stayed here over a quiet period (end of April - but weather fab!) and everything was great. The showers/toilet facilities were some of the best we have come across in hostels all around the world. having a nice hot shower really makes a difference when you are 'at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank AliceB_NZ
Wellshostelmanager, Manager at YHA Wells-next-the-sea, responded to this review

We thank you for your kind review. Thank you for highlighting our modern facilities in our hostel. We are glad you enjoyed your trip to YHA Wells. More 

Norwich, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

This is a nice, small hostel, quite recently opened and still in good condition. Our room was fine and we had no complaint at all about the facilities. However, it was a real bind not ebign able to check in before 5pm. We and several other people were waiting on a hot day. We stayed at Sheringham the previoous day... More 

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Helpful?
1 Thank Mojodo_UK
Wellshostelmanager, Manager at YHA Wells-next-the-sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a nice time at Wells and found the hostel pleasant. Unfortunately due to the size of the hostel compared to Sheringham, we only employ 1 person hence we are unable to offer the longer opening hours of a bigger site with more staff. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells-next-the-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 1 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 stars 918 reviews
4.1 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Strange Arms Hotel
10.4 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 4 in Holt
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#15 of 26 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay