We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bell Hotel

King Street, Thetford IP24 2AZ, England
Hotel amenities
Bell Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Thetford
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
OutDog Basildon, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    89
    143
    74
    58
    46
See reviews for
45
199
12
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (410)
  • Mar-May only
    (111)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (105)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (102)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (92)
All months
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We only did the one night with breakfast. In every aspect the staff were fantastic and could not be more helpful and friendly. They always smiled, were approachable and pleasant. Breakfast was good in relation to its standard and what was on offer. The room was comfortable and clean. However, some thinks needed tweaking. The shower head and attachment was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the service you received, your comments with regards to the room itself will be taken on board and looked into. We hope to see you again soon. Clare and the team at The Bell More 

Thetford, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Yuck ! This is the best way to describe the lunch I have just been serve up by The Bell in Thetford. There was only one girl in the bar when we arrived she quickly took our order and payment, that was the only quick thing about this lunchtime. It was very quiet, (now we know why) we ordered jacket... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so sorry that your lunch was not enjoyable for you yesterday, i will look into what happened on the shift to make sure our guests experience the best possible service when visiting. Clare and the team at The Bell More 

Travelers are raving about these Thetford hotels

Lee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the 2nd weekend I have just spent at the Bell Hotel, Thetford. It is old and needs a makeover but today I have just had the most ridiculous breakfast dining experience I have ever had in any hotel that I have stayed in! I was staying in the hotel as a 'business' customer for 3 nights and during... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry for the issues you experienced on your stay, i would really appreciate it if you could contact me directly at The Bell on 01842 754455. I look forward to hearing from you. Clare More 

Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

THETFORD THE BELL Booked to stay at THE BELL for 3 nights, found it difficult to get to the car park, the staff had no Idea how to get to it, so after trial and error finally got it. parked and went into the Reception area, no one even acknowledged us standing there so said loudly “HELLO ANYONE ABOUT”? a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am so sorry your stay at The Bell was littered with issues and wasn't dealt with very well by my team. May i ask that you call me directly on 01842 754455 to discuss further. Clare More 

Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked in for two night, at a chain of hotels I have used before and was very satisfied with the standards provided. The Bell, however missed the standards by a mile. The Accomodation was in poor repair, half painted room , no cups for the in room for the tea making facility and no remote for the TV as customers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry the standards were not up to scratch on your visit, i would very much appreciate it if you were to contact me directly at The Bell to discuss further so I can look into the issues raised. Clare and the team at The Bell More 

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were worried by the mixed reviews of the Bell and so were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived for our 3-night stay. Staff were welcoming and friendly, and Room 42 (a superior room) had a 4-poster bed and a leather sofa and was, in general, excellent. It appeared to have been refurbished fairly recently and had a modern and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you had a great time with us, we take all comments on board and I can assure the cobwebs are now gone! See you again soon. Clare and the team at The Bell More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent one night here on business, the room (27) has no WiFi after checking with reception I was informed that it is "Hit and Miss" in the hotel, in this day and age this is totally unacceptable. The room is tired and dirty dust on all fixtures and fixings, the shower clip was broken the sink taps were broken and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear your visit with us wasn't a pleasant one, all of your comments have been taken on board and we shall ensure that all the issues raised will be dealt with. Clare and the team at The Bell More 

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You can't beat the Bell's location in Thetford (not that there's very much to Thetford). I booked one of their superior rooms and it was excellent. Plenty of space. Very nice bath. Everything seemed well cleaned and maintained. I'd be happy to stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that your visit with us was enjoyable, your comments will be passed on to the team. We look forward to seeing you soon at The Bell for more of the same! Clare and the team More 

Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fortunately for us we had booked a table, for Fathers Day, several people were turned away. We are local and have never had a bad meal there. Our waiter Oliver, was attentive and knowledgeable, without being intrusive. My wife and I opted for the Sunday roast, which was cooked to perfection, if I am honest, I would like to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to The Bell, your kind words will be passed onto Oliver and the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Clare and the team at The Bell More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived for breakfast at 0850. Managed to to place my order by 0920 and shortly after grabbed an unwanted pot of tea (see below). Despite being told once or twice my order will be with me shortly nothing had arrived by 0950 so I departed. It wasn't what I would call busy, but the system seemed somewhat chaotic, you'd never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry the breakfast service was a little slow for you when you stayed, this is something I will look into and ensure it doesn't happen again. Clare and the team at The Bell More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay