We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Thetford hotels

Bell Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Street, Thetford IP24 2AZ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bell Hotel to your Saves list
Bell Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
59%
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Thetford
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Martin D Gillingham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    100
    59
    41
    30
See reviews for
28
154
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed at many Old English Inns on business and although they are all adhere to certain standards some are better than others. This was one of the best. I look for three things when I stay which are: Good Shower, Good Mattress and peace and quiet. This inn passed with 2 out of 3. Unfortunately the mattress needed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As a regular hotel visitor, I've stayed in this one a few times, yet have never left a review. I feel now I need to say what a difference I've noticed in the last two weeks! A month or so ago on a visit here the staff seemed really not that interested in what they were doing, there seemed no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you found the hotel good value and you feel that you could recommend us. We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience. I will also personaly pass on your comments regarding Paul. Once again thanks for... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Been meeting friends and family at the Bell for a few years now and, although the food has never been great, the location and surroundings are perfect for catching up. However, the last two visits have been particularly bad. Today was the worst and we won't be going back! The service was awful- plates were just left and we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank-you for taking the time out of your day to share your thoughts about our restaurant. We do recognise that there are certain issues that need addressing. We do take all feedback seriously whether good or bad, It is only with feedback like yours that enables us to improve our offering for future guests. However, it delights me... More

Bedale, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a week-end break as it is convenient for Snetterton Racing circuit (about ten minutes away) . Booked using a Daily Mail code so two nights B&B for two of us cost an amazing £59.80 - that was cheaper than the local Travelodge was charging for room only!! Lovely building ; room was a fair size , clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you found the hotel good value and had the pleasure too meet cheery Linda during breakfast, and your right she does make all the difference. We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience and were able... More

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is part of the Old English Inn chain of hotels owned by the brewery Green King and having had a very pleasant stay in one of their hotels in the Cotswolds we were looking forward to our visit. First impressions were that no one was in charge, check in was a bit chaotic and having stayed there for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, please accept my apologies for the short-comings you experienced during stay with us. I will share all of your feedback with the rest of the team. It’s with feedback like yours that we are able to better improve the service we offer to our guests. It’s good to hear that the majority of your stay... More

Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have just come back from a short break at The Bell. On first sight the building looks lovely - a very old building with a more modern extension. We had asked to have a room in the newer part of the building as my husband has walking difficulties and we were advised that the staircase was much better than in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank-you for taking the time out of your day to share your thoughts about our hotel. we do recognise that there are certain issues that need addressing. We do take all feedback seriously whether good or bad, It is only with feedback like yours that enables us to improve our offering for future guests. However, it delights me... More

Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room on the shabby side, bathroom dirty, mould on shower head and around taps. Toilet roll on window sill as holder broken, stains on the floor where toilet brush once stood. Unable to sit in the bar as its small with inadequate seating 1 hour wait at beakfast because they forgot about us others also complaining about lack of staff.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank-you for taking the time out of your day to share your thoughts about our hotel. We do recognise that there are certain issues that need addressing. We do take all feedback seriously whether good or bad, It is only with feedback like yours that enables us to improve our offering for future guests. However, it delights me... More

stamford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for the weekend along with our golden retriever. No charge was made for the dog. Dogs were not allowed in the restaurant and frowned on in the bar but we could sit in the lounge with our dog and eat dinner there. I thought the breakfast and the food were fine and good value. It's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad both you Yogi were made too feel welcome and you both enjoyed your stay. We all look forward to welcoming both you and Yogi back in the future More

Wales, UK
2 reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Easy parking, lovely room, huge bed! Breakfast was great and included in price. In centre if thetfords small town. Amazing customer service from Paul, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Paul x will definitely visit here again and stay at thus hotel .

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you found the hotel good value and you feel that you could recommend us. We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience. Once again thanks for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. We all look forward... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Bell occupies a prime position in the town and is ideally situated for exploring the attractions of Thetford. Our double room was very comfortable and we enjoyed the full English breakfast which was included in the price. No hesitation in recommending The Bell.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you found the hotel good value and you feel that you could recommend us. We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience. Once again thanks for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. We all look forward... More

Been to Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Hotel

Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Thetford
Bell Hotel Thetford, Norfolk
Address: King Street, Thetford IP24 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Thetford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.