We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stuart House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
35 Goodwins Road, King's Lynn PE30 5QX, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stuart House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Stuart House Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    74
    60
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
25
79
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (167)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Grimsby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here after visiting relatives in Dereham Norfolk. Was a beer festival going on in the grounds of the hotel and was quite nice to get involved with it all., and enjoyed a few different ales on display...........very friendly and clean - nice modern bedroom and bright bathroom which was a good size., had a snack in the restaurant in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartHouse, General Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the beer festival and the band. We very much hope to welcome you back at new year . More 

Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I booked two double rooms which were both well equipped and furnished. The staff were friendly and helpful and we all enjoyed the well cooked breakfast. We used the hotel as a base to visit Houghton Hall and the James Turrell art installations. It was a pity we chose the worst day of the summer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartHouse, General Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to West Norfolk and the Stuart House. We apologise you found the room a bit cold, we hope you found the heater in you room cupboard to take the chill off the room. We hope you will visit us again when in West Norfolk and hopefully the sun... More 

Leicester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having booked a double room it was somewhat of a shock to be told that the staff had made a mistake and entered it as a single reservation. Fortunately there had been a late cancellation for a twin room and this was altered to meet our requirements - otherwise the entire theme of this review would have been completely different.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartHouse, General Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologise once again for the mix up with your room booking and we thank you for your undertstanding and are pleased to hear you would book again. We very much look forward to welcoming you back if you visit the area again. More 

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here as a group of seniors and found the food and service excellent. The staff helpfully and friendly and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. Everybody in our group loved it. We will certainly come again and highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartHouse, General Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and the food good. We do not normally have complaints about our Guiness so we are not sure what was wrong that evening, maybe it was near the end of the barrel but we sincerely apologise that you found it... More 

Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was travelling with my wife and daughter for my daughter's graduation in Cambridge and we needed to stay in King's Lynn for a night. Stuart House is a small hotel not far from the city centre and has a nice garden but the weather was not good enough to enjoy it. The staff were efficient and friendly. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartHouse, General Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and the food good. We do not normally have complaints about our Guiness so we are not sure what went wrong that evening, maybe it was the end of the barrel and we sincerely apologise that you found it unpleasant. I hope you... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Just spent the worst weekend ever in this hotel. The service in the restaurant was poor due to a young inexperienced waitress encouraging the ladies in our party to pass the plates along and scrape them. I DO NOT SCRAPE PLATES IN RESTAURANTS. I was therefore made to feel bad by the waitress who kept praising the ladies for doing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartHouse, General Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear of problems during your stay via Tripadvisor for which I can only apologise. We like all our customers to be happy and enjoy their stay here and friendliness of the staff. As you were part of a group boking, all eating together, it was purely an oversight by the waitress as she hadn’t noticed your... More 

Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Stuart House were very good to accommodate us at short notice , even converting a room into a family room for us . We didn't stay in the main hotel but in the Lodge which is a separate building at the end of the drive . I was a little worried about this at first as we have a small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StuartHouse, General Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. It is always lovely to hear such positive remarks. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

Like so many other people have done, we were going to have a look at Sandringham and so we chose this hotel to stay over in Kings Lynn. It is only a small independent hotel, compared with the norm of hundreds of rooms in the chain places, and it showed because the staff were so very helpful and nice. Although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StuartHouse, Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at the Stuart house. I will pass the comments about the taps onto our maintenance man. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

This is the 5th time we have stayed here and on previous occasions it was excellent. there seems to have been a change in staff and not enough of them, two people running the bar/reception/restaurant. The vegetarian options on the menu are sadly lacking which did not used to be the case, I had a tart this time round which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StuartHouse, General Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for yor review. I am sincereley sorry that your return visit did not live up to your previous visits. Most of the ream have been here for several years so hopefully you saw some familiar faces. I have made staff aware of your comments and we will act on your concerns. Hopefully we will see you again in... More 

Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

we booked a three night leisure break so we could visit Sandringham and West Norfolk generally. We particularly looked for a centrally located hotel, wishing to be near shops, restaurants etc,. Stuart House advertises itself as being "hidden in the centre of the small medieval market town..". Well, it is certainly not in the centre. More in the leafy suburbs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
StuartHouse, General Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Regretfully it seems the Stuart House was not to your liking, unlike so many of the positive reveiws we have. We sincerely hope you find a hotel better suited to your needs on you next visit to Kings Lynn. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King's Lynn
0.7 mi away
The Duke's Head Hotel
The Duke's Head Hotel
#8 of 14 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Knights Hill Hotel
5.8 mi away
Congham Hall Country House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn King's Lynn
Premier Inn King's Lynn
#7 of 14 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#9 of 14 in King's Lynn
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
12.5 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay