We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 King's Lynn hotels

The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 - 6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel to your Saves list
The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
82%
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
tom l Holland-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    131
    39
    13
    5
See reviews for
31
176
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holland-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is centrally placed on the side of the magnificent Tuesday Market Place and has been completely renovated inside and out. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and we upgraded to an even larger room and bathroom that did not disappoint, reached by a magnificent stairway. Afternoon tea, dinner ,and breakfast were served very efficiently and pleasantly and reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David W, General Manager at The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tom l Thank you for posting a lovely review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you were delighted with the refurbishment and the services we provided. I hope that you will come and visit us again soon where I am sure you will have an equally enjoyable... More

Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was clean. The bed and linen ok. Coffe, tea and biscuits are offered. The towels are quit old. My stay was for work, and in the reception we were asked to pay our stay during the check-in, which is unusual and abnormal. Additionnally, the welcome was cold. I stayed 3 days, and durind the breakfasts there was always... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David W, General Manager at The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SeCh_81 Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor, and thank you also for choosing our hotel for your stay. I was sorry to read your comments about your welcome and breakfast, but would like to reassure you that the issues raised will be dealt with by the departmental... More

Keighley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On 6th April 2014, my wife and myself were celebrating 40 years of officially becoming a couple. We first met in December 1973 when I was working as a 17 year old waiter in the Dukes Head, as she came to stay as a guest with her family. And got engaged in the Dukes Head restaurant which will now always... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David W, General Manager at The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen A What a lovely romantic story to see on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you and your partner had returned to stay with us after meeting 40 years ago when you worked here as a waiter and your partner was a guest. I was also delighted to read your comments regarding the current staff as... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed overnight with a group of friends from the moment we arrived everything went well from booking in afternoon tea , a first class meal in the evening with excellent service , and breakfast next morning was equally as good this hotel is in a very good location . And we all would have no hesitation in recommending this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David W, General Manager at The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lesleyfarmers I was delighted to read your review on Trip Advisor and to learn that you and your friends had enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are most welcomed and I will be sure to share them with the team. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes David Williams General Manager More

Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely elegant hotel with fabulous food. Superbly situated on the market square with free parking. The car park would be the only area that needs reviewing because there is no entrance into the hotel from the rear. Numerous doors & a ballroom entrance, presumably for wedding guests, but no access for hotel guests. It's quite a trek from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David W, General Manager at The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KMM87 Thank you for posting a review on trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst there is no access to the hotel from the car park, we are looking at plans to create a glass corridor and a side entrance along the side street in the future, which will resolve... More

suffolk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Dukes Head with a Living Social deal which we upgraded to a classic double,on available the receptionest had kindly upgraded us again.We approached our room by a lovely old wooden staircase(400 years old)to find a faultless,clean spacious room,looking out over the square we had a chandelier above the bed and even a double built in sink... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David W, General Manager at The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear brillant08 Thank you for posting a lovely review of our beautiful hotel on Trip advisor. I was pleased to read that you had made use of our Living Social deal and that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Be sure to keep an eye open for our next deal which will be published soon. Kindest regards David... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our overnight stay was a part of my husbands Christmas present a groupon offer which included overnight stay, afternoon tea, 3 course meal with a bottle of wine and buffet breakfast. We were quite excited about our stay after reading the reviews and our stay definitely didn't disappoint. From the time we checked in everyone were friendly and helpful, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David W, General Manager at The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TraceyB44 Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. It was lovely to read that your recent stay was a Christmas present and that generally you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments regarding the temperature in the restaurant has been passed on to our property department, and I am sure that in due... More

WIGAN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On arriving we parked in a disabled parking spot opposite the hotel, very convenient, but at reception we were told that there was a parking charge and to use the hotel car park at the rear. I explained that I have limited mobility and asked where the room was. It was on the 3rd floor, at the front, the lift... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David W, General Manager at The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JOHN R Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to read that you experienced issues during your stay, however had we have known you had limited mobility prior to your arrival, we would have been in a position to have allocated you a room nearer to the lift, unfortunately, when you arrived these rooms... More

Essex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a Christmas present to my husband and myself. What a lovely hotel, so clean and bright. Our room was spacious, and clean with tea/coffee facilities, comfortable beds, modern shower room. The meals were lovely, and great choice. Staff were very friendly and helpful,nothing was too much trouble for them. I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David W, General Manager at The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sneezy30 Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor, I was so pleased to read that a Christmas present you received was to stay with us at the hotel and that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. I hope that you will visit us again, where I am sure you will have another great stay. My very... More

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights, Fri 14th & Sat 15th March 2014 as part of a Groupon deal. Good quality, clean comfortable hotel. Fiendly staff, relaxed atmosphere. Cream tea consisted fo a very large scone, clotted cream & individual pot of jam. Very nice! Had 3 course dinnner on both evenings, excellent food and good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David W, General Manager at The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sallylandchrisa Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a lovely review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. Our Groupon offer has, indeed, been very popular and as such I am pleased to inform you that our next deal will be out shortly, so be sure to keep an eye out for it. I hope you will... More

Been to The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel

Also Known As:
Elizabeth Dukes Head Hotel
Dukes Head Kings Lynn
The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel UK/Norfolk
Address: 5 - 6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
#5 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of King's Lynn old town and overlooking the historic market place, the Duke’s Head is perfect for discovering what Norfolk has to offer to the business and leisure traveller. Since Georgian times, this impressive classical building has welcomed visitors in considerable comfort and style.Its location overlooking the ancient market place in the centre of King’s Lynn would have denoted its importance in a town peppered with fine historic buildings. The Duke’s Head is located walking distance away from King’s Lynn station, nightlife, restaurants, bars and leisure club. Kings Lynn is serviced by regular trains to London and serves as an ideal location for discovering Norfolk. North Norfolk is an ideal tourist destination. Whether you enjoy the lively atmosphere and entertainment offered by traditional seaside resorts, the tranquility of the small fishing villages, which spring to life at high tide, you can't help but be impressed by the beautiful coastline and the fascinating history of its towns. The Hotel is currently undergoing a 3 million pound refurbishment under the new management of Surya Hotels Ltd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Legacy Duke's Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.