We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Duke's Head Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
5 - 6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Duke\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

743 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Popped in for a drink and some food. the menu was quite limited so decided not to eat. The lounge and bar area is pleasant with nice furnishing. Drinks were good with service friendly and smiley. Would go back

Helpful?
Thank Henry L
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Henry - Thank you for taking the time to review our lounge bar and we are pleased that you enjoyed your experience. The hotel is shortly going to introducing a brand new bar area to the front of the hotel and we hope you may find time to come again and see what changes we have made. We expect the... More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a good sized standard room which was clean and comfortable. Our friends had a better class room which was much larger but considerably more costly. We ate in the hotel restauarant one night and the food was of excellant quality and the wait staff provided putstanding service. Breakfast was included and it was a basic buffet but was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin G
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Colin - Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your visit and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Kings Lynn on a future occasion. Kind regards Darryl More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My first room was at the back end of the hotel, with a window overlooking the service area for nearby shops. TV was fine, wifi very good no problems. I slept ok apart from the slamming doors every morning from 7am, and the a/c makes it difficult to sleep well due to being quite stuffy. The room was cleaned well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Soundgesture
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Soundgesture - Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back again to Kings Lynn when you are next in town. Kind regards Darryl More 

chigwell
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a one night stay including cream tea,dinner and breakfast. This is about the fourth time we have been to hotel and it never disappoints. However this time the stay surpassed all others. The reason for this was the excellent staff and there customer service . Nothing was too much trouble . I must give mention to the manager... More 

Helpful?
Thank dvnorton
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

dvnorton - Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with us. We are delighted to read that we continue to exceed your expectations and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Kings Lynn on a future occasion. Kind regards Darryl More 

London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasant from the outside, car park needs looking at. Far too small, off a hotel to offer off street parking it needs to cater for all guests. Alternatively refund guests that pay to use other car parks. Classic double was ok. Shame about the un even floors, but in an old hotel to be expected. Showers not overly hot. Toiletries... More 

Helpful?
Thank LondonSJKk
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

LondonSJKk- Thank you for reflecting on your recent stay here at The Dukes Head. The team and I review all feedback on a regular basis and seek to improve our guest experiences where appropriate. We have 35 spaces for parking although we must accept that some guests will need to pay the £1.00 over night charge to park in Tuesday... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I booked this hotel on the one night stay offer, not expecting too much for the amount of money and I must say that it surpassed expectations by a mile. Lovely bar area, where we sampled afternoon cream tea in the comfortable bar area, a fantastic meal in the evening served by 2 really friendly staff and... More 

Helpful?
Thank sean i
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Sean - Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay review. We are delighted to learn that your experience surpassed all expectations and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Dukes in the future. Kind regards Darryl More 

Norfolk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel used to be the premier hotels in Kings Lynn. I visited the hotel to do a pre- inspection prior to me booking a large residential conference for my company. I did have concerns about the cleanliness and attitude of the staff who were not particularly helpful and I got the impression I was a nuisance. I did however... More 

Helpful?
Thank GeoffNorfolk
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Geoff - I am sorry to learn that your recent event enquiry has not been dealt with in the manner you should expect. I have just been appointed as the new General manager here at The Dukes Head and was unaware of your email, message or visit. If you would like to email me directly (gm@dukesheadhotel.com) I will follow up... More 

Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner and our two friends went for afternoon tea on Saturday 16th January my partner and her friend got a afternoon between them which they paid over £30 for and when it came out there was probably enough for 1 and a half people and non of us are big eaters so they were disappointed with this... More 

Helpful?
Thank The Reviewer T
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with the afternoon tea. if you would like to contact me directly gm@dukesheadhotel.com I can follow up on your feedback. Kind regards Darryl More 

Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our 3rd stay at this hotel, its very over priced so we always get breakfast at The Globe (Weatherspoons) over the road, we don't stay at Globe as noisy at night with young people partying etc. Anyways, went into Dukes Head, hotel was very warm which was good as freezing outside..Room 110 was allocated to us, first floor...everywhere... More 

Helpful?
Thank wobba2016
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Wobba2016 - I am sorry to read of your recent experience and we very much regret that your stay was let down in the areas you have described. I will be following up on your comments via the email you forwarded. We hope to be able to restore your faith in The Dukes Head on a return visit. Kind regards... More 

London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Room 23 which is on the 2nd floor of the old part of the hotel. There is a lift up to the floor, however, to get to it you have to go through a maze-like warren of corridors as well as up and down stairs. Not suitable for disableds who have difficulty in walking. One of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnnNewton
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Ann Newton - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Dukes Head following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations on this visit and that you encountered problems with our Wi-Fi. The team regret if we have fallen short in the areas you have mentioned. Your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

469 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (105)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (56)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (316)
Viewed
Classic Room (32)
Viewed
Cosy Double Room (24)
Viewed
Family Room (30)
Viewed
Feature Room Campbells (37)
Viewed
Feature Room Sandringham (31)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (74)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King's Lynn
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Knights Hill Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Lynn Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Lynn Hotel
#7 of 14 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
6.0 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 14 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#2 of 14 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#6 of 14 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#9 of 14 in King's Lynn
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay