We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Duke's Head Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
5 - 6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Hotel amenities
The Duke's Head Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
5pence368 Woking, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

657 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    286
    254
    80
    25
    12
See reviews for
66
374
17
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (657)
  • Mar-May only
    (166)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (236)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (159)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (96)
All months
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is centrally located and of a high standard. The restaurant was equally to be recommended with tasty food, beautifully presented. The location was ideal for touring Norfolk and would stay there again. Only one slight reservation is that the directions to rooms are not very clear and that could easily be remedied - once you have found your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I payed £135 for a better classic room as it was for my partners birthday and i wanted something special, when we went into it we was so disappointed. Room was tiny, tiles in bathroom where cracked and loose on floor, groat missing from some,bed side tables and dressing table all badly chipped, pillow had foot prints on it, all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent a few nights in double room, very spacious, good temperature, comfortable bed. Very friendly staff and right in the middle of Kings Lynn. Had no trouble parking as although small fits lots of cars in. Wi-Fi went off a couple of times whilst using but was easy to reconnet. Breakfast was a bit pricey but we just walked into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've just spent the weekend at this place and it was lovely. Very very clean in all areas of the hotel, from the lobby to bar, restaurant, toilets and rooms. I'm not sure you could get a more central location, you are right on the market Square that's right at the end of main shopping drag. The carpark at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed our stay at Duke's Head. Staff were very friendly and room very clean and comfortable and a good size. The only let down was the room they used for breakfast/café, felt the décor was very much like a factory canteen, but the staff and food were very good. Dined in the restaurant in the evenings which was excellent. Good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble in posting a review of your recent stay. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the facilities and services provided and that you enjoyed your dining experiences with us. We have just changed the furniture in the breakfast room in an attempt to enhance the atmosphere. We hope to welcome you... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here a week ago and I've just found time to do a review. I stayed on business this is the third time I've stayed but the first time I reviewed it. The hotel is perfectly situated in the middle of town and it has its own parking which is also good and free!! The walk down and round... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chris H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Phil Thank you for posting a review of your latest stay with us and for your constructive comments concerning your stays. Unfortunately the hotel car par is at the back of the hotel but no guest access through the back of the hotel is available. A massive public pay and display car park is available at the front for those... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived in Tuesday market place to a lovely looking hotel. Not only lovely on the outside but tastefully decorated throughout. We had a lovely spacious room overlooking the square. Didn't eat at the hotel but enjoyed our 2 night stay whilst in the area for a wedding near by. Would recommend & stay again if ever on the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive comments concerning your recent visit to the hotel and for your recommendations of the hotel. I hope you enjoyed the wedding celebrations. More 

Oxford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel room was big and spacious, with nice bathroom. Location was perfect - right in the centre of King's Lynn. The reception and door staff were really friendly and helpful. The only let down was the breakfast, which I thought was pretty terrible and certainly not worth the £10pp we paid in advance (£12.95pp if paid on the day). A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for posting a review of your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay but was sorry to learn of the problems that you had with breakfast. We have undertaken a review of our breakfast operation and have instigated a series of actions that should improve the levels of service that we... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I enjoyed a night here on a visit to Norfolk. It is a bit of a challenge to navigate your way into the car park at the rear of the hotel but worth it to get free parking. We stayed in a budget room at the top of the hotel on the front that was accessed by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. The hotel does have a number of different types of rooms with the rooms at the front of the hotel offering more individuality. I am glad you liked the public areas of the hotel as well and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for a return visit. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for only one night in a classic double room. It was clean, comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was a very comprehensive buffet. The staff were very polite efficient and approachable. All in all and very good nights stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. It is good to hear when we get things right and that we have satisfied customers and you kind comments have been passed on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

174 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (82)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King's Lynn
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn King's Lynn
Premier Inn King's Lynn
#7 of 14 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Knights Hill Hotel
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#6 of 14 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Congham Hall Country House Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#9 of 14 in King's Lynn
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
12.1 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay