We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ickworth Hotel

Horringer, Bury St. Edmunds IP29 5QE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Ickworth Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

413 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed 3 nights in Asprucci (a large family double) on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal. From the moment we arrived our 3 year old daughter was made to feel welcome and all of the staff throughout our stay consistently smiled at and/or chatted to our daughter. She can by quite shy at times, but was completely at ease... More 

Helpful?
Thank malf196
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel information clearly stated that access to the adjoining National Trust property was included and that was the main reason for our visit. This was re-iterated on the follow up email and there was no suggestion that the NT could be closed....which it was! The double bed was actually two single beds pushed together with a deceiving wide headboard.... More 

Helpful?
Thank NickandLesleyMayne
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

a terrible hotel my wife took me to this hotel for a surprise 80 birthday treat with the family she was promised a upgrade when we arrived they said they did not know about it I called the manager he was very rude our room was very small and their was not even a greeting in the room how bad... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank stanley m
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr R, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. On arrival you stated that you had been promised an upgrade, our records did not show this and in fact your daughter had asked about this but had not reserved, this she admitted on arrival. On speaking to you, you demanded that as there was no upgrade... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've been to the Ickworth before, more than once. And we went back again just before Christmas. But it had definitely gone downhill. The setting is still fantastic - the landscape & surroundings earns 2 stars all by themselves. But this is a hotel review, not a location one. And several aspects were disappointing, particular relative to what we'd experienced... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Colin E
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review

Very sorry to read of your disappointment with your stay. There are a number of comments , the state of the bikes, being turned away at lunchtime and generally not impressed with our team. My apologies for all of this we endeavour to achieve a high standard and it appears in your case we were wide of the mark, not... More 

Suffolk England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have booked this hotel for my husbands 50th and this lovely woman couldn't have been more helpful, she was an absolute joy to deal with and made sure everything was in place for my husbands 50th surprise.she is an absolute asset to the hotel............amanda jane..........A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A

Helpful?
4 Thank mariedarenrobinson
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really really enjoyed our stay here, lovely rooms and bathrooms and amazing food! 5****** Grounds are lovely to explore, and lots of activities to do! Can't wait to visit again but with the whole family!

Helpful?
Thank hannah7227
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

We were thrilled with our 'recharger' post-Christmas break. The hotel is stunning - a country house marvel - but it's the fabulous staff and informal atmosphere which make it a boon (especially for parents). Nothing was too much trouble for the fabulous staff, we had blankets brought when the children nodded off at dinner and everyone was kind and friendly.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Viv G
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

We stayed at Ickworth for 3 nights before Christmas, and had a lovely family break. The grounds are lovely and plenty of walking paths, great adventure playground. We stayed in the Lodge which is separate from the hotel but 2 lovely rooms and beautiful gardens. Food in the Conservatory for breakfast and dinner is very well catered for kids -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dani G
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for the Christmas recharger (3 nights from the 27th) . We have three kids and booked the butlers quarters which is highly recommended. Three proper double bedrooms with kitchen dining room living room and private garden , at more or less the same price as a normal room . Slight disadvantage is the small distance from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phildrag
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

We have just come back from a mid Xmas to new year break at this lovely place. We went with my family which was really fun as the hotel is perfect for children. The price includes all meals except lunch and they cater for children brilliantly. The wifi is patchy and the place could do with in the winter some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo T
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

193 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (163)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horringer
9.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
2.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
23.6 mi away
Belstead Brook Hotel
Belstead Brook Hotel
#14 of 22 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 stars 662 reviews
17.7 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay