We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ickworth Hotel

4.5 of 5 Horringer, Bury St. Edmunds IP29 5QE, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ickworth Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Ickworth Hotel
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    84
    36
    25
    18
See reviews for
150
73
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (286)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Knowing this hotel so well, as we had lived in the area, we decided to stay during a short visit to Bury St Edmunds. Our preference while in this location is for a country house hotel in a rural setting rather than being in the town centre and Ickworth fits the bill perfectly. We both love the architecture together with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
east of England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We came of a relaxing night way. The Ickworth was prefect! the staff were very friendly, helpful and warm. The swimming pool was wonderful, and the food was out of this world! To wake up with a view of the misty grounds of Ickworth NT property from our window was lovely. It as so nice to stay somewhere with some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After receiving a 'pamper spa day' voucher as a gift for this hotel, I rang the hotel for further details of their spa facilities and was informed 'the spa is not really a spa, we have a swimming pool and you can book a treatment' and that the treatment rooms are not near the spa (swimming pool). Considering we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from our second stay at the Ickworth (My wife & I, our two kids aged 4 and 1). We had a lovely time. The room was large and recently renovated to a high standard. The kids facilities are really excellent - high tea just for them followed by Frozen on the big screen!. The staff are really helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to Ickworth but our first time staying in the apartments, which are a small distance from the main hotel. The hotel is well kitted out for kids with a good games room in the basement, an excellent swimming pool and plenty of grounds to explore. The food was a little over-priced for what it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda-Jane F, Operations Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review

Hello John Heagerty Thank-you for choosing The Ickworth Hotel again and we were happy to welcome you back. We are glad you enjoyed the full Ickworth experience and the facilities here. Sorry that you found the food overpriced - Chef and the team work hard in sourcing and pricing the menu accordingly. We have changed our menus since your visit... More 

Tunstall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights with a 14 and a 11 yr old and whilst our boys were passed the age of, I suspect, the majority of children who stay, we all really enjoyed our stay. We loved the pool (although it was slightly 'cool' on one of our sessions) and my husband and boys enjoyed the bikes. We hadn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda-Jane F, Operations Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Lizzie P Thank-you for your review - I remember your family very well! We are all glad that you had a great stay with us here at The Ickworth Hotel. I remember those shoes coming into us very dirty on a regular basis and our housekeeping team managed to return them to the original colours - Bright Orange and... More 

midlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just back from a lovely weekend away from Ickworth Hotel and our second visit to the Luxury Family Hotel Chain, having visited Moonfleet Manor last year. We stayed in the suite, with my three girls in one room and myself and my husband in the other with a large bathroom in the middle. The suite was big with a lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amanda-Jane F, Operations Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Ellam42 Great title on your review - RELAXING FAMILY WEEKEND AWAY! You have The Ickworth experience described well. Thank-you for booking through Luxury Family Hotels again and visiting The Ickworth Hotel. I remember your Family very well the children loved the bedroom and it was like their own hideaway - They were so excited. You describe the facilities here... More 

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here at new year with our 4 children. Unfortunately we didn't read the trip advisor reviews pre booking - as we stayed previously at Woolley grange, Polurrian bay and Moonfleet manor, all part of the same group. The Ickworth isn't in that class, apart from price, unfortunately. The food lacks the quality and the hotel lacks the style, panache... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda-Jane F, Operations Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review

Hello CharlotteandCarl2013 Thank-you for staying with us here at The Ickworth over the New Year sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations following your previous stays with Luxury Family Hotels. The New Years package was overall a huge success and many are re-booking for this year. I have fed your comments through to all members of the team... More 

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My mother and I wanted to go somewhere we could both enjoy....Ickworth had lots that we could enjoy separately and together. The setting is beautiful. ..the food and restaurants were delicious. The service outstanding. We totally relaxed, enjoyed cycling the trails round the house abd gardens as well as using the Spa facilities. My only complaint would be the pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda-Jane F, Operations Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jomedia Thank-you for your kind words in your recent review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at The Ickworth with your mother and you truly enjoyed the whole Ickworth experience from start to finish. Sorry that you were not advised about the children's pool activities on the day you were swimming and I hope you were both... More 

Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed from 27th Dec to 29th Dec on the Recharger break. Plus points - great situation in the national trust park and overall a very unique place. Downsides costing nearly 400 / night I think you would expect better. The package was HB. Whilst brekkie was good, The dinner content, and particularly service was too variable. Too many trainee waiters.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael K, Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from the very busy Recharger Break between Christmas & New Year. I am very sorry that you had issues with the hot water, this I believe was due to the high number of baths for children between 6.00 pm and 7.00pm, we are reviewing this problem to ensure that we do not get a repetition... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Ickworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ickworth Hotel

Address: Horringer, Bury St. Edmunds IP29 5QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds > Horringer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ickworth Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ickworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ickworth Hotel Horringer
The Ickworth Hotel Horringer, UK - Bury St. Edmunds

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay