We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Horringer hotels

The Ickworth Hotel

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Horringer, Bury St. Edmunds, Horringer, Bury St. Edmunds IP29 5QE, England
Hotel amenities
The Ickworth Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com Orbitz.com
and 5 more sites!
73%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Horringer
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    53
    23
    19
    9
See reviews for
113
37
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed over easter weekend with two small energetic boys (4yrs and 1and a half). For us, the pluses massively outweighed any negatives. Pluses: great swimming pool, heated for kids, with lots of floats and balls; great play facilities on site - an adventure playground including slides and zipline catering from 18months to 12 years, plus a well-stocked play area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Set in stunning grounds, had our afternoon tea in a conservatory, table and surroundings were very well kept, service from the staff was excellent the sandwiches and cakes were delicious and plentiful we would love to return in future. Would like to stay here and get the full experience taking advantage of the facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed in another luxury family hotel, we had high expectations! We stayed in the Louis room which was pleasant but no where near luxurious. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the decor tired and drab. Being a family hotel we were shocked to hear the news that we could not dine in the restaurant as we have children. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for feedback. In answer to your main points we are a family friendly property and do vary our delivery according to our position , the Fredericks restaurant is reserved for adult dining over 16 years of age whereas Thornbury offer dining for over a certain age in the restaurant. I am sorry that you did not like Louis,... More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a weekend at Ickworth House, 6 adults and 6 children. It advertises as a family friendly hotel and with regard to the kids experience it is very good. There is so much to keep the kids entertained, kids club, just about any sport you would want, plenty of toys and a very nice warm swimming pool. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay, I am delighted that you found all the facilities and activities to your liking. With regard to the service , there can be no excuse for delays, we are in the first week of our new software for the property and there has been a learning curve which has seriously affected... More

Norfolk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were ready for hoards of screaming children running the corridors, as they bill the place as a "Family Hotel", so no complaints there. Considering the top end price we paid, the room was small, cramped, over-heated with the world's most uncomfortable bed and a collection of mis-matched, tatty furniture. The bathroom had peeling paint, and the extractor wasn't working.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lordcranny, thank you for your feedback, I am very sorry that your experience was marred by the aspects mentioned, however the function of mis-matched furniture is an aspect that is designed and not accidental. without knowing which room you were in and I could not find your comments on our guest feedback forms, it is difficult to ascertain which... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fab room, stunning grounds, warm pool, BUT service appalling, not enough staff, food arriving at the different times cold and bland, Ickworth you can not afford such mistakes, get it together or you won't last, such a shame. Your regulars.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent stay, I was very sorry to read your comments with regard to the staff and food, plainly we had issues which should not have occurred and for this I apologise. we have been going through the change to different ordering and billing software and this has given us challenges. be... More

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked Sunday lunch for today as we had previously booked Mothers Day but had to cancel due to a family bereavement. Maybe Mothers day may have been better however today, from our first point of contact at the conservatory restaurant, Sophie greeted us with "how can I help you" with an attitude we all noted. Not the best start to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jD, Thank you for your feedback with regard to your Sunday lunch experience. I have spoken to another member of your party with regard to this experience. The Sunday lunch menu is a table D'hote menu. I did note that you arrived 10 minutes late and this would have made your time sitting down at 20 minutes to three,... More

AMBER1979
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second stay at Ickworth and whilst it has many good points the service was terrible! The main problem with Ickworth's service is lack of staff and when you do find an elusive member of the Ickworth team they sometimes don't speak enough English to help or they have 'the computer says no' attitude'........I could give many examples... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amber30049, Thank you for your feedback on your very recent stay. I am very sorry that you have had such an issue with service during your stay, you do state that this was during the period of our new software system being trained to the staff and I am afraid this has caused quite some issues as we bring... More

Sutton Coldfield
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

ICKWORTH Hotel & House What a fantastic place to stay. We had a three day midweek break special rate which included room, breakfast and two course candlelit dinner. The Hotel and land is now owned by the National Trust, and you can have a free entry to the Ickworth House which is well worth the full tour, the Georgian silver... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary s, Thank you for your kind comments , I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed Louis , which overlooks the Italian Garden. The Library is an area which is very popular for families with small children where they can have some quiet time, whilst being with their children whilst they play. Thanks... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed at the Ickworth on the Sunday night stay and dine offer. We don't often stay at nice hotels so I may be easily pleased, but we had a lovely time! so great to stay in a stately home and everyone was so helpful. The room was great and had a fabulous bathroom. The pool was warm and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael K, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HelenH, Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are always putting offers out at various times of the year and as you will now be on our database, we will be writing to you in advance with these offers, I sincerely hope you will find one that you will be able to... More

Been to The Ickworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ickworth Hotel

Also Known As:
Ickworth Hotel Horringer
Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel Horringer, UK - Bury St. Edmunds
Address: Horringer, Bury St. Edmunds, Horringer, Bury St. Edmunds IP29 5QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds > Horringer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Horringer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ickworth Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Wing at Ickworth was home to the Hervey family before it passed to the National Trust. The surroundings are as grand as ever but the idea that “children should be seen but not heard” has gone right out of the hundred or more windows. Where else can you go that offers luxurious surroundings, outstanding facilities, exquisite cuisine and family friendly activities? Ickworth is unique. It's also one of the finest luxury family hotels in the UK.we have recently added a Cinema room to our facilities and show children's films every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Ickworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ickworth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Ickworth Hotel to your Saves list