We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Arms Hotel

Market Street, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4QN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Kings Arms Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent value for money, food is home made and excellent (I had the Lasagne - highly recommend), nice public bar. Room was more than adequate, warm and had everything that I needed. The shower was excellent and I had no real complaints. It is noted and was confirmed by the owner that they are in the process of upgrading the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank adrianpW1783GX
Chris L, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Adrain, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. As you said we are in the process of upgrading the hotel rooms and facilities, this is going to take time and we can start this once the roof has been finished off. Once again we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Room was excellent, staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Plenty of places to eat close to and in a good position in the villiage. Would recommend to anybody. Will go back if I'm in the area again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rtaylo_271934
Chris L, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for spending time on letting us know what you think. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You get what you pay for. The room was ok with a shared bathroom. The pub had a good selection of beers and the staff were more than helpful. I would use the accommodation again but would prefer en-suite.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gabrielwalker57
Chris L, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Gabriel, at the moment in time we are thinking about trying to get all the rooms en-suite. We are glad you enjoyed it here and our staff try their best to please all. Look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was the group's belated Xmas lunch and I was very impressed with the King's Arms. There was a good range of food, well prepared and served efficiently. They were able to meet some individual requirements without any fuss. The dining room was pleasant and comfortable and recently refurbished. I enjoyed the meal and the experience so I will return... More 

Helpful?
Thank DMC460
Chris L, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We were glad you came to the Kings Arms Hotel for lunch. Look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Hapton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016

We have a few lads staying here on business. Nice hotel with a friendly surrounding. The location for us is perfect and the staff at the hotel have been very accommodating. Overall very good value. 5*

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hardys2016
Chris L, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We try are hardest to keep all contractors as happy as possible. We are glad you enjoyed staying with us and hope to keep a good working relationship with you. More 

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

We travel often from Scotland to the Midlands and back and like to break the journey with a stay halfway. We thought we would try Kirkby Stephen. The staff and the food were great but the room was a huge disappointment.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Watto22
Chris L, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our staff try and make everyone's stay a good as possible. The hotel is having the roof done at the moment and due to the weather up here as had some problems. Because we are having the roof done we will be updating the rooms after the job has... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

Will definitely be back to this hotel, it felt like home and we were only there one night, room was really clean and today and staff were very nice. Excellent value for money and great location in a lovely village

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rachelw955
Chris L, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff try their hardest and try to make everyone's stay as nice as possible. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

This is a very nice family run hotel, great cooked food, and nice room as well, and great value for the money, i would use this hotel again, and strongly would encourage more people to use it, no problem.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 982jamie1
Chris L, Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jamie, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to you coming back. More 

Tranent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

Pleasant staff n comfortable rooms at very reasonable prices.friendly staff and customers.really enjoyed our wee break away and would certainly return today the kings arms if we were going bk to kirby Stephen

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane B
Chris L, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a great review. We are glad you liked your stay here and look forward to seeing you again soon More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

Recommend to everyone. 10 out of 10! Great food, super friendly staff and locals, not to mention the actual location that is situated minutes away from Lake District to the west and Yorkshire dales to the east. Paradise for walkers and general sightseeing lovers. Will definitely call again if in the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 697andrisl
Chris L, Owner at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here in Kirkby Stephen. This is a great place to stay as you you the lakes are just around the corner so very easy to travel there. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Stephen
9.0 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#2 of 34 in Kirkby Stephen
5.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel Restaurant and Bar
The Black Bull Hotel Restaurant ...
#23 of 34 in Kirkby Stephen
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fletcher House
Fletcher House
#10 of 34 in Kirkby Stephen
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#2 of 6 in Ravenstonedale
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay