We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kings Arms Hotel

Market Street, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4QN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Kings Arms Hotel to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Kings Arms Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    22
    17
    8
    10
    13
See reviews for
8
26
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Kings Arms is a very old building. The decor and furnishings are very 'tired' and could do with updating. Having said that it was great value for money and the breakfast was super! The staff were very friendly especially the young Scottish gentleman who was very efficient and welcoming. The pubs drinks were quite expensive eg a pint of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Millport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We love Kirkby Stephen and added an extra day to our break by booking a stopover at the Kings Arms on our way back to home to Scotland. We were not disappointed. We were given a free upgrade to an ensuite room which was appreciated. The building is very old and is quirky, which I love. The wardrobe door kept... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here via a booking.com deal. Large family room for 3 with breakfast, £100. It's shabby in places but I kind of liked that. Made a change to stay in a traditional styled place than the usual identical chains. There were loads of towels ! The food was fab ( we had a lovely dinner there) but the main thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked 3 nights , and would have stayed longer if that had been possible ,we were made to feel very welcome. We had such a great time the staff were all so friendly and the food/drink could not have been better. Our dog was made to feel just as welcome .Thanks to you all. Nick ,Sheena , and Daisy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
East yorks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for one night in August, we were made to feel very welcome from arriving and well looked after throughout our stay, all of the staff and owners were very friendly, we would not hesitate to go back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this room is a separate bathroom (meaning bathroom outside the room!) which is not convenient for people with families. there is a bar below the room and noisy at night (not convenient for people with family as well). this place is far from town. the bed is very uncomfortable. it hurt my back in the morning!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Kirkby Stephen hotels

Skipton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our visit was stress free, even with the two dogs! We chose a table outside as the day was fine and sunny, choosing from the lunchtime menu was harder due to the number of delicious dishes on offer. I settled on the lasagne, served with dressed salad, chips and garlic bread, I have to say I was not disappointed this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester,England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just had a short stay at the Kings Arms and it is a very pleasant place to stay,the stall were all really friendly and pleasant . The accommodation is of a good standard and nice and clean.the breakfast was a really nice home cooked one with a good choice of items. The Kings Arms is slap bang in the centre... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A group of us stayed here for the night when we were on our sponsored bike ride. The rooms were average but nice hot shower. The breakfast was fabulous and nothing was too much trouble. The staff on the evening we arrived were great, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was provided by the owner and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed overnight at The Kings Arms, staff were friendly and helpful, unfortunately the hotel was very basic and in need of TLC. We had no hot water or working shower in the family room. I would not recommend this hotel if your looking for home comforts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, Owner at Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, we are sorry you think this of our hotel. We always ask customers if everything is ok, and when we show them to the room we tell them if there are any problems please come down and tell us so we can sort it. If you had let us know we could have told you that sometimes the hot... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kirkby Stephen hotels
0.0 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
The Black Bull Hotel
#21 of 34 in Kirkby Stephen
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#6 of 34 in Kirkby Stephen
5.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
3.9 mi away
Swanson House
Swanson House
#1 of 3 in Brough
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kirkby Stephen Hostel
Kirkby Stephen Hostel
#1 of 1 in Kirkby Stephen
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Inn at Brough
The Inn at Brough
#2 of 3 in Brough
5.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#2 of 6 in Ravenstonedale
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay