We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Marlow hotels

Macdonald Compleat Angler

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marlow Bridge, Marlow SL7 1RG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Macdonald Compleat Angler to your Saves list
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
76%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Marlow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
  • Reviews (569)
  • Photos (130)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (141)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    158
    89
    32
    20
See reviews for
63
316
13
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Beautiful location but such poor service. We went for afternoon tea as we live locally - what a fiasco! Cold tea, scones came twenty minutes after the tea, asked for hot tea - then no milk. When the scones came there were side plates to eat them from. You get the picture - Fawlty Towers but on the river. Then,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived in Marlow on a lovely sunny afternoon, after having a mooch around we spotted a great location for an afternoon cocktail by the river. Although there were quite a few free tables not one of them was clear of dirty glasses/crockery. We sat at one of those tables for at least 5 minutes with no sign of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I recently stayed at The Macdonald Compleat Angler with my family for a short, summer break. The hotel is a luxury retreat nestled on the riverside and affords beautiful views. The hotel feels more like a country retreat despite being centrally located in the pretty town of Marlow. It offers unrivalled location and my room was very comfortable with all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is in an amazing location and we were immediately impressed. The concierge was very welcoming, he offered to get our bags from the car and gave us some local information. The check in was efficient and quick. Our room (an executive) was small but comfortable and overlooked the weir. Would have liked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for two nights recently on a business trip. The hotel is charming, a quintessentially English hotel, set in a wonderful riverside location. The rooms are really comfortable and clean and the staff were very welcoming. The air conditioning didn't seem to cool the room down enough but the weather was very warm during my stay. I ordered room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billericay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed at this hotel many times over the past 8 years I was disappointed this stay. The fact that despite checking in 10 mins after the checkin time of 3 pm my room was not ready and I had to wait over an hour before it was didn't get the stay off to a good start. Another criticism was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GWyncoll, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I was pleased that you enjoyed the food and service. I am sorry that your room was not ready when you arrived. Unfortunately, reading on trip advisor I cannot tell the date of your stay to establish why this happened, however, I do hope that you brought this to our attention.... More

nottinghamshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are looking for a hotel and location which is quintessentially 'English' then look no further than this lovely hotel. The setting and views are truly lovely, whether you are outside having afternoon tea; enjoying drinks on the lawn; eating in the restaurant or if you are fortunate,looking out from your room. We were blessed during our short stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GWyncoll, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of the hotel. This is exactly the experience that we would want all of our guests to enjoy – great food and great service. You were clearly blessed by the recent spell of excellent weather and it sounds that you made the most of the location with drinks outside, a meal in the restaurant... More

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As it was a lovely Saturday afternoon and my mothers 50th birthday we decided to go for a drink by the river here. After waiting 10 minutes we were greeted by a waiter who unfortunately had no idea what he was doing... Once we had ordered a bottle of wine (three glasses) and three beers we then waited 40 minutes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GWyncoll, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to read your comments. Admittedly, we were caught out on a Saturday with much better than expected weather coupled with some staff sickness. We brought staff to support, however, they do not have the same knowledge of the outside bar service procedures. And it took an hour for us to get the training on the job... More

Rhyl, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel for the 4th July as a break after a visit to London. The price of £292 was very steep considering this was room only from Hotels.com, but I chose it anyway. On arrival, the receptionist informed us the room was only £219 so that hurt a bit. The room we had was excellent with a view... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GWyncoll, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am glad that you enjoyed the lovely location and I am sorry that you found the prices to high. A rate of £219 is a very good rate for Friday 4th July, during Royal Henley Regatta. We guarantee the best rate on our own website and it is more beneficial to book a... More

London
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
72 hotel reviews
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a feature room overlooking the Weir. The problem is the access is from the back of the main hotel and in the morning the entrance was blocked by delivery trucks. When raining you could get really wet getting to the main building. The bed was excellent and the amenities were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GWyncoll, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. From this, I can tell that you stayed on Sunday 13th July due the hot buffet breakfast, made available for a large group staying in the hotel wanting to have breakfast at the same time before their meeting. We were providing our normal standard of a quality cooked-to-order breakfast for all other guests. It... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Macdonald Compleat Angler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Macdonald Compleat Angler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Compleat Angler

Address: Marlow Bridge, Marlow SL7 1RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Compleat Angler 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Macdonald Compleat Angler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Compleat Angler Marlow
Macdonald Compleat Angler Hotel Marlow

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Named after Izaak Walton's famous book on angling, the beautiful four-red star Macdonald Compleat Angler is idyllically located on the banks of the River Thames. The hotel is just a short walk from the Georgian town of Marlow, 10 minutes drive from the M4 and just over an hour away from Central London by train. Beautiful both inside and out, enjoy mouthwatering meals from the recently refurbished, two AA rosette-awarded Riverside Restaurant overlooking Marlow Weir or delicious afternoon tea on the terrace. For meetings, strategy days or conferences, our meeting facilities are ideal and our 2 brand new SMART board technology board rooms perfect for inspiring great ideas. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
64

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer