We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Compleat Angler

Marlow Bridge, Marlow SL7 1RG, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Compleat Angler
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    492
    319
    175
    71
    45
See reviews for
121
631
17
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1102)
  • Mar-May only
    (264)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (368)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (278)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (192)
All months
Redditch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a wonderful stay. The room was clean , very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The staff very very helpful. The food was delicious. We were lucky to have a room over looking the river, it really was lovely. Thank you.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Potters Bar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel and lovely location. Have stayed many times and always want to go back. However, this time the service was haphazard from start to finish which was a real shame. Our room was lovely and would recommend getting a room with a view of the weir which is fabulous.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your most recent stay with us. Naturally I'm really disappointed to read that you felt the service had slipped and wasn't as slick as previous stays. I will be sure to monitor this very closely with our Management team as this is never what I wish to hear... More 

London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Executive room and view was excellent, however the room was a bit on the small side with nowhere to boil the kettle apart from on the floor, small thing I know but for the price of the room I expected more.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave some feedback following your stay with us. I'm delighted that overall your stay was enjoyable. I have noted your comment regarding the room size and will look into a solution for that room in particular. I look forward to welcoming you back, next time you are in Marlow. Regards Andrew Creese General... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked through secret escapes, all was as described and we booked our meals and cream tea when we booked, Sindhu in particular is very busy, so book in advance to avoid disappointment. On arrival we were told that we were in room 18 and that we might be affected by noise, it was quite unpleasant, but we put up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Jennifer Many thanks for the lovely feedback following your stay with us. Apologies that your stay in room 18 was disturbed due to a wedding reception. I was glad to hear that Charlotte in particular stood out and that she managed to find a happy solution to you. I'm also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the afternoon tea and... More 

Leighton Buzzard,England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were almost put off by some rather negative reviews but in the end glad we stayed.Booked via hotels switchboard which was rather impersonal and person wasn't able to offer any rates etc that weren't available on Internet booking sites. Booked an executive four poster. Visited on very wet bank holiday, car park had plenty of parking. Reception was straightforward,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

I'm delighted to hear that overall your stay lived up to all expectations whilst you relaxed and enjoyed the views of Marlow. I do hope you are able to stay again in the future, I could highly recommend one of our Feature rooms which have a wonderful view over the weir and a peaceful ambience. Regards Andrew Creese General Manager More 

Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We dined at the Riverside Restaurant for a Sunday lunch. Such a same they have no pride in a roast dinner. The roast potatoes were empty as they had been warmed for so long which was amazing as they were barely warm. The other vegetables were cold, and this was after sending the first attempt back. Such a shame. Sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Philip Many thanks for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your lunch reservation in the Riverside Restaurant. Naturally I'm disappointed to hear your thoughts on the Sunday roast. I would cherish speaking further if at all possible so I can get a better understanding. If I could ask you to send me your most suitable contact details... More 

Berkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

staff need training in customer service, Not a smile was seen. This is a 4* Hotel, not a bar/restaurant. Prices for a glass of wine varied from customer to customer, one expects to pay over the odds for drinks at Wedding Receptions, £2.00-£3.00 for soft drinks !!! Spirits were very weak ??? , no bar prices written up, perhaps that's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Heather Thank you for your feedback since attending the wedding with us at the weekend. Naturally I'm disappointed to hear such feedback which I have since reviewed in full with our team. A smile costs nothing and means so much, we talk about this daily so I'm surprised and disappointed to hear this never happened on the day you visited.... More 

Warfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice hotel, nice setting. As a 4 star hotel one might expect to pay a little more at the bar but not the rip off prices they are charging. Also on more than one occasion they tried to charge a different price for the same drink .No draught beer stocked meaning you had to purchase expensive bottled beer. Be aware... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback following your stay with us and in particularly in relation to our bar prices. We do regularly review our prices across the company and within our local market place to ensure we are competitive. I will take this opportunity to review these once again though. Regards Andrew Creese General Manager More 

Rickmansworth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great rooms ,comfy beds, great service by very polite staff. Evening meal was excellent as was breakfast. Excellent location next to the river and across the river from Marlow. Only critiscism was checking in and out was a bit slow but that would be very picky. Overall a great place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

John What wonderful comments! I'm delighted to hear that not only was the location, your room, your food and beverage experience's but also the team delivered memorable service is fantastic. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Compleat Angler in the future. Regards Andrew Creese General Manager More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel through a deal with Secret Escapes as we like the town of Marlow - wonderful shops! We paid extra for an 'Executive Room' but were quite disappointed. The room was tired, brown and nothing special at all, but I suppose we did have a sort of distant view of the river instead of overlooking the car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew C, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Susan Firstly, thank you for your honest feedback following your recent stay with us last weekend. The Compleat Angler is such a popular wedding venue due to the history of the property and its location on the river Thames. It can be difficult to please all parties when we have a mix of events and occasions happening at the property.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

207 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (178)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (52)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlow
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Marlow
Premier Inn Marlow
#1 of 4 in Marlow
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
2.4 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#3 of 12 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
9.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay