We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Parador de Jaen

#1 of 18 Hotels in Jaen
Certificate of Excellence
Castillo De Santa Catalina, 23001 Jaen, Spain
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Parador de Jaen
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    196
    156
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
79
256
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (426)
  • Mar-May only
    (108)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (146)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We wanted to include a parador and a castle stay in our trip, Jaen was perfect for us. Both rooms had a lovely balcony with a commanding view of the landscape, large and comfortable rooms. A terrific pool to enjoy and relax. We also had dinner and breakfast in the dining room. Excellent and friendly service -- very nice food.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this review

Dear Mr./Mrs., Parador de Turismo Santa Catalina wishes that your stay has been as suitable as possible. Therefore welcome all your comments so that we can anticipate your needs. We have wanted to satisfy all your expectative, and we are so happy to know that it had been in this way. Thank you again, and we hope to see you... More 

axminster
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for an overnight on our journey back to the UK. This place is spectacular and the staff are so proud of their work and hotel that they cannot do enough for you. We will return and stay for longer to this wonderful place

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this review

Dear Mr/Mrs., Parador de Turismo Santa Catalina wishes that your stay has been as suitable as possible. Therefore welcome all your comments so that we can anticipate your needs. We have wanted to satisfy all your expectative. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon in the Parador. Sincerely yours, More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in August. The building itself is wonderful and imposing. It is set on a hill high up above Jaen with great views over the city. The reception staff were not very welcoming and talked amongst themselves while ignoring the customer at the desk. The rooms were large and had a nice balcony overlooking the countryside.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this review

Dear Mr. : Dear Tris, Parador de Turismo Santa Catalina wishes that your stay has been as suitable as possible. Therefore welcome all your comments so that we can anticipate your needs. We have wanted to satisfy all your expectative, we thank all the suggestions and ideas you could provide us. We will try to improve about the aspects that... More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had been to two locations in Spain on this holiday and we wanted a few days relaxing in a hotel with a pool and we got that and much more. We got a really good half board deal and had lovely breakfasts and two magnificent meals. The person in the restaurant spoke little English but he was amazing and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this review

Dear ToniF28, Parador de Turismo Santa Catalina wishes that your stay has been as suitable as possible. Therefore welcome all your comments so that we can anticipate your needs. We have wanted to satisfy all your expectative,.Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon in the Parador. Sincerely yours, More 

Snells Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Paradors in Spain have undertaken a repositioning re categorising their properties into "types" of hotels according to their prime focus. The Jaén parador is an "Esentia" or historic building parador. The position on the hill in the centre of Jaén is amazing with views all around. The style is of a medieval castle with huge ceilings, suits of armour and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madrid
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Expensive in both lodging and food, but a truely fabulous place to stay. The views are amazing. There is an additional small fee to visit the main fortess, but well worth the effort. In fact its a must ! Food quality good and well served. Head waiter was very knowledgable on the wines offered. Like i said, its not cheap,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this review

Dear Sir: thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. Your suggestions help us to improve Best regards More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

After traveling for almost 2 weeks we decided to treat ourselves to a special night in a Paradore. This hotel was more expensive than the previous two Paradores we had stayed in but our expectation was, it was going to be special. The reception staff were coldly efficient. Our room was so disappointing. No view, tiny window. The bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this review

Dear Madam, First of all, we want to thank you for leaving all your impressions about the Parador. We are very sorry for all the inconveniences during your stay. It was impossible for us to give you a room with balcony and views because we were almost fully booked for that date and, as you mentioned in the above, the... More 

Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

We had visited this parador previously in 2004 and thought it was amazing. The parador looks majestic located on top of a high hill overlooking the lovely town of Jaen. It is a spectacular building both inside and out. It was very easy to park just outside the hotel. Staff are really helpful and one of the memories we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank so much for your opinion. Your comments and suggestions help us improve. Have a nice day!! Best regards More 

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Fabulous place. Perched on top of a hill overlooking Jaen!! Expensive though for one night stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Views from our room were incredible, we also had a wonderful terrace. Rooms very clean and nicely decorated with air-con and wifi. Huge bathroom! Lovely terrace bar downstairs overlooking the town of Jaen. Another terrace bar to the side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this review

Yours sincerely, We thank you your suggestion left during your stay in our Parador. We inform you that it will be included in our list of complaints and suggestions and will be treated directly by the management staff in order to look for solutions. Yours sincerely, More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

This paradore sits on a hill overlooking the town of Jaen which is known for its tapas bars, it is well worth walking around the town and absorbing the atmosphere. The hotel is beautifully fitted out with some rooms having a balcony overlooking the surrounding hills, the dinning experience is very good. The only downside was that when we arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge C, Director General at Parador de Jaen, responded to this review

Dear Sir Teh Parador de Turismo of Santa Catalina wishes that your stay has been as suitable as possible. Therefore welcome all your comments so that we can anticipate your needs. We have wanted to satisfy all your expectative, we thank all the suggestions and ideas you could provide us. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

384 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (350)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (61)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
View from room (33)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (169)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaen
3.9 mi away
Hotel HO Ciudad de Jaen
4.7 mi away
Hotel Juleca
Hotel Juleca
#2 of 18 in Jaen
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Infanta Cristina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 mi away
Balneario San Andres
Balneario San Andres
#4 of 18 in Jaen
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#6 of 18 in Jaen
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Condestable Iranzo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay