We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Parador de Jaen

#1 of 18 Hotels in Jaen
Certificate of Excellence
Castillo De Santa Catalina, 23001 Jaen, Spain
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parador de Jaen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Parador de Jaen
Add Photo Write a Review

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    189
    149
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
71
248
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (410)
  • Mar-May only
    (108)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Madrid
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Expensive in both lodging and food, but a truely fabulous place to stay. The views are amazing. There is an additional small fee to visit the main fortess, but well worth the effort. In fact its a must ! Food quality good and well served. Head waiter was very knowledgable on the wines offered. Like i said, its not cheap,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this review

Dear Sir: thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. Your suggestions help us to improve Best regards More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After traveling for almost 2 weeks we decided to treat ourselves to a special night in a Paradore. This hotel was more expensive than the previous two Paradores we had stayed in but our expectation was, it was going to be special. The reception staff were coldly efficient. Our room was so disappointing. No view, tiny window. The bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this review

Dear Madam, First of all, we want to thank you for leaving all your impressions about the Parador. We are very sorry for all the inconveniences during your stay. It was impossible for us to give you a room with balcony and views because we were almost fully booked for that date and, as you mentioned in the above, the... More 

Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had visited this parador previously in 2004 and thought it was amazing. The parador looks majestic located on top of a high hill overlooking the lovely town of Jaen. It is a spectacular building both inside and out. It was very easy to park just outside the hotel. Staff are really helpful and one of the memories we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank so much for your opinion. Your comments and suggestions help us improve. Have a nice day!! Best regards More 

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fabulous place. Perched on top of a hill overlooking Jaen!! Expensive though for one night stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Views from our room were incredible, we also had a wonderful terrace. Rooms very clean and nicely decorated with air-con and wifi. Huge bathroom! Lovely terrace bar downstairs overlooking the town of Jaen. Another terrace bar to the side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this review

Yours sincerely, We thank you your suggestion left during your stay in our Parador. We inform you that it will be included in our list of complaints and suggestions and will be treated directly by the management staff in order to look for solutions. Yours sincerely, More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This paradore sits on a hill overlooking the town of Jaen which is known for its tapas bars, it is well worth walking around the town and absorbing the atmosphere. The hotel is beautifully fitted out with some rooms having a balcony overlooking the surrounding hills, the dinning experience is very good. The only downside was that when we arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge C, Director General at Parador de Jaen, responded to this review

Dear Sir Teh Parador de Turismo of Santa Catalina wishes that your stay has been as suitable as possible. Therefore welcome all your comments so that we can anticipate your needs. We have wanted to satisfy all your expectative, we thank all the suggestions and ideas you could provide us. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

The hotel is in a nice old building. View is beautiful. Nice pool. Dinning room very nice. Dinner was not very impressive. Small expensive portions. The most disappointing aspect of the hotel is the rooms. They need renovation. The bath looked very old. Toilet too. The bed was very small. No wifi in the rooms at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this review

Dear Sir The Parador de Turismo of Santa Catalina wishes that your stay has been as suitable as possible. Therefore welcome all your comments so that we can anticipate your needs. We have wanted to satisfy all your expectative, we thank all the suggestions and ideas you could provide us. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon... More 

Level Contributor
151 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Poor soundproofing means that you need a top floor room else you hear every footstep from above. We were in room 32 which is supposed to be superior and it was except for the footsteps from above and lack of a Wi-Fi signal. Wi-Fi coverage is poor so reception was full of people seeking a signal. Views are stunning though... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this review

Dear Sir The Parador de Turismo of Santa Catalina wishes that your stay has been as suitable as possible. Therefore welcome all your comments so that we can anticipate your needs. We have wanted to satisfy all your expectative, we thank all the suggestions and ideas you could provide us. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

This castle Parador is majestically located on top of a hill that can immediately be seen from miles away. It's set in a commanding location and is so dramatically impressive! The rooms were wonderful, the reception staff was excellent, the food was delicious, and the ambience spectacular!! Imagine staying in a gorgeous castle sipping wine and looking out over your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this review

Dear Sir Teh Parador de Turismo of Santa Catalina wishes that your stay has been as suitable as possible. Therefore welcome all your comments so that we can anticipate your needs. We have wanted to satisfy all your expectative, we thank all the suggestions and ideas you could provide us. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

This Parador is located in a restored castle at the top of the hill overlooking Jaén. We got horribly lost driving through the town to get there - best to skirt around the side of the town and up! The a The castle ambience is amazing, especially the bar area with its high vaulted ceilings, and the equally dramatic TV... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this review

Dear Sir The Parador de Turismo of Santa Catalina wishes that your stay has been as suitable as possible. Therefore welcome all your comments so that we can anticipate your needs. We have wanted to satisfy all your expectative, we thank all the suggestions and ideas you could provide us. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon... More 

Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

This was our second visit to this hotel which must be one of the best castle hotels in europe. Our bedroom had plenty of character with balcony overlooking the valley. The common rooms are absolutely fabulous and the staff were very good, a big improvement on paradore staff of old. We found we had to take breakfast at the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jorge C, Director de Recepción at Parador de Jaen, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you to give us your opinión about the Parador. We are agree with you, the castle is outstanding and the valley views are amazing. We will be great to see you in the future. Best regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

382 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (348)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (61)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
View from room (33)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (167)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaen
3.9 mi away
Hotel HO Ciudad de Jaen
1.3 mi away
Hotel Infanta Cristina
25.8 mi away
Balneario San Andres
Balneario San Andres
#4 of 18 in Jaen
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Juleca
Hotel Juleca
#2 of 18 in Jaen
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 18 in Jaen
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Condestable Iranzo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay