We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ghan House

2 Ghan Road, Carlingford, Ireland
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
LOG FIRES AT GHAN HOUSE
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ghan House
Professional photos View all
Ghan House
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    37
    21
    23
    21
See reviews for
33
85
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (208)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We recently (September ) had our civil partnership at Ghan House. It really was superb in every way. Each time we visited the house while planning for our day Paul, both Sarah's and Aoife were extremely helpful.All our questions and concerns were met with gentle reassurance. We also felt that they listened and helped us plan a day which we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

Exclusive use of the whole house and walled private gardens – is key and what we offer here at Ghan House for your wedding day – together with ‘excellent food and service’. It’s what we do every day – whether it’s for a large group such as yours taking over the whole house (no other guests apart from yours) or... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

It was such a pleasure to stay in Ghan House in mid November. My friend hired a dining room for Saturday evening and we stayed in most of the rooms on Friday and all of them on Saturday for her 50th Birthday celebration. The atmosphere is relaxed and Paul and his team made us very welcome and saw to all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed yourselves and enjoyed everything we have to offer, We do many, many birthday parties, utilising our private dining room – a gorgeous room with it’s own fine large long table and big Georgian fireplace. You were a pleasure for all of us to look after. Hospitality is really very rewarding for both you and us when you... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

I just spent my 50 th birthday weekend at Ghan house with 20 of my best friends and family and it was just superb in every possible way. I already loved the hotel as have had romantic stays there in the past. But as a venue for my special weekend it surpassed all expectations. We took all the rooms in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

Yet another 50th birthday party! And I turned 50 this year too – January 1964 must have been cold! Thank you for appreciating our high service standards. Ghan House is such a beautiful house for you to enjoy – it’s up to us to work around you – I hate ‘over service’ – you are here to enjoy yourselves after... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

First time at Ghan House. Went with a group of friends and it was perfect. Lovely staff and service - very easy going but always available if you needed anything. Nothing was too much trouble. Made us all feel very at home and relaxed. We had booked one of the rooms for a private dinner - worked very well. Beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

Log fires, candlelight, private dining available for groups, lovely staff & service, relaxing, great walking – I think in five lines you very easily summed up all that our guests appreciate about Ghan House and the beautiful area we live - on our doorstep. Simple, wholesome hospitality. Oh, must tell you, we have been accepted by Ireland’s Blue Book –... More 

Liverpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Just enjoyed a fantastic weekend stay at Ghan House. I first discovered Ghan House over 10 years ago and have visited 3 or 4 times in recent years. This wonderful hotel is full of character and one of the most welcoming, laid back and comfortable hotels I've ever stayed in. An amazing restaurant too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

You’re just the best! We are so lucky so many similar minded guests do return time and again. Just recently we have had a number of couples who stayed with us over 10 years ago and this year has been their 1st chance to revisit (children etc) – which is great they still remember us. For our point of view... More 

Belfast
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

There were 8 of us who visited Ghan House for a cookery class. We were greeted by the owner, who was an extremely friendly gentleman who made us all feel very welcome. The cookery class was overseen by an experienced chef, but to be honest it felt more like we were being supervised rather than taught (which was fine!) There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

Cookery Classes for groups – whether it be for group of girls such as yourselves or corporate groups whereby you also learn and get to cook your own lunch and dinner – we do so many of these. And yes, they are great fun as you found out by taking part yourself! And the best thing is it’s a great... More 

Gorey, Ireland
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014 via mobile

I was very disappointed with our recent stay in Ghana house for my mother in laws 70th birthday. There was a large group of us staying with children also. Our room had large spiders and cobwebs in every corner, there was a covering of dust in places and our room overlooked a huge pile of horse manure from the neighbouring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments – I spoke to your sister-in-law on the ‘phone immediately after your event. If you speak regularly, I’m sure you would have received this information rather than using the easy, harsh world of anonymous internet speak It’s always better to talk. Which is what I did with her. All further comments she eloquently wrote and... More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Unfortunately I was very disappointed on our recent weekend stay @ Gahn House ...we were warmly greeted on arrival, the room was beautiful, however, the towels in the bathroom weren't clean and breakfast was very disappointing...the service was very poor, unfortunately the girl who took our order for breakfast was 'away with the fairies' didn't listen to our requests...general selection... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

I’m sorry your visit to Ghan House was not to our usual standard and I’m sorry you did not get to enjoy our 2AA Rosette restaurant – we’ve had a very busy year – starting from January and it was time to let our chefs earn a well deserved break. Our business has been based upon 17 years of hard... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We didn't spend much time researching this property, but booked on the basis of the attractive pictures on its website. We arrived late afternoon for a one-night stay on our way to Belfast to be met by a stoney-faced member of staff who, to our disappointment, led us away from the attractive house to a cramped family room in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

I’m sorry your stay was not satisfactory – I always ask guests on leaving if you enjoyed your stay. Indeed I spent 20 minutes with your older son (he's just 1yr older than my son) and you/your wife in the morning and absolutely nothing as to what you describe was mentioned. I'm sorry you did not sit in our log... More 

Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Myself and my Husband got married in Ghan House on the 25th of July 2014. We were recommend it by a friend of the family, and straight away we both fell in love with the house and its beautiful location. We booked it exclusively for the day and stayed the night before and after with our guests. The staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

We firmly believe that your wedding day (and any other occasion) is down to you and your guests to relax and enjoy themselves. What we all do is exactly what we would expect ourselves – nothing is ever a problem. Our maturity as people and a business is reflected in all that we do – our reputation is based over... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ghan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghan House

Address: 2 Ghan Road, Carlingford, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Carlingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ghan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghan House Hotel Carlingford

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Ghan House

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby