We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Maynooth hotels

Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hotel Near M4 Motorway, Maynooth, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Carton House Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
84%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
ryan p belfast
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    239
    113
    56
    34
See reviews for
193
518
21
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A group of 10 of us stayed here in early September to play some golf. We arrived before the check in time as we would be on the course when check in opened and the receptionist was able to give us most of our rooms and the five rooms were all beside each other. Hotel facilities are great with everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monaghan, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Spent a Saturday night with 3 other couples, while the "boys" played golf on the O'Meara course the "girls" enjoyed their time in the Spa. Arrived around 12.30 midday and we were all able to check in straight away which is always a bonus. Room was large, spotlessly clean and had all the mod cons including complimentary WiFi, flat screen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a two night stay and really loved the hotel but on a scale of 10 we gave it a 7 as we were in a newly built wing and not the old house . No dressing gowns, slippers or luxury bits ie no biscuits on the tea tray ,fridge didn't work and the TV remote had no batteries.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Love this place! Went with my husband for one night on our way back from a few nights in Galway, just wish we could have stayed here longer. A beautiful hotel in idyllic settings.. We were so lucky that the weather was beautiful so we were able to laze about in the beer garden and on the lawn. Our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here with a friend (after my recommendation) at the end of August. Service in the restaurant for dinner was particularly bad. Staff extremely unfriendly. Breakfast was no better...stood in a queue for 30 minutes (on a Monday morning!!) with not as much as an apology from staff when it was our turn. What made it more annoying was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I don't play golf. This is still one of the best hotels I've stayed in. A beautiful hotel in a most fantastic location. If you play golf it's even better. The staff were very friendly and efficient and very helpful. The room was very clean and a good size. Very nice and large bathroom, a nice touch is the separate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

With two very good friends we decided to spend the last weekend of August in Carton House. In preparation we had reserved Dinner on all three nights and were assured that the only times were 7.00pm,8.00pm and 7.00pm. This was the introduction to a 'hit and miss' experience which left us wondering what 4 stars represent in the world of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Rosie o, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of the management and staff of Carton House Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others. I am sorry to hear about the negative experience which you had in the Carton House last month. I would like to apologise on behalf of our... More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed in the Carton house before and thought it was nice, perhaps it was because it was midweek and a work convention. Today my experience was the worst I have ever experienced anywhere. I'm quick to praise and slow to criticise. Where do I start. Well if it was my hotel, I'd sack the restaurant management team. We arrived... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Rosie o, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of the team here at Carton House Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others. We are delighted that you enjoyed the grounds and facilities here at Carton House. The team at Carton House are very disappointed to hear that you had a... More

Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In 2013 we tied the knot and spent 4 luxurious nights in carton house as our minimoon. This year for our first anniversary we returned and were equally impressed by this gem of a hotel. Carton house melds modern day luxury with old world charm. We had the pleasure of staying in an old house room complete with four poster... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rosie o, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of the team here at Carton House Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others. I am delighted to see that you had such a positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the service and facilities on offer here in Carton House.... More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Forgot my iphone charger and hotel reception were unable to help. What kind of hotel does not have iphone charging facilities? Dreadful! 180.00 paid to them and they can't provide a basic service? I would find it hard to believe that I am the first guest who needed a phone charger. 4* hotel it is certainly not.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Rosie o, Guest Relations Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of the team here at Carton House Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others. We are very sorry to see your disappointment with our services. We apologise that we did not have any chargers available to you upon request. Our guest services... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Carton House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Hotel Near M4 Motorway, Maynooth, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carton House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Carton House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carton House Hotel And Golf Club
Carton Hotel Maynooth

250 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (192)
Viewed
Room/suite (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (48)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Maynooth with
any amenities