We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shearwater Hotel

Marina Point, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Shearwater Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ballinasloe
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Andrea B Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    144
    64
    38
    29
See reviews for
124
142
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (439)
  • Mar-May only
    (133)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (99)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (110)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Enjoyed staying at the Shearwater. The food was good- lots of variety at breakfast and the dinner menu was well thought out and well delivered. The room was nice- could do with a lick of paint on the walls but it was clean. Small annoyances- not a lot of channels on the tv (no channel 4 for example) and also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this as a mid week getaway as a couple when we had some time off. There were many positives but also some issues that affected our enjoyment of the hotel. When staying in Ballinasloe the hotel is going to be of pivotal importance as it is most likely going to be the highlight of your trip. We knew... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a wedding in April. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Hotel facilities were fine (but we just wanted a good bar and a nice room). The room was very spacious and quite clean. We'd have liked it if the room had an iron since we were there for a wedding and wanted to get the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed here 2 nights to attend a wedding. lobby and bar areas are nice and spacious and staff are very friendly, nothing to fault there at all. stayed in a room on the first floor, and was awakened by the usual hotel room door slamming from 7am onwards, but the worst noise was from the chair and table dragging downstairs,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShearwaterGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eirecoretraveller, Many thanks for choosing to stay at the Shearwater hotel and great to learn of your very enjoyable day while attending a wedding celebration. Your suggestions on how to minimise any noise from the dining area are very helpful and one which we will be putting to use. Should you be staying with us in the future please... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel as part of my job. I travelled with a collegue as support staff for a person with special needs. I couldn't fault it in any way. From the instant we arrived Liz on reception was so professional while also friendly (often difficult to do). Every single member of staff was pleasant, friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShearwaterGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Georgina, Many thanks for choosing to stay with us at the Shearwater hotel and delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. All of the team will be delighted to receive recognition for their hard work and Liz will be especially pleased to have received special mention, as she takes great pride & care in all of her dealings,... More 

Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Because the staff in this hotel were so nice I could not complain to them that 1. The room description that I booked 6 months ago was not the room that we were given 2. Craft beer in the bar not stocked in fridge & served actually warm & 3. Hot food at breakfast not hot,eggs cold. But I must... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShearwaterGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alice Springs Ireland, Thank you for valued feedback, but disappointing that we fell below our usual high standards in certain areas. I would be very grateful if you could forward details as to what guestroom description you had been sold, so I can review how the misinterpretation arose. We have recently added a new well received Craft beer menu,... More 

County Clare, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an amazing two night stay here. We didn't bring the kids, it was a relaxing weekend away. It was about the treatments and food. The spa was fabulous and the massage was unbelievable. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious. I would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShearwaterGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elaine C, Many thanks for the very positive feedback and I know that Catriona and the spa team will be delighted to be described as "Ireland's best spa." All of our treatments on offer in our Heather and Earth Spa are designed to ensure complete relaxation and enjoyment and all of the spa team deliver them with great professionalism... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed there during the week and were very pleasantly surprised by the high standard of deco and facilities as well as friendliness and professionalism of staff! The hotel was probably the best and only attraction of Ballinasloe...It was cosy, but comfortable and modern. We also had food in the bar, which was ok. The most impressive was the attitude... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShearwaterGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sylwia, Many thanks for your very positive feedback and high level of praise for all of the team at the Shearwater hotel. Each team member is dedicated to providing all guests with a real positive experience, delivered through our two core values of: professionalism & personality. As General Manager, working with such a team makes for a very positive... More 

Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was surprised there was such a large hotel in a small town but it was really a nice choice. Lobby is very nice and they hosted a wedding there both fri and sat night which I came to find out that is quite common at this hotel anyway. Room was nice with 1 twin, 1 double, and 1 sturdy cot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShearwaterGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HeatherJ22, Many thanks for choosing the Shearwater hotel and great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of our food offering. We are very fortunate to have a very dedicated kitchen brigade, who are continuously focused on providing consistently tasty and appealing dishes. Disappointing that you endured late night noise issues, as while we are a favoured wedding destination,... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a function in the hotel and was left slightly disappointed (even though we weren't expecting much..). The receptionist wasn't very friendly and never told us where anything was located!! Our "executive suite" was shabby and worn out - the carpets were torn, the walls shabby and stained, and an awful smell in the rooms. The beds were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShearwaterGM, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenny O Very concerning to learn of your overall poor experience, which does not reflect our high standard of guest offering. I will be contacting you directly and would be most grateful if you could forward any further insight to the below email address. Thanking you for your very constructive feedback, all of which is being used to assist... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question