We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandhouse Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Donegal Bay, Rossnowlagh, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandhouse Hotel
Professional photos View all
Sandhouse Hotel
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    55
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
77
155
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (325)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (149)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Kells, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Lovely location for a romantic getaway, amazing view from our room, we felt part of the ocean. The food was some of the best I've ever eaten in Ireland. Only downfall was the showers but that maybe due to teething issues as it just reopened. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed two nights at this charming hotel. The minute you walk into the reception area the smell of peat burning on the fire washes over you. We stayed in a superior room, large bedroom with amazing views of Rossnowlagh beach. You can fall asleep listening to the waves rushing in. We had two very clear nights and the moon and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Belleek, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is special for Sunday lunch,The seaview dinning room looking across Rossnowlagh beach and beautiful Donegal bay with Slieve league in the distance is a sight to really capture. our Sunday lunch was outstanding for taste and Quality and we will return soon again excellent staff, and warm welcome by the general manager.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PDiver, Owner at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words.Yes Sunday Lunch is proving very popular since we moved the Restaurant upstairs overlooking the beach. More 

County Wicklow, Ireland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There is no doubt the hotel's biggest asset is the stunning beachside location. We echo previous reviews that you MUST have a sea view room as you can sit for hours in the lovely picture windows and enjoy. We had read the hotel is dated in decor so were prepared and therefore not disappointed, but if a modern look is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
PDiver, Owner at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We never ask anyone to write a review, we prefer to communicate directly to our guests. I speak to all of our guests during dinner. I am in the hotel every morning to supervise breakfast and again to speak to our guests. It is unfortunate that you didn't tell me... More 

Donegal, Donegal, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife booked a weekend break for ourselve's and 3 kids we stayed an extra night, found the staff and hotel to be lovely, very clean , good food, will defo be back,,,,,The Sunday we were there there was a holy communion and there was a lot going on so the bar could'nt serve bar food but i did hear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PDiver, Owner at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you were able to stay an extra night. It was nice talking to you and hopefully we will see you during the summer. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the Sandhouse on Sunday 19th April for 1 night. As a group of 11 ladies we played golf in nearby Murvagh and booked dinner/bed/breakfast in the hotel. The dinner was delicious and the staff were so friendly and helpful. The view from our seaview rooms were spectacular. We were sorry that we could not stay longer but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PDiver, Owner at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you. Glad you enjoyed Murvagh also. More 

Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night, we arrived after climbing Slieve League which is fab & a must if you're in the area, amazing views. We went to the bar for a couple of drinks and had an excellent dinner in the restaurant - food was amazing. Stayed in a Delux Sea View room, rooms are old but clean and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PDiver, Owner at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel and some of what Donegal has to offer. Kind regards Paul More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
56 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Sandhouse Hotel is by the beach at Rossnowlagh, Donegal, a favorite place for surfers. The hotel is large, with a bar and upscale restaurant, both of which we used, and there is an adjoining spa which we didn't try out, though it looked inviting. Everything was good. Ask for a room facing the sea, and you will be lulled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PDiver, Owner at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. Yes there is nothing to compare to the sound of the waves breaking on the beach. Glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again soon.Regards Paul More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

The Sandhouse Hotel is beautifully positioned on the Rossnowlagh beach. We had a beach view room which had magnificent unspoilt views of the Atlantic. The room was beautifully decorated and had a very comfortable bed. We slept with the window open so we could just hear the waves of the Atlantic whilst going to sleep☺. The breakfast room is also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

This place really has something special. We stayed on Easter Sunday as we were celebrating a family wedding anniversary with a meal here. From the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough for us, most of whom seemed to be people from the area who take serious pride in their workplace and are only too happy to help.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities