We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandhouse Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Donegal Bay, Rossnowlagh, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandhouse Hotel
Professional photos View all
Sandhouse Hotel
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    53
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
77
152
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (322)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (149)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Belleek, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is special for Sunday lunch,The seaview dinning room looking across Rossnowlagh beach and beautiful Donegal bay with Slieve league in the distance is a sight to really capture. our Sunday lunch was outstanding for taste and Quality and we will return soon again excellent staff, and warm welcome by the general manager.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
County Wicklow, Ireland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There is no doubt the hotel's biggest asset is the stunning beachside location. We echo previous reviews that you MUST have a sea view room as you can sit for hours in the lovely picture windows and enjoy. We had read the hotel is dated in decor so were prepared and therefore not disappointed, but if a modern look is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PDiver, Owner at Sandhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We never ask anyone to write a review, we prefer to communicate directly to our guests. I speak to all of our guests during dinner. I am in the hotel every morning to supervise breakfast and again to speak to our guests. It is unfortunate that you didn't tell me... More 

Donegal, Donegal, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife booked a weekend break for ourselve's and 3 kids we stayed an extra night, found the staff and hotel to be lovely, very clean , good food, will defo be back,,,,,The Sunday we were there there was a holy communion and there was a lot going on so the bar could'nt serve bar food but i did hear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the Sandhouse on Sunday 19th April for 1 night. As a group of 11 ladies we played golf in nearby Murvagh and booked dinner/bed/breakfast in the hotel. The dinner was delicious and the staff were so friendly and helpful. The view from our seaview rooms were spectacular. We were sorry that we could not stay longer but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night, we arrived after climbing Slieve League which is fab & a must if you're in the area, amazing views. We went to the bar for a couple of drinks and had an excellent dinner in the restaurant - food was amazing. Stayed in a Delux Sea View room, rooms are old but clean and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
47 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Sandhouse Hotel is by the beach at Rossnowlagh, Donegal, a favorite place for surfers. The hotel is large, with a bar and upscale restaurant, both of which we used, and there is an adjoining spa which we didn't try out, though it looked inviting. Everything was good. Ask for a room facing the sea, and you will be lulled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Sandhouse Hotel is beautifully positioned on the Rossnowlagh beach. We had a beach view room which had magnificent unspoilt views of the Atlantic. The room was beautifully decorated and had a very comfortable bed. We slept with the window open so we could just hear the waves of the Atlantic whilst going to sleep☺. The breakfast room is also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place really has something special. We stayed on Easter Sunday as we were celebrating a family wedding anniversary with a meal here. From the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough for us, most of whom seemed to be people from the area who take serious pride in their workplace and are only too happy to help.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We attended a 40th Wedding Anniversary dinner here on Easter Sunday and we were very impressed with this hotel, the dinner was beautiful and the service was fantastic.The staff were wonderful and so helpful, nothing was to much trouble for them. Views from the restaurant were amazing as we could watch the surfers in the water and people walking on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Co Down, N Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staying in another part of Donegal we were driving about and came across this hotel and decided to have dinner here as the views were spectacular. The restaurant is on the first floor and has marvellous views over the atlantic and the surfers. Very comfortable chairs, white linen table wear and thick carpet gives this restaurant a very luxurious feel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question