We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oriel House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Ballincollig 021, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Oriel House Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballincollig
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
597olivia County Kerry, Ireland
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    130
    75
    39
    23
See reviews for
119
127
26
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (452)
  • Mar-May only
    (113)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (129)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (104)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (106)
All months
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed last nite 4 of us and went to the bar for food to say I never seen such bad service in all my years staying in hotels around the country.we had to wait 40 mins to get menus and then asked could we order and were told three times that someone would come and take them..finally when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been a member of the gym at Oriel for years. On occasions over the last number of years my wife and I would eat in the Bar but it was very ,very poor. Last Friday we decided to give the new look bar a go. Lovely décor, nice atmosphere & friendly staff. The food I would say was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stay here over a year ago and wrote a review that was not very complementary. What a change! Room was warm, breakfast was fabulous and the staff were wonderful with plenty of choice. Selections of cold meats and cheese, hot delicious food. What happened to this place? I will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the Oriel with my family on a recent trip home to Ballincollig. I was excited to see the new Bar / Bistro. My dad had booked a table for 1930. We arrived at 1920 and enquired about our table as there was someone sitting at it (he had been shown the table when he went in to book).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would like to thank James Cleary & staff for a very helpful experience post my knee replacement operation.The personal program given to me was perfect for my rehab.My first six month checkup at hospital was passed with flying colours.Again many thanks to all. Brien Twohig.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was in the ballincollig area for a few days catching with some old work colleagues and we decided to have lunch in the oriel. What a major disappointment. We arrived to find that the bar was closed for refurbishment, a very disgruntled member of staff told us go to the restaurant but hadn't time to show us where it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
GeneralManagerOriel, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, I thank you for taking the time to review our property following your recent visit to Oriel House. Our bar was recently closed for refurbishment, but thankfully we have just opened our new Oriel Bar & Bistro. It is extremely disappointing to read you did not receive the usual friendly efficient service our team are regularly praised for,... More 

County Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. On arrival we were told the bar was closed for renovations. I couldn't understand why when the hotel had rang a few days before to confirm booking that they did not tell me this. I would have changed my booking to another date. The resident bar was fine on Saturday night. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GeneralManagerOriel, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you taking the time to write a review following your recent visit with us. I know you are a regular visitor to our hotel, and you offered us a really nice review on your previous visit. I am truly sorry we were not in a position to offer you a more enjoyable experience, on this occasion. Please... More 

Cork
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited the restaurant last week (the bar area is being renovated), and the food and service was very disappointing. It looked more like food from a takeaway, except it was served in a plate. The chowder was nice, no bread served, had to request this, and then waited for a long time for it to arrive, only brown bread... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManagerOriel, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel following your recent visit with us. this is certainly not the type of experience we hope our guests receive when they visit us. Our new Bar & Bistro has reopened, and I hope you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves. If you would... More 

Cork, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here recently for Sunday lunch (before I say anything the food was lovely when we did get it,). We all put in our order(4 adults) but it was like the server wasn't listening to us or kitchen was at fault but we didn't get something's we asked for and were left short things we requested, and we had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GeneralManagerOriel, General Manager at Oriel House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent visit with us. Whilst it is nice to hear our food vas enjoyable, it is disappointing to read we did not deliver on our usual high standard of service. I take your comments on board in the relation to the efficiency of our service, and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay