We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Reynihlid

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Route 1, Myvatn 660, Iceland
Hotel Reynihlid
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Myvatn
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
gean2011 New Delhi, India
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    78
    32
    7
    4
See reviews for
25
111
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (182)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my husband went to dinner at Reynihlið. The menu was one piece of paper, the food was over cooked and overprized (we live in Iceland and this was very expensive compared to icelandic restaurants). We are very diaappointed and are not going there again or recomennd it to a friend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thuridurp, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Reynihlid, responded to this review

Hello Gudrun, We are extremely sorry to hear about your experience at our restaurant. We pour our hearts out trying to please our guests, so they can enjoy their experience to the fullest. I have contacted our restaurant team, our head waiter and head chef, and they seem not to have received any complaints in the last weeks, so please... More 

New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the hotel is right next to road so you don't need to take any detours. It was in line with expectations of hotels in Iceland. there was a very nice restaurant right next to the hotel with delicious food! the Myvatn hot baths are nearby (about 2 km away). The rooms had all the basic amenities with free tea and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thuridurp, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Reynihlid, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience, please be welcome again! Best regards, Þuríður Pétursdóttir More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a beautiful room. The hotel has a sauna and decent restaurant. Their Wi-Fi was probably the fastest of any of the hotels we stayed at in Iceland. I logged in to my workplace and the connection was close to being at my home. We did not see many other hotel's in this area and I believe this was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thuridurp, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Reynihlid, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Please be welcome again! Best regards, Þuríður Pétursdóttir More 

Margate, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We stayed 3 nights at this great hotel. Should have been 5 but unfortunately the weather was closing in so had to change our plans. Our room was lovely, large & well appointed. We had a double aspect view which was great. The staff were all amazing, nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant offers a small selection but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thuridurp, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Reynihlid, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Best regards, Þuríður Pétursdóttir More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

To explore the environment of Myvatn with all it's beauty and volcanic curiousities it is nice to have a great base where you can start and end your daily activities. And that is exactly what this hotel was for us during our three night stay here. Although the en-suite rooms are a little outdated (roomdoors are pinching), over all this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

We stayed there for a couple of days. The hotel is located at walking distance to the lake shore, you could start trekking from there. The people were very friendly and helpful. The rooms seem to be quite different - ours was nice and spacey, with a view of the lake and very clean. Breakfast is OK like everywhere in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We had a pleasant couple of nights here. Arrived by private car from Akurieri Airport which took a couple of hours. The hotel is one of the main buildings in the area and we found it easily. It's a three star hotel and I was pleased with the room which was clean, comfortable and quiet! I clearly had a better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

A pleasant stay. The room was tidy and clean. Breakfast was buffet style with an average selection but dinner is in a separate bistro across car park. The Bistro food was basic. On recommendation went to the Cow Shed restaurant 5 mins down the road by car for dinner on our second night, good move.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Naples, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

I had a good staying at the hotel. Rooms are comfortable even if the furniture is minimal. At the restaurant you could taste the original Icelandic kitchen accompanied by the good local beer Gamli. Close to the hotel there is a scary cemetery. It was amazing to see the northern lights over it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Almost wanted to give this spot 1 star, but there were 3 saving graces: great location, friendly staff, and a clean and comfortable bed. I do appreciate these things about Hotel Reynihlid. The rest? The most unpleasant and worn out of all 8 accommodations we had during our time in Iceland. Very musty and downright unpleasant smelling bathroom with moldy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thuridurp, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Reynihlid, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. All our reviews we are happy to receive, and we use them to improve our hotels and restaurants in any way we can. We are very sorry to read about your experience at our hotel. We wish these remarks would have been made upon your stay so we could have improved your stay.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question