We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Canyon Gateway Inn

2.0 of 5 334 East Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046 (Formerly Rodeway Inn at Route 66)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Canyon Gateway Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Canyon Gateway Inn
Grand Canyon Gateway Inn
Grand Canyon Gateway Inn
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    11
    21
    36
See reviews for
31
22
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
There are newer reviews for Grand Canyon Gateway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Lexington, KY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

The room heat is a gas heat and it felt as though it wasnt warm though the heater seemed to be switched on through the night....It felt chilly all the while.. rest was okay(microwave/fridge/tv/clean bath room/hot water etc)..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona, Catalunya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Read First in English, then Spanish Lee primero en Ingles y luego en Castellano. We stayed in this hotel for one night prior to the visit of the Grand Canyon. The booking was made by mistake, since the idea was to stay in a hotel called about the same, ... Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66, motel very similar name,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

It doesn't offers very much but the just to have a good stay. In addition the motel is in the main street near restaurants, shops, laundry...

Was this review helpful? Yes
ENGLAND
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

This pokey motel was the most expensive on our 5 week trip and one of the worst. As soon as we went into the room we were hit by the smell that was coming from a drain in the bathroom floor. It improved when we covered it with a wet towel but overall the bathroom felt dirty. There was an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheLodgeWilliams, Owner at Grand Canyon Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Yikes, what a terrible experience. However, this guest DID NOT stay at the Rodeway Inn & Suites, Downtowner Motel. There are several motels in Williams with similar names. We do not have gas wall heaters, pilot lights of any kind or drains in the middle of our floors. All our rooms have been completely remodeled and are very modern and... More 

Northern California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Our family stayed for a few nights while visiting Grand Canyon. Location superb. Facility showed aging (e.g., doors and windows ill-fitting). Daily maid service nice except daily vacuuming not done. Periodic deep cleaning never seemed to be done (e.g., wall in bathroom had smears, soiled napkins under bed). Beds uncomfortable and felt low-end.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Was passing through Williams for one night with the family on route to Grand Canyon - don't get this confused with Rodeway Inn downtown route 66 - I read up on this motel and read good comments -I think it was the wrong hotel. The room was clean enough - old and had been repainted - that didn't bother me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Check-in was ok, no surprises. The value, I know it now, was not adequate to the rate paid. I guess all hotels in the area are living out of tourism, but all rates are quite high. Anyway this one was strange. Everything was looking like it was going to tear apart as soon as you touch it. But the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

Like another reviewer, I also mistakenly booked this motel believing that I was booking the higher rated Rodeway down the street. Who knew that such a small town on Route 66 could have TWO Rodeway Inns? The only positive experience was a conversation with the manager who was very nice. The room, however, was a total dump. We walked in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Grand Canyon Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Gateway Inn

Address: 334 East Route 66, Williams, AZ 86046 (Formerly Rodeway Inn at Route 66)
Location: United States > Arizona > Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Canyon Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay