We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Buttes, A Marriott Resort

#12 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Buttes, A Marriott Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Buttes, A Marriott Resort
The Buttes, A Marriott Resort
The Buttes, A Marriott Resort
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    295
    121
    51
    40
See reviews for
156
207
41
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (887)
  • Mar-May only
    (312)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (218)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (181)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (176)
All months
Nottingham England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

One night stay on way to Tucson. Room had been refurbished to some extent but the shower in our room had been 'mended and made to work" by a non practical person. The hotel is very dated and of its time. Top of the rock restaurant was good, but generally a lot of work needs to be done with this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback in regards to your stay with us. We are currently in the middle of renovations that are going to improve conference center, lobby, outlets, and then we will be going back into the guest rooms to work on the bathroom areas that were not touched the first round. We do... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Dated/old rooms. Television of very poor quality. No movie options, the front desk offers a DVD player. For one on vacation, DVDs are not normally packed. No robes. WiFi is additional. For spending hundreds of dollars an evening for resort quality, this location was sadly disappointing. Also 'phantom' charges in which the hotel could not explain. I will not return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were disappointed in the amenities we have to offer here at the hotel. We do not have pay per view movies in our guest rooms but do provide the DVD player along with your choice of a movie from the small collection the front desk has, or from the red box close by to the... More 

Amston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Not what you would expect. Hotel is warn. Rooms don't appear to have been updated in recent history. Service is marginal. Long wait for food at pool side bar. They also close early. Location in Tempe also isn't great. The valley has better alternatives.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations during your stay here with us. We pride ourselves by providing exceptional service at a property that is meant to make one feel like they are on a get a way in the middle of the city. We do appreciate the feedback and your time. Thank you. More 

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved this hotel. Staff was super nice. Pool is amazing and great for kids. We had a king corner room that worked great for our family of 5. 3 small kids. 2 girls on a pullout and one on a roll away. Breakfast is amazing and we had coupons for free buffets for 2 adults. The staff was super... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to another family weekend in the future. Thank you! More 

San Ramon, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

- Rude font desk clerks. They could care less of your Marriott Elite status (Platinum in my case). I got "upgraded" to a room facing directly into the rocks, about 1 mile away from the lobby/restaurants/main hotel. That is after I asked for a room change because my original room was 1 1/2 miles away, shoved at the very tail... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. We do our best to satisfy all guest types and we are well known for our appreciation of Elite Rewards guests and return guests. This time of year we are at capacity the majority of the week. We will always upgrade an Elite member if it... More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed here for Spring Training. The staff is super nice, BUT rooms are loud, bathrooms (sink and vanity) are not enclosed so the noise is incredible if you want to sleep and someone is using the sink. We had the nicest room but it had no privacy, walkway right in front of the patio door so people walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback in regards to your experience. This is the time of year that our location is either great or not so great depending on purpose of visit. We are close to the freeway and airport. The Angels stadium is adjacent to the hotel and with Spring training and Spring break, traffic... More 

Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night on our way to Hawaii. Our flight arrived in Phoenix at 8 a.m. and we were able to check in that early, which was much appreciated. Taxi fare from the airport was only $16. They do not offer a shuttle. You would need a car to get around if you were staying longer. The pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed you stay over on your way to Hawaii. We do appreciate the review and hope that your vacation was enoyable. More 

long Island NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First let me say I am a avid tripadvisor fanatic. prior to this visit I checked in every day to the site to read reviews of the resort and surrounding areas for weeks., Arizona is an amazing state that offers such variety of scenery that you might feel as if you were in several states in one. Our first night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the awesome feedback in regards to your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and what beauty Arizona has to offer. We look forward to being your choice destination in future trips back to the Phoenix area. Thank you again More 

PA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Resort is nice for a family getaway to have fun in the sun and relax. There are MANY steps throughout property so if stairs are difficult for you, I would advise against this property. Otherwise it's a unique place built into the Buttes with great character and scenery. We had a great time coming to relax in the warmth and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate the review and look forward to another stay. More 

Monument, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've never been disappointed with a Marriott until I stayed at the Buttes. They were very slow with getting a room ready upon check-in and we were so disappointed when we finally got our room; it felt very dungeon-like. The ceilings are low and there is an odd cut-out between the wall and ceiling to the bath area. The shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback in regards to your stay with us. We are sorry that the property felt dated, but glad you enjoyed the beauty it has to offer. We will share your feedback with the team to see if we cant address any of the issues brought to our attention. Thank you again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

260 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (220)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (65)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (62)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question