We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

#5 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
5300 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    189
    54
    10
    13
See reviews for
143
168
44
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (544)
  • Mar-May only
    (174)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (130)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (136)
All months
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in room 219 from May12th to May 13th and was disappointed. The room and bathroom were very basic and the complimentary breakfast was very limited. For these reasons and the fact that it was not that close to the airport I would not stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy F, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review

Hello Carlybaby1, On one hand, I sure was disappointed to hear that you were less than pleased with our location and breakfast selections but on the other hand you didn't seem to have anything negative to say about our guest services or overall hotel experience so that was a plus. Hopefully we will see you again and maybe you will... More 

Steilacoom, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Quality service and accommodations from beginning to end. Check in was easy, the room clean and newly appointed. Breakfast was a cut above most motels in variety of food and quality. The only problem we had was with the TV remote. It would only go down in channels. I call the desk and they sent someone up in less than... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy F, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review

Good afternoon John L, Thank you for writing such a nice review of our hotel. It brings a smile to my face to know that everything met or exceeded your expectations. Even when there was a glitch, our team responded accordingly. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon. More 

NV
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Convenient location to scheduled activities. Free Breakfast choices and coffee were provided. Carpeting in room had several stains. Microwave and refrigerator clean and working. Housekeeping did not replace towels or empty garbage on one day of our visit. Front desk had to bring up fresh towels.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy F, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review

Good afternoon and thank you for reviewing our hotel. I know quite a few hotels would be satisfied with your review but we are not one of them. We will redouble our efforts to "WOW" you the next time you come to Phoenix. Any additional pointers that you could provide me would be of great value. Again, thank you for... More 

Ontario
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I chose this location because of its airport shuttle service and because of the quality we've come to expect from Best Western Plus. We wanted something that wasn't too close to the airport so the planes flying overhead wouldn't disturb our sleep. We also asked for a wake up call, since we needed to be at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy F, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review

Thank you Ontario for writing such a nice review of our hotel. Your comments were spot-on with our goals for guest experiences here. We try very hard to do the simple things to perfection as we believe they are the foundation for an exceptional stay. Thanks again and please come stay with us again. More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
101 hotel reviews
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Tempe by the Mall one night during our western road trip. We found this hotel to be very good. The lobby is nice, clean and comfortable with complimentary coffee and ice water. Staff was excellent at check in. We had a king pet friendly room with a sliding door leading directly out to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy F, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review

Thank you KMM66 for reviewing our hotel. You comments about our hotel were very much appreciated. The references to cleanliness, convenience, comfort and breakfast are especially important as they are definite focal points for our training. I hope your future travels bring you back to Phoenix as we would love to have stay with us again. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was in town for a conference and stayed a week at this hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The shuttle drivers were great, ferrying me to and from Arizona Grand for my conference daily. Mall is nearby and convenient. Great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy F, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review

Good morning Fifi A, Thank you so much for the nice review. It is always a great feeling when you receive feedback that reinforces the need for all of the training that we do. I had the pleasure of driving you over to the Arizona Grand on two mornings during your stay and I thoroughly enjoyed our conversations. Thank you... More 

Prescott Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the BW Tempe by the Mall. It's easy access in and out; has a nice pool; and the staff is wonderful. When we got there, they were making fresh popcorn and it was quite nice to just sit and nibble on some before we checked in. Then we decided to stay in Tempe an extra day and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy F, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review

Thank you Doreen1314 for the amazing review of our hotel. It is so nice to see a review that is so above and beyond normal expectations and is what we train so hard to achieve. It is nice to see the fruits of our labor. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you in the future. More 

Courtenay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was super clean and the staff were amazing. I have to say the shuttle driver Art made my stay exceptional, remembering me from a stay back in September. I was given the same room, as requested, although I knew this couldn't be guaranteed. Walking to the Mall and getting a crazy "shop on" was great! Plenty of hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy F, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review

Dear Controller 1590, Thank you so much for writing such a glowing recommendation of our hotel. I assure you that this review will make our Wall of Fame and Art will receive a special "Thank You" from me. We look forward to a repeat performance for you when you come back to shop for that prom dress. Warmest regards, More 

San Tan Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stay at the Best Western Plus the night before fly out for vacations. The rooms rates are very reasonable, include a really hearty breakfast, pool, and a shuttle to and from Sky Harbor Airport. We always stay the night before we leave and for an additional small fee we can leave our car in the parking lot for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy F, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review

Good morning PenAnne, Thank you for the beautiful endorsement of our hotel. It was spot on for what we try to achieve. The work is worth the reward. Thanks again and please come again. More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Of all the Best Westerns in the Valley, this is my favorite one at which to stay. The rooms are really nice. It is in a great location, with easy access to the airport. I use their Park and Fly package which is extremely convenient for travel. I recommend Best Western Tempe by the Mall.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randy F, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review

Thank you Saintmaker, Wow, we really appreciate you putting us at the top of the Phoenix area Best Westerns. That's quite an honor coming from an such an experienced traveler. We will keep it up. Thanks again, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay