We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matterhorn Inn

#16 of 46 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
230 Apple Ave, Sedona, AZ 86336
Announcement
Views of Spring
Matterhorn Inn
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    194
    37
    4
    3
See reviews for
82
232
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (486)
  • Mar-May only
    (127)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (131)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (146)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We called all of our usual hotels and each were booked. We just happened to park near this hotel and on a whim checked for a vacancy. That was our lucky day. We got our room and thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the view from the big sliding glass doors beautiful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

just returned from a week in sedona. we decided to stay at the matterhorn inn after getting recommendations from local businesses & trip advisor reviews. the matterhorn is located in uptown sedona within walking distance to most everything. our 1st floor room was clean, comfortable, and quiet with beautiful views from the room & balcony. hotel staff was friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phoenix
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice, very clean, help is friendly, easy access to old town. Walking distance to all of old town. Nice balcony. Rooms big. Easy parking to the rooms. Think they should have at least some form of breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review

Dear dottyPhoenix, Superb! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, and for sharing a picture as well! We would also like to thank you for your kind and helpful comments, and we are delighted that you and your family had quite an enjoyable time both with us and in Sedona. We hope to welcome you... More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been coming to Sedona for more than 20 years, and I wouldn't stay anywhere but the Matterhorn. Right in uptown Sedona, walking distance to so many shops and restaurants. The people who work there are warm and friendly - Barry warned us about the St. Patrick's day parade so that we would be able to avoid traffic and still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mary W, We are thrilled to have earned your business for many years to come! We truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and we are happy to hear that your experience was memorable, comfortable and convenient. We look forward to seeing you again! Well regards More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found this place after reviewing TripAdvisor, and we were NOT disappointed! We were on the second floor on the end, and the view of the mountains was beautiful. We also had a view of downtown Sedona from the balcony. Did not hear any traffic or noise while inside room. The bed was very comfortable, and room beautifully decorated. Was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for the glowing review! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful experience with fellow travelers! We strive to go above and beyond guest expectations, and couldn't be happier that we certainly were successful in creating a memorable experience for you. It is wonderful to hear that our welcoming and helpful guest... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved this hotel. It is very close to everything! We walked to all our restaurants and our Pink Jeep Tour. Every room has a great view of the red rocks and watching the sun set on those rocks from our balcony was very special. The rooms even had USB ports for charging your tech toys! We will be returning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review

Dear Marla S, Marvelous! We are so happy to hear that your visit was a great success. Our USB chargers are a new addition to our rooms, and we are glad that you were able to re-charge and stay connected to share your Sedona experience. We would love to have you come back and stay with us again. All the... More 

Sugar Land TX USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I guess things are just expensive in Sedona, but our room cost more than $200 and was not what I would describe as upscale. The hotel is dated and the bathrooms are old. The manager on duty told us that there was no public restroom when my 10 year old needed to go and we were investigating this hotel. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review

Dear merkurmaniac, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your time in Sedona. We are quite disappointed to hear that your stay was less than exceptional. Sedona is in "high season" at this time, and rates do reflect the high volume of visitors in the area. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you and... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We arrived a day earlier than our reservations, fortunately they still had vacancies that night. They got us a room so we wouldn't have to switch the next night. The view out our window was nothing short of spectacular. We were just off the main road, so we could walk to plenty of stores and restaurants. Room was very clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review

Dear Andy S, Thank you for the stellar review! We are pleased to hear that there was no trouble with changing your reservation, and that you were easily accommodated. We are also quite happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of your room, from the plush linen to the beautiful views! We look forward to welcoming you back on... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
12 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

As I look out the balcony of my room the red rocks of Oak Creek Canyon are in front of me. It is a cloudy day but I can watch the clouds float in and out of the rock formations. The location of this Inn is perfect for visiting all the sites (Vortex's) in the area. There is a feeling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Orange, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Each room has a view over the rocks - which is magnificent at dawn and dusk......rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Central location - easy to walk around from here. There is a coffee maker in the room which was lovely - but I had to ask for "creamer" - milk. I made all my own arrangements whilst there....and it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
swoellmer, Front Office Manager at Matterhorn Inn, responded to this review

Dear SoulPursuits, We are delighted that you loved the views from your room; the rocks are quite stunning at any hour! We appreciate your kind comments in regards to the comforts of your room, and our great location. We certainly look forward to having you back as our guest. All the best More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

397 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (168)
Viewed
View from room (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (44)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Double Room (54)
Viewed
King Room (58)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question