We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 79 Scottsdale hotels

Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort

3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6160 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85253
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort to your Saves list
Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
50%
Ranked #65 of 79 hotels in Scottsdale
A recent review
Write a Review

472 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    139
    101
    83
    54
See reviews for
93
141
39
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Even after calling to confirm that our room would be available and ready for a late check-in, we arrived to find that our room had been given to someone else. They offered us a down-graded room that was available and to waive the ridiculous resort fee but other than that, would not offer any more compensation nor appeared to feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Curtains torn, carpet filthy, bedding unchanged from last guest, walls filthy, jacuzzi is gross, no towels at pool for entire 6 day stay. Waiving a resort fee doesn't fix bad service. Can provide pics.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
San Rafael, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a good experience and wrote a positive review of the Cottonwoods Resort a couple of years ago. I stayed there again in March 2014 and can no longer recommend it. The rooms are dirty and run down. The management has not made any upgrades or improvements. It is no longer a good place to stay at any proice!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
REBRIGHT6160, General Manager at Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I am sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. It is my hope you will give us anoth try again in the future. Thank you for your business. Sincerely, Richard Ebright General Manager More

Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Looking at the reviews, I see we were not the only ones with similar complaints. The hotel overbooked and we were sent to the Millenium for our first night after already being told we had to wait for our room. They said it was 'free' because of the mix-up, but since we had booked thru Hotels.com, it was not free.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
REBRIGHT6160, General Manager at Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I apologize that we had to walk you to another property. I know how inconvenient that can be on a traveler and I am very sorry that this happen to you. It is my hope that you will allow us another opportunity again in the future to provide you with the service you expect. Sincerely, Richard Ebright... More

Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was supposed to be a high end resort. My friend and I waited for 2 hours to get into the room on Sunday night. This is Spring Break weekend but rediculous for a Sunday night. The check in time was late at 4pm and we had to come back 3 times until the room was ready at 6pm. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
REBRIGHT6160, General Manager at Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I apologize that you had to wait for your room. It is always our goal to have all our guest rooms cleaned and ready for our next guest by 4:00 P.M.. Unfortunately we were not able to achieve that goal on your arrival day, and for that I am sorry. I hope you will allow us another... More

Boise
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hours waiting for our rooms, not the rooms we reserved. No towels, no dishes after multiple calls and visits to the front desk several times. Then they just stopped answering the phone. We were nice, tried to be understanding ... and now we feel like fools being taken. Have no expectations of services, bring your own cooking utensils, and dishes,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
REBRIGHT6160, General Manager at Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I apologize that you had to wait for your room. It is always our goal to have all our guest rooms cleaned and ready for our next guest by 4:00 P.M.. Unfortunately we were not able to achieve that goal on your arrival day, and for that I am sorry. I hope you will allow us another... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I made a reservation months in advance for a spring training visit. When I arrived the front desk clerk informed me that they had overbooked and I was being sent to the courtyard Marriott on the outskirts of town. I was shocked. This has NEVER happened to me before. "What's the point in a reservation?" I protested. My inquiries were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
REBRIGHT6160, General Manager at Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I apologize that we had to walk you to another property. I know how inconvenient that can be on a traveler and I am very sorry that this happen to you. It is my hope that you will allow us another opportunity again in the future to provide you with the service you expect. Sincerely, Richard Ebright... More

Prince George, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This so-called "resort" has a great location going for it but that is ALL. Don't stay here if you want a resort, if you only want a couple of beds, find a better deal elsewhere. Our bathroom was full of old repair work that was cracking, the bedroom was dimly lit and the TV was very small and at least... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
REBRIGHT6160, General Manager at Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay. I would like to express my apologies that our property did not meet your expectations. I do hope you will try us again in the future. SIncerely, Richard Ebright General Manager More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For the price we paid, the resort fee, and for it being in Paradise Valley and a resort, this place is a DUMP!! The pictures you see from the website or the company were either photo shopped or staged. The carpet was coming up from the floor, the room smelled like bug spray, the TV had to be from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
REBRIGHT6160, General Manager at Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am sorry our property did not meet your expectations. I hope we will have another opportunity in the future to provide you with the resort experience you expect. Sincerely, Richard Ebright General Manager More

Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We read all of the reviews of this property and most are very accurate. You simply need to figure out what is most important to you and choose the correct property that fits your needs. The Cottonwoods is an AMAZING location. It is across the street from the Borgata with a Starbucks, Trader Joes, Walgreens, a juice bar, tons of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
REBRIGHT6160, General Manager at Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I have to agree the location is great. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your return. Sincerely, Richard Ebright General Manager More

Been to Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort

Also Known As:
Scottsdale Cottonwoods Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Cottonwoods Hotel
Renaissance Scottsdale
Scottsdale Renaissance
Renaissance Scottsdale Resort
Address: 6160 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85253
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Amex, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.