We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 78 Scottsdale hotels

Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6160 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85253
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort to your Saves list
Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
49%
Ranked #65 of 78 hotels in Scottsdale
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014
Naomi D Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
  • Overview
  • Reviews (472)
  • Photos (238)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (81)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

472 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    140
    100
    85
    58
See reviews for
100
145
39
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Great location and very nice grounds but so run down and the rooms are musty and moldy - how is that possible in the desert? The carpet and bedspreads were just not clean and the room was shabby. Added to that the management is way under par. We got there the first night and they didn't have a room for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Philomath, Oregon
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel was very affordable, but sometimes that doesn't always work. A bit dated, long walk from car to room. Felt like a jump back into the 60's. TV not working, when I called the desk I felt belittled and not heard. My husband was on a business trip and I was going to be on my own most of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
REBRIGHT6160, General Manager at Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. My apologies our property did not meet your expectations. Sincerely, Richard Ebright General Manager More

Tucson, Arizona
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Don't let the pictures on their website fool you! I was so excited after seeing all of the fabulous pictures, that we decided to stay somewhere new. Boy, was that a mistake! Here are a few things that I noticed right off the bat: - There were no pool towels... ever! I even heard them call for more... none came.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
REBRIGHT6160, General Manager at Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. My apologies our property did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your business. SIncerely, Richard Ebright General Manager More

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

First I would like to say that trip advisor is accurate, I wish I would have checked before I booked. The pictures on the website is very deceiving, and in reality this place is a dump and should be torn down. It appears as though this place was built in the 70's and have never been renovated, just some patch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
REBRIGHT6160, General Manager at Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, My apologies our property did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your comments. Sincerely, Richard Ebright General Manager More

Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
17 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I got this hotel for a four night stay at a ridiculously low "Name Your Own Price" deal online and then panicked when I read the awful reviews.... however, the casita we had was clean and cozy; the front desk staff was wonderful; the resort fees of $16 daily included chips and salsa poolside; two bottled waters daily, coffee in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
REBRIGHT6160, General Manager at Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great comment. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to your return in the future. SIncerely, Richard Ebright General Manager More

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have the unlucky to stay in this hotel. The hotel is no how you can see in the picture. First of all when we arrive there was no reservation for us. So they put us in apartament very ugly and we bad smel. The swimming pool was no really clean in the little corner the bar was like warehouse.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
REBRIGHT6160, General Manager at Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I am sorry that our property did not meet your expectations. It is always our goal to exceed our guests expectations and it ssems we have fallen short this time. I thank you for your business and hope will will return again in the future. Sincerely, Richard Ebright General Manager More

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Even after calling to confirm that our room would be available and ready for a late check-in, we arrived to find that our room had been given to someone else. They offered us a down-graded room that was available and to waive the ridiculous resort fee but other than that, would not offer any more compensation nor appeared to feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
REBRIGHT6160, General Manager at Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I apologize that we were not able to provide you with the room type you had reserved. I understand how inconvenient this must have been. We always strive to exceed our guest expectation, and in this case we have fallen short, for that I am sorry. It is my hopes that you will return and allow us... More

Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Curtains torn, carpet filthy, bedding unchanged from last guest, walls filthy, jacuzzi is gross, no towels at pool for entire 6 day stay. Waiving a resort fee doesn't fix bad service. Can provide pics.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
REBRIGHT6160, General Manager at Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I am very sorry for the condition of the room that you received. That is unacceptable. I have personally followed up to be sure all items have been corrected. I only wish I would have had the chance to do that during your stay. Thank you for being our guest. Sincerely, Richard Ebright General Manager More

San Rafael, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I had a good experience and wrote a positive review of the Cottonwoods Resort a couple of years ago. I stayed there again in March 2014 and can no longer recommend it. The rooms are dirty and run down. The management has not made any upgrades or improvements. It is no longer a good place to stay at any proice!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
REBRIGHT6160, General Manager at Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I am sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. It is my hope you will give us anoth try again in the future. Thank you for your business. Sincerely, Richard Ebright General Manager More

Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Looking at the reviews, I see we were not the only ones with similar complaints. The hotel overbooked and we were sent to the Millenium for our first night after already being told we had to wait for our room. They said it was 'free' because of the mix-up, but since we had booked thru Hotels.com, it was not free.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
REBRIGHT6160, General Manager at Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I apologize that we had to walk you to another property. I know how inconvenient that can be on a traveler and I am very sorry that this happen to you. It is my hope that you will allow us another opportunity again in the future to provide you with the service you expect. Sincerely, Richard Ebright... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort

Address: 6160 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85253
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Cottonwoods Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Renaissance
Renaissance Scottsdale Resort

238 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (224)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (76)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Scottsdale with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#18 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale #24 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale #65 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
171

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer