We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 175 Phoenix hotels

Hotel 502

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   502 W Camelback Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85013 (Formerly Camelback Sahara Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel 502 to your Saves list
Hotel 502
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
43%
Ranked #111 of 175 hotels in Phoenix
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Roger S Singapore, Singapore
  • Reviews (148)
  • Photos (70)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (29)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    34
    23
    37
See reviews for
34
25
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you're in transit through Phoenix and don't want to pay high airport hotel prices, check out Hotel 502. A 10 minute ride by cab from the airport, this hotel has been transformed from a Days Inn. The new owner is refurbishing the property, giving it a more clean and contemporary feeling. We checked in to refresh before resuming our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim C, General Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are working hard to finish up our renovations and give our guests a great place to enjoy. We will be opening all our deluxe rooms within the next week and more finishing touches to our public spaces. We also have added back our LA Fitness pass program so our guests can also enjoy a... More

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place was great! This hotel is under a new management/ownership and new direction entirely. I really enjoyed my stay. The staff was the most helpful and accommodating. They really know what's going on in the area as well as the neighborhoods surrounding their establishment. Conveniently located to downtown Phoenix, AZ and in walking distance of the light rail. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jim C, General Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

We appreciate you staying and experiencing the new direction we are taking. Our new rooms are targeted for the 4th of July weekend and we are excited about taking hotel 502 to a whole new level of hospitality. We hope you join us again soon and see an even bigger change. We will be adding a new restaurant and meeting... More

Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Because I had stayed in his hotel previously, I checked first to see what was available when I planned my recent visit to Phoenix. I was gladdened to learn that the hotel had been sold to investors that planned to turn it into central Phoenix's only "boutique hotel." I read every review I could find and have to admit I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jim C, General Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. And thank you even more for seeing for yourself the improvements we are making. We look forward to seeing you back again and again and that improvements continue on each of your visits. More

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I booked 2 rooms on Expedia and the pictures didn't look too bad so I figured why not? I was so wrong. We got two side by side rooms and both were absolute disasters. There was a huge pee stain on one of the mattresses and well as what looked like dried blood on the underside of the bedspread!! Disgusting!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
Jim C, Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

We apologize that you had such an experience at the property. I am unclear from the review if you stayed recently or if it was July 2013, but we have been under renovation since November 2013 and are getting new beds and a whole new look to the property. I hope our efforts will give you a much better experience... More

Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We got dropped off at the hotel as we arrived I turned pale when they read our names! This place looks nothing!!!! Like the pictures!!! Stay clear!! The place is filthy. Plastic knifes and folks polystyrene bowls!! The staff how ever were amazing especially the guy on reception!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
Jim C, Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

We apologize that you experienced a less than satisfactory stay. We are working hard to improve and while we have not been able to complete all our room renovations, we are eager to complete the property. This includes new beds, flooring and fixtures. I also apologize for the lack of attention to the soap. It is standard for us to... More

Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel on Expedia and from the Web site, things looked good. Turned out that my expectations were way off the mark. The hotel has signs stating that they are under new ownership but it isn't reflected in the shape of things. The room was definitely not worth what I was charged. The bed was at least 20... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
Jim C, Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We are diligently training and working with staff to avoid this type of guest response. I am sorry we did not have a chance to resolve your issues while you were here but hope that we have improved if you were to return. Sincerely, Hotel 502 More

Durango, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Where to start?! The front desk help was awesome. that is the ONLY good thing about this place. It says it was under new management, new rooms, etc. If it was undergoing renovation it must have been from 1920! The beds don't have comforters or spreads and some didn't have skirts on them either. The whole room was filthy. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
H502GM, General Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

Dear Barbara B, I’m so sorry for letting you and your family down. There are guest rooms being renovated, unfortunately they are not complete due to delays in shipments and construction. There are some items in your review that should not have happened and the room should have been clean. Based on your experience at our hotel, I hope you... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

ok, so they are trying to under go a image change well its not working!. The manager Jim is a joke. He wont return calls and even follow uo about my stay. ok, so the entire room was under reno no carpet, no lock on door, they put in new bath room although it was dirty! The shower would go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
H502GM, General Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

Dear Dtp84 I’m sorry we left you with a poor impression of our hotel and our service. However, as you may recall, there was no record of your reservation through Booking.com. Given that we were sold out, and rather than turn you away, we did inform you that we could accommodate you in a room that was being renovated. The... More

Cortez,
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Avoid this hotel until the construction is complete. I booked this hotel based on photos online and was shocked when I checked in. I have seen "crack houses" that looked better. There were tarps hanging over doorways with caution tape. There was drywall dust and debris on the elevator carpet and no carpet at all in the hallways - only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
Jim C, Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

I apologize that you experienced our path to a better property. We have had some challenges in the timing and placement of both the guests and the construction. However, we are getting closer to completion and hope that soon you will return to find a refreshed and relaxing experience with us. More

Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel is undergoing renovation. The hotel consists of two building structures. Only one building is available for guests. The available building fourth floor is totally renovated, third floor partially renovated and second floor much to be desired. The hotel went through two signature hotel brands, the last being a Days Inn. The hotel in its current condition should not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
Jim C, Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

I apologize that you experienced our property at less then satisfactory levels. We further in our efforts of full renovation and many of your issues are being addressed to avoid future dissatisfaction with guests. I hope that when you are able, you will allow us to show you the better side of what we have to offer. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel 502, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel 502? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 502

Address: 502 W Camelback Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85013 (Formerly Camelback Sahara Hotel)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 502 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 502 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Camelback Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Red Roof Inn Phoenix
Phoenix Red Roof Inn

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel 502 is at the heart of The Melrose District just 7 miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. Conveniently located just 1 block from the 7th Ave. Metro station, providing access to all points of interest including The Phoenix Convention Center, downtown sports and theater venues, museums, shopping, and Sky Harbor Intl. Our enormous pool area provides a great space to relax and soak in the Arizona sun. Rooms are furnished with plush mattresses along with all the pillows you could want, flat screen TV's, in-room Keurig coffee makers, and a continental breakfast every morning. We also have meeting space available that can accommodate up to 350 guests. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
123

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer